Posted by: tgonzales | April 3, 2013

A Crocheted Sandal Gone Wrong and Feeling a Little Like a Survivor from the Titanic

1

Have you ever had one of those days that nothing seems to go right? Monday, April 1, 2013 started and ended the same way. I just kept hoping that all of it was just an April Fool’s joke. But I woke up Tuesday; went to work and realized that it was real. As I arrived at work I knew that I would no longer see Tom’s smiling face as he would always say “Good Morning Tammy” for the past 6 years. Tom and I had helped each other out as we went through each day. Of course Tom did most of the work and I just opened doors or bent over to pick up things for him as he was recovering from back surgery. We were more than just co-workers we had become close friends. Monday, Tom was laid off at iSi. I will miss him immensely.

3

I probably shouldn’t have even tried to make anything on April Fool’s Day but oh no you can’t stop me from crocheting at least once per day. As I started these little Crocheted Braided Gladiator Sandals before I left for work on Monday, you can find the pattern here.

4

You can probably already tell what I did, but I couldn’t.

5

I kept looking and tugging at the toe of the sandal on the left to try and stretch it enough to match the one on the right. And finally as I was picking out buttons for the sandals it dawned on me that I had crocheted the back part of the sandal onto the toe of the sandal on the left instead of the back of the sandal which is now showing in the front. I thought about throwing the whole left sandal away but I decided I’ll just rip off the straps and the back part of the sandal and start over with just the bottom. Wish me luck that I get it right this time or they both go in the trash. Have you ever felt a little like a survivor from the Titanic? I hope your week is going well.


Responses

  1. I’m sorry to hear about your colleagues, and retrenchments in general. It’s a sad and very difficult time, for the ones who have to go and the ones who have to stay. Hang in there. xxx

    • Hi Jill!

      Thanks so much for your understanding about my feelings. I hope you have a great day!

      Love, Tamara

  2. Hi Tamara, so sorry to hear about your friends losing their jobs-it must be really hard for them and you.I’ll pray for you all.

    • Hi Laura,

      Thanks so much! I appreciate the prayers and your understanding.

      Love, Tamara

  3. So sorry for all of us who have lost jobs. And some days are just like that. Those sandals are going to be wonderful!

    • Cathy!

      I’m so sorry that you lost your job and I hope you find something else (if that’s what you want). Thanks so much for stopping by to comment.

      Hugs, Tamara

  4. Oh man, I’m sorry to hear about the job loss. On a slightly more positive note, I was getting worried that he had passed away! Whew, glad I was wrong on that score. Good luck to both of you as you move forward. I know how you feel in regards to creating something incorrectly and not realizing it at first. Glad you figured it out and can correct it as you move forward. You’re mid way through the week, and hopefully that’s a good thing!

    • Hi Jeanne!

      Thanks so much for stopping by to comment. The sandal is already taking shape and it looks like I won’t be throwing them away after all. 🙂

      Hugs, Tamara

  5. So sorry to hear about your friends loosing their jobs. Sometimes life stinks and this is one of those stinky times. Yes I understand about the mistakes and you want to throw the project in the trash. uaually best to put it aside a few days and come back to it another day. I started another basket yesterday and realized I didn’t have the right kind of handle for it. I have to either place another order (which takes about a week or more) or wait until the weekend when the basket supply store in Wellston is open. I opted to wait until Saturday to go to Wellston. Have a great day Tammy. I love you.. sw

    • Hi Sue!

      Thank you so much for the encouraging words. I know your basket will be beautiful when you get it done.

      Love you too!
      Tamara

  6. Tamara,
    I am so sorry for your friends He is in my prayers. iSi is taking a little longer than most companies to start laying off. I hope they can stay in business. i like the sandles but wonder if they will stay on babies feet. Has anyone you know used them?
    See ya,
    Kaye

    • Thanks so much Kaye! I hope the company will stay in business too as most of the people around there are very busy. Regarding the sandals, yes I think they will stay on; there’s a button and button hole closure so I think they will be ok. I’ll soon find out from my niece when she receives the sandals that I made for little Charlie.

      Love, Tamara

  7. Hi Tamara ~ Maybe you won’t feel quite as badly when I say: At least Tom is *alive*! The reason I say that is becuz, as I began reading this post, I was thinking: “Oh no! Not another death!!” So you see? At least he is alive — tho I must say I am very sorry he was laid off and hope he finds a new job that he will really like.

    For the record, I had a very **c-r-a-z-e-e** April 1 this year. Never happened before but, whoo-boy, this year I could not wait for that day to end! Just a bunch of little things happened that were really ‘getting my goat’ (whatever that means – haha!). April 2 started out like it was going to be yet another one of those days but, thankfully, that quickly stopped – and I was able to enjoy the rest of it.

    As for the cute little sandal, I was going to suggest that if you did not get the wrong one fixed, you could use the good one as a light paperweight. Just too cute to toss out! 🙂

    Hugs ~
    Kat

    • Dear Kat!

      I’m so sorry for scaring you and after I re-read my blogpost I thought it started to sound like he had died too. I’m sure I will get to see him every now and then as his wife still works at iSi.

      I’m sorry that you had such a crazy day on April Fools, but I’m glad that it is now over with.

      By the way the sandal is coming out ok and hopefully I will be able to finish it this morning. Thanks so much for stopping by.

      Love you!
      Tamara

  8. […] Image: wordpress […]


Leave a comment

Categories