Posted by: tgonzales | July 6, 2012

4th of July Happenings, Crochet Update; another Crochet Can Coat and a Plastic Bag Holder

My 4th of July started off with cooking and making a pan of mixed baked beans, a potato salad, and fried squash.

Then I got a call from my Mom saying that she was home from her week long Alaskan cruise. It was good to hear her voice and she asked if I wanted to meet up with her and her traveling buddies at a nearby neighborhood restaurant called “The Egg Crate” for breakfast. Since John and I had already ate our breakfast and John was outside finishing up a wooden bench that he had been making for his sister, I knew he wouldn’t be able to go because he would have to get cleaned up and there was no time. But I hurried to get ready so that I could go and meet them just to have coffee and hear all about their trip.

John is so funny when I get ready to go anywhere without him he has to come out and say goodbye to me and make this little pouty face. (I know isn’t he pathetic? He’s so dramatic.) You just have to love him?

Anyway I had a nice visit with my Mom, Uncle, Aunt, cousins, and friends about their cruise.

Next I ran to Hancock’s as they were having a sale on Lion Brand yarn and I wanted to pick up some more of the wash cloth cotton, plus I am now old enough to get their 15% off Senior citizen discount on the first Wednesday of the month and it just happened to be the first Wednesday of the month, yipee. I was even happier that the cashier asked to see my drivers license to prove that I was old enough.  🙂

Then it was time to go to my sister-in-laws and I was so glad that my Mom agreed to go with us and we all got to hear more stories of her trip to Alaska. It’s good to have her back and I’m glad that she had such a good time.

Here’s a quick crochet update. I made another can coat.

Then I made a plastic bag holder. I used a free pattern off of the internet that was in Swedish and when I asked my translating software to translate to English it lost something in the translation. So I just made it up as I went along. I still need to tweak it a little and make the opening come up a little higher so that the bags don’t fall out of it.

How about you? Did you have a good holiday or Wednesday whatever the case may be? I would love to hear all about it.


Responses

  1. I love your carrier bag holder – such a great idea! I also love your ‘crochet by Tamara’ labels – where do you get them from/what sort are they? Are they woven or printed? I’m hoping to get some similar ones and really like the look of yours! 🙂

    • Thanks so much for liking my bag holder and my labels. These labels are woven but I have ordered some that are printed this time around. The only drawback to the woven labels are when you sew them into a garment they seem to poke you if they can touch skin. Hopefully the printed ones won’t do that. I can’t wait to get them. I ordered my labels from Worldwide Labels. It takes about 4 or 5 weeks to get them but I love how they look. Thanks so much for stopping by to comment.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

      • That’s great, thanks for the info 🙂

  2. I also get the look sometimes!!! And sometimes I get the voice, as in “You went out without me?” John still looks cute when he does it, though.
    I love the plastic bag holder – it looks like it also might work as a baby papoose? Although you wouldn’t want the baby to fall out the front – maybe just needs little straps?

    • Oh Jill,

      That’s funny that your hubby does the same thing. It’s so nice to know that mine isn’t the only one that does this.

      Good idea for the plastic bag holder to make it into a papoose holder. I could even sell it as one of those cocoon thingys photographers use in their newborn photo shoots.

      Thanks so much for stopping by to comment.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  3. I also like the bag holder. At first it reminded me of some of the very oversized hats (almost a snood) I’ve seen lately, until I saw the bags inside.

    Thanks for answering my two questions, without me even asking. Was going to ask about your labels and what cotton yarn you buy. The wash cloth you gave as a door prize the time I visited Guild is so soft. Thanks I love it. Iit’s so pretty I don’t see how I would wash a dish with it.

    Looking forward to feeling better -eventually, and going on a buying spree. Hancocks will be one of the first places I go. Back surgery is supposed to be scheduled SOON. The sooner the better as far as I’m concerned.

    • Hi Linda!

      I’m so glad that I answered your questions. But one of the answers was wrong about what yarn I used for the wash cloth that I gave away at the guild meeting. As I only use size 3 yarn for my washcloths. I think it makes for a nicer softer cloth. The yarns that I use are Catania (Twist), Patons Grace, Sinfonia, and JP Coats Royale Size 3. Hope that helps. Thanks again for stopping by to comment.

