Posted by: tgonzales | January 14, 2013

January 12-13, 2013 Weekend, a Few More Hats, Wristlets, Mom’s Sick, and a Fun Idea

First of all thank you for all the kind and helpful tips on the tights situation. It was fun reading what you thought I should do about it all. HAHAHAHAHA!

1

My weekend started off with finishing up this special order hat for one of the computer technicians that comes in once a week to where I work. He wanted me to make his wife a K-State billed hat and this is what I came up with. I used purple for the base with a gray and white stripe and then gray for the front band and silver buttons. I do love how it turned out and hope that she loves it as much as I did making it.

1b

On Saturday we had our KS My Stitch officers meeting; this time I made vegetarian vegetable soup and if I do say so myself I thought it was very delicious. 😉 We had a good meeting and it was fun catching up with Donna and Kaye. Poor Susie couldn’t join us because she had to go to Maui. So sad! Just kidding, I’m so glad that Susie was able to get away and just have fun. Anyway after the meeting I went to Twist to help Lisa with the second session of the Crochet 101 class that I was to teach but had to miss the first session because I was in Oklahoma attending my Uncle’s funeral. Lisa teaches some of the Knitting classes and the Crochet 102 at Twist. Lisa is very good and has the same ways of teaching as I do; she’s very calm and very patient. I know it’s hard for some of you to believe that I’m calm and patient but I usually am with the people who sign up to learn to crochet. I had a ball getting to know this lovely group of 7 young ladies and have a feeling we have hooked 7 more.  🙂 While I was at Twist I found this Malabrigo yarn and thought that it would look beautiful made up into the wristlet pattern that I found in the Noro Crochet book. I do love the way they turned out and I loved how quickly they worked up.

2

I also started this bearded hat before the ladies came over for the guild meeting and finished it up on Sunday morning. I even woke John up by turning on the light wearing the hat. I’m surprised I’m still breathing as I think if he would have woke me up wearing it I would have probably knocked him out. 😉 This saying comes to mind when I think about that: “Sometimes I wake up grumpy; other times I let her sleep.” 🙂

3

I do love the way it turned out and I’m having a hard time believing that I just made it up as I went.

4

I made the hat for my nephew Zach who lives in North Dakota and I hope he enjoys it as much as I enjoyed creating it.

4b

I also found out Saturday that Mom’s phone wasn’t working so on Sunday John and I went and purchased her a new one that included a corded phone (that works when the electricity is off) and a cordless one. Since Mom came home from Oklahoma very sick I thought Sunday would be the perfect opportunity for me to take the phone, some cough drops, Cuties (Clementine oranges), and a bowl of my vegetarian vegetable soup. As I always do when I see Mom I take a picture of her as she said “Tamara; my eyes look horrible.” I told her that she was beautiful no matter what and that I need to capture every moment with her. I don’t think she understands that I’m just trying to create a memory of her for me to keep forever. Anyway I tried to hook her phone up for her and failed so John had to rescue me and all he did was plug in the adapter to the phone jack (I knew it was something simple I just couldn’t figure that out). Although he was able to hook it up properly and she can make and receive phone calls the answering machine portion of the new phone is not working so he will be calling her phone line carrier in the morning to get that straightened out for her.

5

Now for the fun idea; the first part of January I was reading a blog post from one of my favorite blogs “Cute as a Button” and thought her idea she wrote about here might be fun for John and I to do this year. But I wonder if I could fill our jar with Funny Things We Say and Do. I already have 3 written down in one day so it shouldn’t be too hard. Besides that I can’t wait to write them all down on those pretty little pieces of scrapbook paper that seem to always manage to end up in my shopping cart at Hobby Lobby, now the paper can be “Justified” finally.  😉 So how was your weekend? I would love to hear all about it.


Responses

  1. Just love that first hat. Hope your Mum is better soon!

    • Cathy,

      Thanks for loving the hat and for stopping by to comment. 🙂

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. The hat(s) look great, glad you “hooked” some more ladies and how wonderful that you can be there for your mom whenever. Sounds like you had a busy, productive and fun weekend! Here’s to the next one, right?

    • Hi Jeanne!

      Thanks so much for loving the hats and for stopping by to comment. 🙂

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  3. Love love love the the K state billed hat. I think that is my favorite hat so far that you have made. I’ve never seen K state play but I love the colors that you used in it. John look so handsome in his James Harden beared hat. I think I probably would have screamed and hit him both if he would have woke me up wearing it. Sorry your Mom hasn’t been feeling well. She had a big week last week also plus having a cold. I like the “funny things we say jar”. What a cool idea. Love you girl.

