Posted by: tgonzales | July 4, 2012

Happy 4th of July, More Can Coats, and Up-Cyclying a Bath Mat

The other day I was feeling a little sorry for myself as I thought about the 4th of July landing in the middle of the week. But I got to thinking that I’m probably not the only one that gets off on Wednesday and then turns around and goes back to work on Thursday. Instead I feel very fortunate that I have a job and that I’m allowed to have the 4th of July off. So I’m going to make the most of my day off starting out with a little crochet, cooking and preparing a few dishes to take to my dear sister-in-laws for dinner around 5ish. The rest of the day will be spent doing the usual things like laundry, ironing and you know all of those things. 😉

Since we talked last I have managed to complete 4 more can coats with # 5 almost complete. I just love the way they look all stacked up in there cute little coziness.

Oh by the way you probably would like to know what I plan to do with that foot bath mat. During the last guild meetings show and share my friend Susan showed me a lid opener that her friend had made out of that non-sliding shelf liner material, which she added a row of crochet around the edge. Susan’s friend said that she gives these lid openers as gifts along with a washcloth to match. I thought that was such a neat idea that when I saw the foot bathmat at the thrift store on Saturday and it was non-sliding so I thought I would give it a shot at making my own lid opener.

Well, I’m happy to report that it works and

I plan on making a round washcloth to go with my lid opener too.

I’m not sure how many of these lid openers I’ll be making; it just depends on how long my thumb lasts as I poke-a-hole through the material with my size 10/1mm steel hook. 🙂

So do you have any special plans for the 4th? I’m just so very thankful to all my dear friends and family out there and hope you all have a wonderful and safe 4th of July. I love you all!


Responses

  1. I’m taking advantage of the gift of a day off in the middle of the week to knit, spin and hang out in my jammies. Oh, I might go get a foot massage. : )

    • Oh my gosh that sounds like fun I would love to have a foot massage. I love hearing that you will take advantage of your day off. Have a great one.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. Hi Tamara!

    I just want to wish you a HAPPY 4th … and say what a great idea to crochet around a jar opener! That bath mat will make *lots* of them!

    Love ya ~
    Kat

    • Hi Kat!

      I hope you had a good 4th too. I did and we love you. (John and I)

      (((HUGS)))
      Tamara

  3. Wow what I fantastic idea! I could do with one of those! I’m pretty pathetic when it comes to opening jars!

    • Hannah,

      Thank you so much for stopping by and I’m the same way with jars and I’m sure that it’s all because I have such small hands. 🙂

      Hugs,
      Tamara

      • Haha I think my reason is simply because I lack ANY upper body strength!

  4. Stayed in and I’m thankful the AC is working. I eally enjoy your sharing, and all your ideas for repurposing. Recycling, reusing, and repurposing are my passion , – Well one of them anyway, along with fabric and yarn for sewing, Quilting, crochet. Are the can coats full of cans when you photograph them?

    • Hi Linda,

      Thanks so much for stopping by to comment and yes my can coats have the cans inside of them when I photograph them and they also go with them when I either sell them or give them away.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  5. What’s in the cans?

    • Linda,

      There’s nothing in them right now but you can put a small potted plant, flowers, pens, pencils, crochet hooks, scissors, rotary cutters, etc. in them whatever floats your boat. 🙂

      Tamara

  6. Well I look forward to a good look at the can coats -& cans, when I’m up to making Crochet Guild a regular activity -in my monthly schedule.

    Having Cataract surgery next Tuesday . Then I can see all the errors in the things I’ve been working on these last few months. Don’t really care much about any errors.

    Just sooooo very VERY glad I had a creative outlet, with crochet, while not being able to easily get to & from my sewing/craft rooms in the basement, these last many months. I’ll have several crochet covered lid projects, like Kaye taught when I was there, as well as some “free style” projects to show & share when I do get to Guild again. Looking forward to the day.


Leave a comment

Categories