Posted by: tgonzales | October 9, 2016

Kansas Barn Sale 2016 Shopper, Friendships, and Good Times

Susie and I headed out bright and early on Saturday October 1, 2016 to shop at the barn sale and to make memories. We were some of the first ones to line up and I was so thankful that Susie was lucky to get free tickets and to remember to bring her little wheelie thingy.

Susie and I headed out bright and early on Saturday October 1, 2016 to shop at the barn sale and to make memories. We were some of the first ones to line up and I was so thankful that Susie was lucky to get free tickets and to remember to bring her little wheelie thingy.

This was only one of the lines to one of the entrances into the barn sale and we had 30 more minutes to wait. I tell you what that line was a lot longer when it came time to go in. I don't if you can see her, but my friend Donna is the one right in the middle of the line jumping out as I took the picture. :) It had been a long time since we saw her and it was fun seeing her again.

This was only one of the lines to one of the entrances into the barn sale and we had 30 more minutes to wait. I tell you what that line was a lot longer when it came time to go in. I don’t know if you can see her, but my crazy friend Donna is the one right in the middle of the line jumping out as I took the picture. 🙂 It had been a long time since we saw her and it was fun seeing her again.

As we filed in, this was just one of the many beautiful arrangements of fall flowers.

As we filed in, this was just one of the many beautiful arrangements of fall flowers.

I love the way the Kansas Barn Sale is, because it's a juried sale; which means that the items that you are selling are vintage or handmade. Nothing can be mass produced from another country. Anyway, this vendor is from Wichita and has their wares at the Farmers market. I always love to see what all they are re-purposing. The sewing machine was very cool. The name of the company is Tadpole Creek Creations and I just love their stuff.

I love the way the Kansas Barn Sale is, because it’s a juried sale; which means that the items that you are selling are vintage or handmade. Nothing can be mass produced from another country. Anyway, this vendor is from Wichita and has their wares at the Farmers market. I always love to see what all they are re-purposing. The sewing machine was very cool. The name of the company is Tadpole Creek Creations and I just love their stuff.

Here's one of the booths that really caught my eye. (well, I wonder if you can guess why?) LOL Of course it's crochet and I just loved the little crocheted Christmas trees hanging on a branch.

Here’s one of the booths that really caught my eye. (well, I wonder if you can guess why?) LOL Of course it’s crochet and I just loved the little crocheted Christmas trees hanging on a branch.

This is Jessica Hipps of JH Crafter Custom Creations and she is the one who made the little Christmas trees. She also had some fun scarves and very cute character hats.

This is Jessica Hipps of JH Crafter Custom Creations and she is the one who made the little Christmas trees. She also had some fun scarves and very cute character hats.

I certainly loved this little owl made from a shovel, saw blades, and horse shoes. I sure would have loved to have him and if I would have been on the way out, I probably would have gotten him.

I certainly loved this little owl made from a shovel, saw blades, and horse shoes. I sure would have loved to have him and if I would have been on the way out, I probably would have gotten him.

This painting of the two cows, somehow reminded me of my friend Stephanie. I'm not sure why? Hi Stephie, I hope you know that I don't think of you as a cow, but as I looked at these two cows I remembered the scrappy cow that you made last year at the retreat, and thought that these would be cute too as scrappy cows.

This painting of the two cows, somehow reminded me of my friend Stephanie. I’m not sure why? Hi Stephie, I hope you know that I don’t think of you as a cow, but as I looked at these two cows I remembered the scrappy cow that you made last year at the retreat, and thought that these would be cute too as scrappy cows.

Susie and I always have a great time when we can get together and this day was no different.

Susie and I always have a great time when we can get together and this day was no different.

Our plans were to meet up with Lisa on the left and Martha on the right. Lisa and Martha are from Iowa and traveled here to take in the barn sale and meet up with me and Susie. I gave them each a crochet jelly fish and they loved them.

Our plans were to meet up with Lisa on the left and Martha on the right. Lisa and Martha are from Iowa and traveled here to take in the barn sale and meet up with me and Susie. I gave them each a crochet jelly fish and they loved them.

Susie found a booth that had woolie flower hair pins and I thought it went perfect in her hair.

Susie found a booth that had woolie flower hair pins and I thought it went perfect in her hair.

As we ate a little snack we got to sit on the hay bales and listen to this wonderful Irish band. I loved listening and I especially loved watching the little girl playing the accordion. She never looked down at her hands and was so serious as she played. But when the music stopped and everyone clapped, she smiled. It was so cute.