    • Hi Sue!

      Thanks so much for loving the hats that I made. John is such a ham sometimes, he was really working it. 🙂 As always thanks so much for being here to read my ramblings and for taking the time to comment.

      Love you!
      Tamara

  4. Got a kick out of John’s pictures, and love the one of your mother.. and then, as I read furthest down to the end of your post, I saw the paper you have was very familiar… exactly the same paper I have! Pretty, isn’t it?!! This idea with the jar sounds like fun!.. Have a great day! ((hugs))

    • Hi Tina!

      I thought maybe some of you would get a kick out of John in the bearded hat. It would have been very hard to see the full effect if I would have tried to take a picture of myself in the hat. 😉 Anyway, that’s so funny that you have the exact same paper as me; I’m such a sucker for pretty paper! Thanks so much for stopping by to comment.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  5. All cute. Especially the guy in the beard.
    An odd request – please can you post another pic of the wristlet? I’m trying to visualise what it looks like… I have a bit of a thing for cuffs and arm stuff at the moment. 🙂 Thanks (sorry to be a nuisance).
    x

    • Hi Jill!

      Thanks for loving that silly man in the bearded hat. He’s such a cad. Yes sure, I’ll send you a pic as soon as I get home from work, which will be in approximately 4 hours. I hope you can wait that long. 😉

      Hugs,
      Tamara

      • CAN’T WAIT CAN’T WAIT
        heh
        (what time is it there? it’s 8.15pm here and I’m about to dish up our supper)

  6. I love your jar idea – and thanks for the link! The paper you’re using is so pretty 🙂

    • Hi Laura!

      I thought your idea was such a good one and John and I are always saying something completely backwards (mostly John) LOL and I thought it would be very fun to maybe read them at Christmas time when all of us are together. Then I thought it would be kind of neat if we put in a certain amount of money every time we say something funny too. We might be rich by the end of the year. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by to comment!

      Hugs,
      Tamara

      • Haha, I love the idea of adding money too – you’ll be able to buy a special present with the money 🙂

  7. Jill,

    You crack me up. It was 12:15 pm here you are almost 8 hours ahead of us. You’ll have to wait, you’ll have to wait because I don’t have the pictures at work with me. 🙂 Have a good dinner!

    Hugs,
    Tamara

  8. Oh! Oh! OH!! Make that “Funny Things We Say and Do!” And be sure to write about your limp-drag with your tights only half on, Tamara. 😀

    Hope the recipient of the purple/grey Newsboy Hat will share a photo of her wearing it. Love how you add striping. (Which rounds do you crochet those in?)

    I cannot believe (well, yes I can!) that you made up the bearded hat as you went along. Looks like John had great fun posing with that on. Oh! Another funny thing you did, IMO … waking him up by presenting yourself wearing that hat. He didn’t scream? LOL

    That merino yarn looks sooo soft. And such purrty colors together.

    The pic of your mom looking not-so-well reminds me of when I snapped a pic of one of my grandkids when he was a baby. My daughter was changing his diaper and he was crying. I quickly snapped a pic. His older brother asked his mom how come I took a pic of his baby brother CRYING. She said “I don’t know.” She’s in the ‘not-a-photographer’ category and did not ‘get’ why I wanted a pic even in one of his not-so-happy moments. 😉 Hope your mom gets well quickly.

    Love ‘n HUG ~
    Kat

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes, I had already forgotten about the tights incident. That’s why you are such a good friend to help me remember the funny things that I do. 🙂 Yes John was having way too much fun with posing after he griped a little at first. 😉 I loved the story about you taking a picture of your grandson crying. Thanks for sharing it with me. My Mom says she is feeling a little better today but she just can’t get rid of the cough.

      Love you my friend,
      Tamara

      • Hi Tamara!

        I cannot believe you’d already forgotten your drag-limp (or was it limp-drag? LOL) story!

        Please be watchful regarding your mom’s cough. No one wants that developing into something worse!

        A whole latté love!
        Kat

  9. My jars are all full of yarn and thread scraps. I keep needing new jars. Someday I may figure out what to do with them besides admire the color combos in the jars.

    I’m always “planning” to write down stories our grandkids did or said as well as the many stories, my dad told and my husband has about his ancestors, before they are lost.

  10. Hope your Mom’s better.

    • Hi Linda!

      I love that you like to put your yarn in jars too. I like to put my scrap yarns in jars to look at. Definitely you will have to write down the stories before you all forget them, go right now and write them down. Mom says she feels better but the cough really bothers her, as it should from coughing that hard. Thanks so much for stopping by to comment.

      Hugs,
      Tamara


Leave a comment

Categories