Posted by: tgonzales | April 28, 2014

April 25-26, 2014 Weekend, Spending Time with Jennifer, Creation Station Shopping, Visiting with Brandi, and a Few Hats for the Kansas Barn Sale

1

 

My weekend started off with breakfast at the Doo-Dah Diner here in Wichita with Jennifer. I just love the saying on her shirt. Her co-workers gave it to her for her birthday. Anyway, we were very impressed with the meals and I plan on taking John there for breakfast real soon. You can find their hours here. I think I will most definitely need to get a hold of Guy Fieri from Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives to check out the Doo-Dah Diner. 😉

 

2

 

Then we were off to the Red Barn Sale near Benton, Kansas where my niece Angie (on the left)

 

3

 

4

 

5

 

6

 

7

 

had a booth filled with all of her really cool “Little Yellow Chair” (that’s the name of her company) creations.

 

8

 

The next thing that caught my eye was this booth with all of these crocheted fabric rugs. Nancy Colistro is a lady who has survived cancer twice and learned to crochet when she was recovering from her first round of cancer several years ago. I loved it when I looked down beside her chair and saw big huge balls of rolled up fabric sitting in her basket just waiting to be crocheted up into one of these beautiful rugs. She does custom orders and you can email her at nancycolistro@yahoo.com to find out more about Nancy and her rag rug creations.

 

9

 

10

 

11

 

Then I went on a search to find my friend Susie who was going to be at the Red Barn Sale helping out her friend Jane who is owner of “My Paisley Peacock”. Jane has fun fibers, fine fabrics, and funky furniture and fixtures. You can follow her on Twitter at http://www.mypaisleypeacock.com. I love this picture of Susie and Me and how country Susie is and how bohemian I am and how we get along so well. I think it’s because we love the same things; God, Family, Friends, and crochet. What more do you need?

 

12

 

Susie’s daughter Jessy was there too with her little baby boy, Ari. Of course my daughter had to hold him and love on him before it was time to move on.

 

13

 

I love this picture that Jane took of Jennifer and me. And yes as you can see in the picture I couldn’t resist the brightly colored rug that Nancy created. I think I sold three of them to people who stopped me to ask where I had gotten it. It was so funny because I kept running into people that I knew. First of all I heard my name being called from behind me and it was my Mom’s hairdresser Gracia, then I heard my name being called from in front of me and it was Katherine Scraper who I met through blogging and found out that she lived in the same town as me. Then I heard my name again coming from inside one of the booths and it was Nyugen who used to belong to the crochet guild. I loved seeing all of these people who I hadn’t seen in quite some time.

 

14

 

Here is a lovely lady by the name of Summer Munn. Her business name is “Nolies Nap Times”. I’m not quite sure where the name came from, but I plan on finding out more about her when she is in the Absolute Vintage Boutique’s “Vintage Girl Outdoor Market” on May 10th.

 

15

 

I was very impressed with her chunky and colorful jewelry that she makes.

 

16

 

After leaving the Barn Sale we headed to Newton to see my friend Catherine Blocher who owns Creation Station, since Jennifer had never been to her store before I thought it would be fun for her to see all of Catherine’s yarn and to help her out with her yarn stash.

 

17

 

Of course I couldn’t resist a few skeins myself. Catherine just got in some Patons Grace size 3 mercerized cotton in 6 beautiful colors; and you probably already knew that I wasn’t going to get just one color but all 6 of them, but you probably didn’t know that I actually bought 2 skeins of each color. Well I guess now you know. 😉 If you must know we left there with 2 bags of yarn; some for Jennifer and some for me. Before we left Catherine’s shop we asked her for recommendations to a good restaurant.

 

18

 

She suggested Curtis C’s, which is a family-run diner.

 

19

 

I had their bacon cheeseburger with seasoned fries and man it was good. I think when I talk to Guy Fieri I will have to suggest this little family-owned diner to him as well. I will also have to take John there some weekend.

 

20

 

Our day ended with us stopping by to see Brandi, who has been friends with Jennifer since they were 5. You may remember Brandi from my post last July when I talked about her wedding.

