Posted by: tgonzales | November 16, 2016

Crochet Addiction or Hobby? That’s My Question to You

me-1

My friend Susie and I were talking the other day about how she obsesses over having a crochet project with her at all times. She said, “Tamara I think I’m addicted to crochet.” We talked a little more about it and then we laughed, but when she left I started asking myself these questions:

me-2

  1. What’s the first thing that you think of when you wake up in the morning? Do you think about the crochet project that you left undone the night before? I would have to say yes, I do.
  2. What’s the first thing you think about grabbing as you are leaving the house? Is it several projects and all your hooks? I would have to say yes, I do. (I’m always afraid that if I don’t take several projects, I’ll finish one and then I will have extra time that I will have idol hands.)
  3. Do you crochet on a project until the last minute before rushing out the door to go to work? I would have to say yes I do.
  4. Do you rush through your lunchtime meal in order to have the most amount of your hour left to crochet on that exciting project that you started the night before, and crochet up until the last few seconds of your lunch hour and sometimes you’re almost or have been late to allow the person at the front desk to take their lunch break? I would have to say yes, I’m guilty.
  5. Do you seek out small or large groups of people that like to crochet so that you can be inspired by them and just talk about crochet? I would have to say yes I do.
  6. Do you spend hours upon hours on the computer seeking out inspiration for your next crochet project and then can’t remember half the websites you have visited? I would have to say yes I do.
  7. You get all antsy and grouchy if you haven’t crocheted all day. I am so guilty on this one and I would say yes I do.

I know there are more than 7 instances of me being addicted to my crochet hobby; but I can’t remember all of them all at once, so let’s not go there.

Ok, here’s what my hobby (addiction) has produced in the last two days:

brown-and-tan-hats

two cute earflap hats,

blue-and-red-hat

One KU Jayhawks earflap hat, two washcloths (sorry, no picture of the washcloths because I needed to continue to crochet)

blank-form

I did stop crocheting long enough to create this cool order form and worked 2-8 hour shifts at my real job. I had to create the new order form for the crocheted hats because…….

filled-in-forms

I got orders for 11 more yesterday. I’m still not sure whether this crochet thing is an addiction or hobby but all I know is that I have to crochet. Which one do you think it is? This was taken from an original post that was written on November 16, 2011.

me-4

No matter how hard I try I can’t seem to kick this crochet addiction even on this November 16, 2016. How about you? What is your craft addiction?

 


Responses

  1. I would agree you are a crochet addict. Reading is my addiction! Always have a book to read. Did rush lunch at work to read. Always have to have a mountain of books just in case. Oh and tinsel yarn!

    • Hi Cathy! I love to read too, but when I read I can’t crochet (so I don’t read much). Thanks so much for stopping by!

  2. Oh yah, definitely an exciting & wholesome addiction for you, Tamara. LOL ‘Tis a hobby for me, one that I rarely skip a day of enjoyment.
    LOVE the new photos of you — LOVE your hair, both the color & the style. Bangs look great on you! And your makeup, especially your eyes … fantastic! You are beautiful!! xxoo

    • Hi Kat!!! You might want to re-read the next to the last paragraph (it says that this was taken from a blogpost dated November 16, 2011). The first few pictures were of me back in 2011. The last photo is me now in all my glory of gray hair! LOL Love you my friend.

      • Oops! LOL! Well, you can always get your hair dyed to that color again, get bangs, and do the glam makeup. LOL
        And you are still beautiful! xxoo

  3. It’s really a combinationation of both of those, but also therapy, a nerve soother, a friend, a craft and can even be a challenge, helps to keep us mentally active, and can be quite entertaining, so to me alot more than a hobby

    • Hi Mary! Thank you for stopping by and sharing what it means for you. I feel the same way too. Love and hugs!

  4. Were those hats and order forms also from the 2011 post??
    Do you still use them for orders??
    I miss you and love you!! The end!

    • Yes Joshua the whole post was from 2011 and yes I still have the forms and I still use them. When I run out I just print more. Love and miss you too my Chacho Aaron!

  5. I absolutely LOVE your chunky earflap beanies, they are just divine! I see you’re letting your hair grow a bit longer these days – it really suits you ❤

    • Aww you are so sweet. Sorry to burst your bubble about my longer hair though, those three pictures were taken 5 years ago. Now that I have gone this short, I’m never going back to longer hair. And I refuse to dye it either. It’s way too time consuming and expensive. 🙂 Thank you so much for stopping by to comment.

  6. I think you are definitely addicted! For me, it’s a hobby for sure. The amount of crocheting you do blows me away. I’m glad you have something that you do that makes you and others so happy. 🙂

    • Hi Jeanne! I think you are right about the addiction part. Thanks so much for stopping by to comment and sending hugs to you. Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

