Posted by: tgonzales | October 17, 2016

Five Years Ago Today; October 17, 2011

On this day a five years ago I received the phone call that I never wanted to hear. Although we had expected it any day since my Daddy’s heart was so weak after he had suffered a heart attack and a stroke on April 15, 2000, relearned how to walk, drive, dress himself, survived 7 bypass surgery, bouts of congestive heart failure, and a pacemaker put in; it didn’t make it any easier when Jackie called me to break the news that our Daddy had passed away. I think it was harder because we had lost our brother not even a year before?

After I got the news and as I was driving to be with my Mom, sister, and brothers; I started thinking about all the things that we had done throughout the summer. I remembered Jackie and I had taken my Mom and Daddy to Greensburg to see the town that had been almost completely destroyed by a tornado.

Or the time that I took them to Joshua’s plays,

or the time that we took them to Illinois for my Daddys’ last visit there not even a month before his passing.

I felt very lucky that I was able to spend some quality time with my Daddy before he went to Heaven to be with our brother Dean. I hope you all enjoy some of the photos here as I did when I went through them. I loved my Daddy and felt like he could do anything;

and me in my insecure way wondered if he was ever proud of me, but deep down when I look at this photo I know he was.

I was truly blessed to have such a good man as my Daddy and can only hope when I grow old that my children think the same about me. I still remember his favorite song, “Chain of Love”. I try to remember the words of the song when I help other people out like my Daddy always did, “don’t let the chain of love end with you.” I love you all and hope that you hug your Daddy’s extra long today if they are near you or give him a call to tell him how much you love him.


Responses

  1. Tamara, Your dad must have been SO PROUD of you, you must never doubt that. I don’t have mine either, he died when I was 17, but he is still in my thoughts and heart. 🙂

    • Jill,

      Thanks so much for stopping by to remember my Daddy with me. Oh my gosh I feel so blessed for having him around for so long; especially when you lost yours so young. They will both live in our hearts forever.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. Every day I think I am lucky to have both my parents still. My heart goes out to you today. Remember the good times,he looks so proud of you in the picture.

    • Thanks so much for stopping by to comment Cathy, and yes he was proud of me even though he didn’t say it. He loved seeing all the things that I made and created, you could see it in his face.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  3. You brought tears to my eyes, Tamara. Uncle Charles was a wonderful man! I remember a very unique piece that he whittled for me one time and it was just amazing! Never could figure out how he did, esp. in the short time that I was visiting! He loved and was proud of you, as he did all of his children. Hugs to you today.

    • Thanks so much Jill for stopping by to comment and thanks for the special hugs. Daddy loved so many people and you were one of them.

      Love you,
      Tamara

  4. Your dad was such a favorite of Butch and mine..Loved to visit with them when we used to come back on vacations and then living in Okla..was always exciting to see your folks.One great memory was when he and your mom brought Grandma and Grandpa Casteel out to visit us in Idaho.It is hard to lose those that we love,but the sweet memories are so precious..Love you.

    • Love you too Bonni, and thanks so much for stopping by to comment today. 🙂

  5. Sweet Tamara,

    Bless you for remembering your daddy in such a special way today here on your blog. His life was certainly blest the day you were born, and *I* have no doubt he was so very proud of his precious Tamara. So don’t *you* ever doubt that again, got that? 😉

    Sweet HUG to you from me ~~
    Kat

    • Hi Kat!

      Thanks so much for stopping by to remember my Daddy with me and as always it’s so nice to hear your comments.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  6. kd;rtljalrealksd it’s not okay to leave me teary-eyed like this… blergh. I love you very much.

    ps. I don’t even have any tissues! getting toilet paper.

    • Chacho Aaron,

      I’m sorry you don’t have any tissues; you really need to get you a box. That will be the first item I put in the next care package to you. 🙂

      Love You and Big Hugs,
      Momma

  7. Oh you have some very special memories that you shared and I’m sure their are many more. One memory I have is he made me a little table and stools when I was maybe 5 or 6 and I always loved it. There are others too but that one stands out the most. Love you girl. sw

    • Thanks Sue for stopping by to remember my Daddy with me. Isn’t it funny how I didn’t even know that he made you a table and stools. Love you too, Tamara

  8. Awww…. such sweet reminiscences, Tamara. And great photos to keep your memories alive! I know you will always miss him. And I have no doubt he was very proud of you!

  9. Loving tribute to a wonderful father! Thank you for sharing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