 

21b

 

Brandi has recently been diagnosed with Leukemia and has been through chemo-therapy.

 

22

 

Of course Brandi has lost all of her hair and she had posted on Facebook that she would like to have some hats as she now gets very cold with no hair. And you can probably already figure out that I went to town making her hats to help her stay warm. I love this little girl (she will always be a little girl to me) just like my own. Brandi loves bright and neon colors so she loved the colors that I chose for the hats.

 

23

 

She spent a lot of time at our house as Jennifer and she were growing up. Brandi did not have a very good home life and I always hated to send her home.

 

24a

Anyway, I have made Brandi 8 hats all together and she seems to love every one of them as much as I loved making them for her. All of the hats shown here are made with cotton so she should be good for the summer.

 

24b

 

Jennifer is planning a little mini-reunion of the fabulous four; Starla, Brandi, Jennifer, and Jenny will be reunited next weekend for the first time since they were in high school and I plan on being there to take lots of pictures.

 

25

 

On Sunday I made a hat from some of the Bernat Mosaic that I purchased at Creation Station the day before.

 

26

 

Then I made one from Caron Simply Soft and added a little fun fur around the edge. I hope someone will like them enough to buy them at the Kansas Barn Sale on October 4th. So anyway how was your weekend? I hope it was filled with all things nice. I hope everyone has a wonderful week.

 

 

 


Responses

  1. What a great, newsy post, Tamara! Loved the t-shirt as well. How fun it was to read of all the things you did! Good luck to your daughter’s friend as she recovers and I hope the reunion is spectacular!

    • As always Jeanne, thank you so much for stopping by and for reading this lengthy blog post. I have so many more things to share since I have not been blogging regularly. Maybe I will be caught up some day? I will be sure to tell Brandi you wish her the best. Love and Hugs, Tamara

  2. Tamara, I love when you take us on a wonderful tour of what you have been doing. I felt like I spent the day with you! I would not have been able to walk away from the crocheted fabric rugs, either. I love that you made so many wonderful, colorful and different styles of hats for Brandi. You are a dear and wonderful person! I hope she is on a road to recovery.

    • Hi Stephanie! Thanks so much for loving what I write about and especially for stopping by to tell me so. It makes me happy! Love and Hugs, Tamara

  3. Love the t-shirt!!.. And all the hats! Beautiful work, Tamara!.. And I will definitely remember Brandi in my prayers. The reunion sounds awesome!

    • Hi Tina! Thank you so much for loving the things that I make and for the prayers for Brandi. I can’t wait to report about the reunion. I hope you have a great week. Love and Hugs, Tamara

  4. I just LOVE Jennifer’s shirt!!! Too fun. And Brandi’s hats are spectacular! I’ve been working on a lot of chemo hats, too lately. It’s sad to have to make them, but I’m sure they’re a blessing to her!
    Have a great week!
    mindy

    • Hi Mindy! You are so sweet to stop by to comment and for your charitable work on chemo hats. I’m sure your hats are a blessing to those who receive them as well. Thanks again for being here. Hugs, Tamara

  5. I love your posts as they are all about the people in your life. If your acquaintances were a measure of how rich your life was then you would be a millionaire! I love the hats and wish her well. Take care. x

    • Hi Alice! Thanks for loving my posts and for stopping by to remind me how rich I am. 🙂 Your comment made me feel good about what I do. Love and Hugs, Tamara

      • You should always feel good about what you do. You seem to make a lot of people very happy. xx

  6. What a fun filled packed post. I bought the blue drawer sitting sideways from Angie’s Booth, love it!
    We are a couple of crazy ladies, love the pictures of us!
    I think. Kor and I need to visit the Do Dah for breakfast sometime too,neither you two.
    Sweet pictures and Jennifer with her friend. I loved the lime hat, but all were adorable on her.
    Dang, I better get to Catherine’s before she runs out of that perfect yarn…….I was trying to wait till she got her Catania in……..
    Love ya!
    Suz

