Posted by: tgonzales | July 2, 2012

June 30-July 1, 2012 Weekend, Spending Time with Megan, Downtown Farmer’s Market, Thrifting, Tree Trimming, Family, Joann’s Sale, and My Little Chinaman with the Contest Winner

My weekend started off with picking up my Megan from summer latchkey. I just love the look on her face when she sees me. Although she still hates me taking her picture. 🙂

Saturday morning John and I set out to go to the Downtown Farmer’s Market. It’s fun to see how different the downtown market is than the Kansas Grown Farmer’s Market. At the downtown market there are lots of craft booths and I loved the music in the air. I especially loved that I purchased my vegetables that were grown in the Senior Citizen’s Garden.

Since we were so close to three of my favorite thrift stores, I couldn’t resist going to all of them. So John was kind enough to drop me off in front of the Value Center first, and he found just the right parking place and waited for me to come out. These are the items that I found there. Yes that is a white 100 % cotton sweater with white buttons and I bet you know that it won’t be long before it’s not white and the buttons will be fabric covered. 😉 I can hardly wait to show you what my plans are for the foot bathmat and of course you all know that I couldn’t resist the turquoise basket, right? 🙂

Next stop was Styles Rekindled and I could hardly contain myself when I found 9 wicker paper plate holders; I especially loved that 3 of them were painted and the cost of all 9 was only 98¢. But when I got to the register the sales clerk said that they were 20% off so I got them for 84¢. What a bargain, huh? When I got to the car I showed John and he just rolled his eyes until after I told him what they were used for and then he seemed pretty pleased with my bargain.

Then our last thrifting stop was the World Impact Store, where I found these 3 towels and only paid $1.50 for all of them. I bet you can guess that they won’t stay naked for very long as I plan on adding some crochet trim to each one of them.

I can hardly believe that I passed this beautiful broomstick lace afghan up for $3, but didn’t know where I would’ve put it. I guess I could have purchased it and given it to charity?

Then I found the mother-load of coverable buttons. I was so excited I could hardly contain myself at a quarter a package.

Then it was time for lunch and we decided to eat at Tanya’s Soup Kitchen. We both enjoyed a half sandwich and cup of Tomato Basil soup. Yummy!!!! As we ate I couldn’t help but notice this sandwich truck parked across the street. I can’t believe someone would park across the street from Tanya’s and try to sell sandwiches.

Anyway I couldn’t resist taking a picture of the two signs so close together on the side of the sandwich truck and I had such a laugh that I had to share it with all of you. 😉

When we arrived home we were both exhausted from being in the heat so we lay down and took an hour nap. When we awoke John decided it was time to trim the tree in the front yard; since it had 3 really large branches that had broke from the storm. I helped him clean up the branches and then we enjoyed smoked turkey sandwiches with fresh sliced homegrown tomatoes and red onions. Then we watched the movie called “Take the Lead”. What a perfect ending to a perfect day.

Sunday morning my Megan wanted to spend time with us again, so we took her to breakfast with us to meet up with Ricci and C.W. (my sister-in-law and brother-in-law). It’s always nice visiting with Ricci and C.W. and spending time with my Megan.

Sunday afternoon I took advantage of Joann’s 60% off wall notions and yes those are three more packages of coverable buttons. As I always say “you can never have enough coverable buttons, right?” 🙂

Oh by the way I managed to make 10 can coats for Cathy’s order of 15. I love how easy and fast they work up.

Oh I almost forgot about the contest. There were 3 people; Hannah Ackroyd, Linda Meyer-Gosling, and Cheryl Gibbs who had both of the answers correct of who the maker of the bottle was and what was in the original bottle. As you can see the label says the maker was Avon and there was mouthwash in it. I especially love how it says, “use full strength in the mornings, after meals, and before social engagements.”

And thanks to my little Chinaman, aka John (who assures me that the hat keeps him cool); Hannah Ackroyd will be the owner of

a Crochet with Tamara one-of-a-kind washcloth. Hannah, please send me your mailing information via email and I’ll have my little Chinaman mail it out to you. Thank you all so much for playing along. I hope you all had a great weekend and I would love to hear all about it.


Responses

  1. Woooo I won! Thank you so much! I have emailed you the details. I can’t wait for my prize!

    • Congratulations Hannah!

      I can’t wait for you to receive the washcloth and hope you love it as much as I loved making it. Thanks so much for reading my blog.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

      • I’m sure I will do! It looks lovely!

  2. Love vegtable markets and fruit stands and I always come home with many things that I wouldn’t necessarely(I know that is misspelled) need. But I really love my fresh fruits and veggies. Love the thrift store finds especially the the covered buttons-that looks just like my covered button stash. Does China man speak Chinese when he wears his hat? Just kidding. If it keeps him cool thats whats important. Love you both. sw

    • Hi Sue,

      Thanks so much for liking the things that I talk about and I’m glad that you get a kick out of it. I have to stop and laugh as I’m reading about John too. 🙂

      Love you,
      Tamara

  3. Oh my goodness, THAT was a full weekend! I’m curious to see what you do with that foot mat. LOVED those little guest towels!!.. LOVE all the family photos… And John, do you know how much we love you? What a good sport you are about photos, shopping, and modeling hats, climbing trees, etc., and I just get a kick out it all. The two of you do my heart good and make me smile!.. Megan don’t be camera shy. You’re absolutely adorable, and the camera loves you!… As for MY weekend? Friday night we went to see some fireworks!! Then, Ashley’s bridal shower was Saturday. I posted the photos on facebook, but not the blog.. at least not yet (not sure if I will…. Are you on Facebook?)… Anyways the shower was wonderful, and visiting with the family was nice. We all live close, but we’re not really a very close-knit family, unfortunately. After the shower, the folks came to my place for coffee. I crocheted and junque-journaled that night, went to bed. Then Sunday, I went to church, and cleaned house the rest of the day (too HOT to go outdoors), did more crocheting and journaling that night while watching t.v…. And there you have it! It’s a whole new week already! Hope yours is a good one! ((hugs))

    • Hi Tina,

      I’m so glad you are here and read my blog and I’ll tell John how much you all love him.

      I loved hearing all about what you’ve been up to, also. It’s alway fun catching up with you.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  4. Hi Tamara! You’ve been having loads of fun. I think those painted paper-plate holders would look nice on the wall. 😉
    Those 3 dishtowels are so “you”.
    I can’t believe it either .. that you passed up buying that broomstick-lace afghan. But woo-eeee… all those buttons to cover! More F-U-N for you!!

    Maybe the owner of that “smoking/flammable!” sandwich truck was having lunch in Tanya’s. LOL

    Such a nice variety of can coats you made for Cathy. 🙂

    WoW!! Avon sure did put their mouth rinse in one gorgeous bottle!! [Congrats to Hannah!]

    Oh John,,, we never know what he will come up with next. Always bringing us smiles. hmmm…. Purrhaps HE is a major reason for all YOUR smiles, eh? Ahhh…. sweet love……..

    Hugs ‘n Smiles ~
    KAT

    • Hi Kat!

      Thank you so much for always being here to put a smile on my face too. What a great idea for the paper plate holders, if only I could find a free wall.

      Love you!
      Tamara

      • LOL!! Well, you could possibly replace something that’s currently on the wall .. just for a change of atmosphere.5487777777777777777777777777777777
        [Those numbers are from Emma!!]

  5. Oh Kat and Emma; you make me laugh!!!!!!

  6. Your crocheting is lovely! 🙂

    • Thank you so much. I appreciate you stopping by to read my blog and to comment. It means alot to me. Hugs, Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