As we ate a little snack we got to sit on the hay bales and listen to this wonderful Irish band. I loved listening and I especially loved watching the little girl playing the accordion. She never looked down at her hands and was so serious as she played. But when the music stopped and everyone clapped, she smiled. It was so cute.

Here we are waiting on Lisa and Martha to get done shopping and we were able to catch up with texts.

Here we are waiting on Lisa and Martha to get done shopping and we were able to catch up with texts.

I was so happy that we ran into Mara and her beautiful crocheted vest. Mara is such a wonderful crocheter and to think that she has only been doing it for such a short amount of time.

I was so happy that we ran into Mara and her beautiful crocheted vest. Mara is such a wonderful crocheter and to think that she has only been doing it for such a short amount of time.

Susie and I decided that we wanted to take Lisa and Martha to Newton to stop in the Etcetera shop and then onto Creation Station. Here's Lisa oohing and aahing over the cotton yarn called Catania and Patons Grace. Catherine, the owner of Creation Station has the biggest selection of this yarn in the state.

Susie and I decided that we wanted to take Lisa and Martha to Newton to stop in the Etcetera shop and then onto Creation Station. Here’s Lisa oohing and aahing over the cotton yarn called Catania and Patons Grace. Catherine, the owner of Creation Station has the biggest selection of this yarn in the state.

Lisa finally decided on just the right colors.

Lisa finally decided on just the right colors.

So did I.

So did I.

Thank you Catherine for your hospitality and for taking this picture of the four of us.

Thank you Catherine for your hospitality and for taking this picture of the four of us.

I couldn't resist taking a picture of the front of this car with the plastic bugs on the grill. Anyway, we at lunch at a little diner in Newton and spent another couple of hours just sitting and talking. I think the next time Lisa comes to Kansas we will have to have a little retreat thingy and just spend our time at a motel; eating, crocheting, and hanging out by the pool. :)

I couldn’t resist taking a picture of the front of this car with the plastic bugs on the grill. Anyway, we at lunch at a little diner in Newton and spent another couple of hours just sitting and talking. I think the next time Lisa comes to Kansas we will have to have a little retreat thingy and just spend our time at a motel; eating, crocheting, and hanging out by the pool. 🙂

I'm sure you were all wondering if I came home with anything from the barn sale; and yes I did. I found the coolest sign that's made from the top of a metal barrel, with Live, Love, Laugh, butterflies, and painted blue. (courtesy of Tadpole Creek Creations) I also found a wire basket, a turquoise basket, and a pillow case with crocheted rick rack on it.

I’m sure you were all wondering if I came home with anything from the barn sale; and yes I did. I found the coolest sign that’s made from the top of a metal barrel, with Live, Love, Laugh, butterflies, and painted blue. (courtesy of Tadpole Creek Creations) I also found a wire basket, a turquoise basket, and a pillow case with crocheted rick rack on it.

Here's a little closer picture of the crocheted rick rack. Well, I have to tell you the day couldn't have been any better, unless all of you were there to enjoy it with us. Anyway, we truly did what we set out to do; shopped, ate, talked, and made memories. I would love to hear how your weekend was.

Here’s a little closer picture of the crocheted rick rack. Well, I have to tell you the day couldn’t have been any better, unless all of you were there to enjoy it with us. Anyway, we truly did what we set out to do; shopped, ate, talked, and made memories. I would love to hear how your weekend was. Have a great week.


Responses

  1. What a wonderful time you all had. I love all your purchases. I have been knitting this weekend, owls and a spider! As you do.

    • Thank you Cathy! Your weekend sounds nice too. I love it when I can just sit and work on my projects. Love and Hugs, Tamara

  2. So happy that you were able to do exactly what you set out to do, Tamara. That barn sale sure looks to be an amazing event. How fun that you have such a wonderful yarn shop close by. So glad you were able to have fun with your friends! 🙂

    • Hi Jeanne! Thank you so much for stopping by to comment. It makes my day! Hugs, Tamara

  3. Wow, it looks like a great time was had by all! Can you tell me where to find the pattern for the vest? It is so cool.

  4. I love seeing your adventure as a shopper, Tamara. I also loved the cow painting- one day I am going to try to paint one myself! I am so happy that you and Susie have such an amazing friendship. Girl trips are the best! Thank you for sharing!


Leave a Reply

Categories