      Tamara

  4. It is always so comforting to read your blog. I know the “world travelers” had fun on their Alaskan cruise. We’ve been on that trip and I would go again if I had the chance. Poor John! He didn’t get to go to breakfast with you. My sympathies go out to him but I bet he got over it pretty quickly. ha ha ha. We are coming to Wichita today to see the kiddos and spend the night at the motel. I will try to remember to bring those crochet books that I have put aside for you. Take care and I love you girl. sw

    • Hi Sue,

      I’m so glad you are going to be able to see your kids and be in Wichita. I have an officers meeting in the morning but I’m free afterwards around 12:30ish. When are you leaving? I would love for you to stop by the house if you could.

      Love you,
      Tamara

      • We haven’t decided yet how long we are staying but maybe I can give you a call when we get to Wichita. I’m not sure I have your phone#. Maybe John or Amber have it. sw

  5. Sue,

    I left you a message on Facebook with my cell phone #. But Amber has it too. I would love to hear from you.

    Tamara

  6. That’s why Hancocks didn’t have any cotton yarn when I got there:) I have to learn to be an earlier early bird!!!
    Kaye

    • HAHAHAHAHA Kaye!

      Really, I didn’t buy all they had. But yes you need to get out a little earlier if you want to beat me. 🙂

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  7. RITCMOL!!!!!!!!! John is hilarious!!!

    Tamara, which brand cotton do you use for your dishcloths?
    [HaHa! Before posting this, I read other’s comments, so now I know the answer.] Another question: Which brand do you think is the softest?
    Hey ~ I did not know about the Sr. discount @ Hancock’s. Thanks!

    Wow! Good for your mom, taking an Alaskan cruise! I’m sure they got some awesome photos!

    Hey ~ What’s that “little shirt” hanging behind your plastic-bag holder? Is it a clothespin holder?? Cute!!

    Love ya!
    Kat

    • Hi Kat!

      I thought you would get a kick out of John. He’s so funny. In answer to your question about what kind of yarn I like the best for the washcloths; Catania and Patons Grace are my favorites. So many nice colors too.

      The little shirt that’s hanging behind my plastic bag holder is a vintage cloth hotpad. I bought them at an auction and haven’t seen anything like them since. Thanks so much for stopping by to comment and it’s always nice to hear from you.

      Love you,
      Tamara

      • Guess what, Tamara ~ I searched online for Catania and canNOT find any online shop selling it. Bummer ‘cuz i really wanted to try it. ‘Twist’ does not do online orders, do they?

        Sad & disappointed Kat 😦 [boo-hoo]

  8. Kat,

    Here you go:

    http://www.needlenart.com/Shadecards/Catania.html

    I found someone who sells it online. Beautiful colors.

    Love you,
    Tamara

  9. http://www.anniescatalog.com/collections.html?collection_id=225 for Kat!
    I can hardly wait for your revised pattern of the bag holder. I think a smaller one with the Patton’s Grace or Catania yarn would make a great clothes pin holder as well!
    Looking forward to seeing you tomorrow! And Kaye! Will our Lake Rat be there this time?
    Suz

    • Hi Susie,

      I don’t mind making the plastic bag holders but I just hate writing down the instructions. I’ll see what I can come up with though. I’ve finished up another one and am trying to make another one off of it. If everything goes well I hope I’ll be able to write down something that resembles a pattern. Writing patterns are the hardest thing for me. Cute idea though for the clothespin holder, making it out of smaller yarn.

      I am looking forward to seeing you guys too and I haven’t heard anything from our Lake Rat so I assume she’s at the lake again. Thanks so much for stopping by to comment.

      Love and hugs,
      Tamara

    • SUSIE!! Thanks so much! Annie’s Attic did not come up on my google search.

      TAMARA ~ I just e-mailed Needlenart to find out for sure if they carry it and, if so, their cost. I see they are in Canada. Hey ~ I was surprised to see this is a size 2 thread, rather than size 3 like the Patons Grace. I’m curious — is it a thicker-than-normal size 2??

      HUGS for both of ya!!
      🙂 Kat 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