    • Hi Susie! Thanks for loving the pictures. I loved that blue drawer too and when I went to the etcetera shop I found some drawer pulls for Ang. I can’t wait to see what she puts them on. YES, you better run, don’t walk to Catherine’s because she only had 2 skeins of each of those colors left on her shelf. I can hardly wait to see the colors she gets in of Catania. Oh by the way, I love how Jane captured our natural selves. Love you, Tamara

  7. I enjoyed your blog and really missed the weeks when you didn’t post anything. I enjoyed the pics of Angie’s booth. The talent in your family is amazing. I loved the pictures of the crocheted rugs. It reminded me of the rug that Grandma Roberts made me for a wedding gift. Wish I still had it. I did a craft bazaar at our church a couple of weeks ago. I sold 3 baskets and as I was packing up to leave that evening I sold a rug. I was quite excited as I had a hefty price on it thinking nobody in their right mind would pay that much for a rug. I love the hats in the pictures and recognize some of the buttons that you used. Glad you can use them and if you ever need more just let me know because I have many more that I will share with you. love you girl.

    • Hi Sue! Thanks so much for loving the things that I talk about and for missing me when I don’t post. You and the other people who stop by to read really pushes me on. Plus I need to keep writing or I will forget what I have done. Even though I keep seeing all my creations piling up on the table. LOL I’m so glad you sold some of your lovely baskets and your rug. Oh by they way I knew you would probably recognize those buttons that I used on the hats. I loved that I had a chance to use some of them on these hats and thank you again for giving them to me. Love you too! Tamara

  8. You must get sick of my comments because I always say I love everything, but I really do! I love THE LITTLE YELLOW CHAIR, I would buy EVERYTHING she stocks!!! I love the hat with the peak you made from Bernat Mosaic, and I love your little granny sq scarf.

    I love how you all go to “diners” to eat – it’s such a typical American thing, we don’t have diners here 😦
    I love the pics of Brandi and Jennifer, and really wish Brandi all the strength she needs right now going through a very difficult time. She’s a beautiful young woman.
    xxxxxxx

    • Hi Jill! Oh my gosh no way will I ever get tired of you telling me that you love everything that I make and talk about. Of course I feel the same way about you my friend. AND when you come to Kansas a diner is where I will be taking you for your first meal here. 😉 Thank you so much for stopping by to let me know how much you love the things that I make and talk about. Love you, Tamara

      • Uh uh, lady – when I come to Kansas I want ALL my meals at diners!!!!!!!

  9. Oh Jill! I will take off work and I will prepare lots of meals for you. It will be just like eating at a diner except you can call it Tamara’s Diner. 🙂

  10. Hi Tam!!

    I did not know there is a Barn $ale in the Spring also. I am surprised you don’t do that one too … tho it is nice to be a spectator/customer for a change, right? 😉

    Loved all the pics. Especially love the colors of Patons Grace yarn you bought!

    I know what a special feeling you got from making all those hats for Brandi. I know I sure was blest to make some for my neighbor a few years back. [You made her one too!] Once her hair grew back, she gave them all away to the Cancer Center in our city. I admit I was a bit disappointed she did not keep yours and at least one of mine. However, they went to a needy cause!!!

    Oh WOW!!! Look at Jennifer’s awesome long, glowing blonde locks when she was younger!! I’m looking forward to seeing ‘updated’ photos of those 4 gals this weekend. What a fun reunion that will be!!!

    HAPPY WEEKEND, GIRLFRIEND!!!
    Hugs,
    Kat

    • Hi Kat! It’s so nice to see your comment finally, whew you had me worried. 🙂 As for you wondering about the Spring barn sale; it is not the same sale that I go to in October. The one that I go to is called the Kansas Barn Sale and it is near Hesston, Kansas and the one that I attended last Saturday is called the Red Barn Sale and it is near Benton, Kansas. Anyway, I only have energy to do one a year right now, with me working full time it takes me a year just to get enough things made the way it is. As always I love hearing what you think about everything I write about; you make me smile. I’m so glad that your neighbor gave her hats to the cancer center and I know someone else enjoyed wearing the hat that I made. As for the reunion I will be heading over to Jennifer’s real soon to be included in the gathering. Love you my friend, Tamara


Leave a comment

Categories