Posted by: tgonzales | June 7, 2016

I’m Alive and Kicking! And Ready to get Back in the Swing of Things

I have stopped by to let everyone know that I am still alive and kicking. Ha! Ha! Actually I have been down with a sciatic nerve problem since April 23rd. I couldn’t even sit at the computer at home to post to my blog. UGH! It’s been bad this time around, but with a little rest, exercise, and some good drugs I am on the road to recovery. 😉

1

My dear friend Susie had a birthday last month and I made her this top. It is made from the pattern called Mooloolaba Shells Pattern designed by Jenny King. I loved how swingy the top is. Anyway, Susie asked if I could teach a group of her friends how to make this fun top and since I am feeling better, I decided to go ahead and schedule a class. When I brought the subject up to Catherine, owner of Creation Station in Newton she quickly pulled out her calendar and we set some dates. We have allowed for three sessions, only if needed.

Mooloolaba Shells Pattern

Creation Station in Newton, Kansas

605 N. Main

772-0883

Saturday, June 25, 2016 from 1:30-3:30

July 9, 2016 from 1:30-3:30

Cost for Two Sessions: $30

(cost does not include yarn or pattern)

(Third Session only if Needed) July 23, 2016 from 1:30-3:30 (additional $10)

There are three choices of yarn for the top:

3

Cotton Fair-300 yards at $5/skein=3 skeins (so sorry about the quality of the photo)

2

Sunseeker-250 yards at $7/skein=3-4 skeins (if you choose the Sunseeker yarn, you will need to call Catherine with your color choice before the class; as she will need to wind one of the skeins for you to begin with) I am currently making mine out of Sunseeker in turquoise and I love it.

4

Bamboo Pop-300 yards at $8/skein=3 skeins

Please purchase pattern before arriving for class. You can find the pattern here.

I almost forgot, please bring Hook sizes F, G, H, and I, plus scissors, yarn needle, stitch markers, and row counter (optional).

Hurry, call Catherine and sign up for this cute, fun, and easy swingy top class. 🙂


Responses

  1. Glad you are back into blogging. I’ve missed you girl and I love the top you made for Susie-she is a lucky girl.

  2. So pleased to hear that you’re still out there crocheting up a storm, but so sorry about your back. It’s a crummy problem to have, but it will resolve because you’re looking after yourself 🙂 I guess you’ve had to cut down on the late-night clubbing, ya? xxxxxxx

  3. Sorry to hear about your health problems but delighted to see that lovely top. Good luck with the class.

  4. Gosh, sorry to hear that you have been struggling! Happy to hear you are getting back to better health. That is one sweet looking top! How fun that you are going to run a class to teach others how to make it. Much success to this endeavor! 🙂

  5. SO GLAD your back. I missed you. Look forward to seeing/hearing more from you soon.

  6. Missed hearing/seeing your cheerful posts.
    I’M SO GLAD your back. Glad you were still able to crochet.
    It takes your mind off your troubles. Susie is a lucky girl.

  7. So good to hear from you Tamara! Strangely i was thinking of you the day before your post. Wondering if you were doing ok. What a timely post. Good to hear you are doing better and hope it continues for you. Love Love the newest crochet project, it’s darling and so are you. Be well and peace….xo

  8. Oh, Tamara I know what you’ve been going thru. I pray that your pain goes away quickly and stays away! Gentle Hugs

  9. Oh my!! That is a long time to be ‘down’ with your painful sciatic nerve!! I’m so sorry you have that to deal with. I’ve certainly missed you here! Hope you are now feeling A-1 and will continue to for quite awhile.
    Love this pic of Susie. You’ve shown the world what a “swingin’ gal” she is. Hahaha!! I’m looking forward to seeing you wearing your turquoise top!
    Have a wonderful upcoming weekend, dear friend!
    Love & warm hugs ~ Kat

  10. Tamara, I signed up for the class. Catherine thought you would have a connection to the pattern on your blog. Will there be another blog? I can’t wait for the class – I’m ready. Kaye

    • Hi Kaye! If you will go to the word “here” in this blog post it will link you to the pattern on Ravelry. I’m looking forward to the class too. See you soon.


Leave a Reply

Categories

