Posted by: tgonzales | January 11, 2016

Christmas 2015 and New Years Part 1

Christmas Eve Jennifer and Megan came to stay with us, so I let them make pizzas for us.

Christmas Eve Jennifer and Megan came to stay with us, so I let them make pizzas for us.

Megan enjoyed spreading out the dough and putting sauce, cheese, and pepperonis on the pizzas.

Megan enjoyed spreading out the dough and putting sauce, cheese, and pepperonis on the pizzas.

Megan really liked her pizza and said that it was second best to Papa Johns. :)

Megan really liked her pizza and said that it was second best to Papa Johns. 🙂

Megan loves her some olives...

Megan loves her some olives…

and so does her Mommy.

and so does her Mommy.

This is what happens when you let Megan take pictures with your camera.

This is what happens when you let Megan take pictures with your camera.

And this one too. I had to laugh when I saw these.

And this one too. I had to laugh when I saw these.

Here's our Charlie Brown Christmas tree.

Here’s our Charlie Brown Christmas tree.

I loved how the pom poms decorated some of the packages, under the scrawny little tree.

I loved how the pom poms decorated some of the packages, under the scrawny little tree.

Christmas morning everyone woke to my famous "Oh Boy Waffles".

Christmas morning everyone woke to my famous “Oh Boy Waffles”.

Megan always enjoys my waffles and this year was no different.

Megan always enjoys my waffles and this year was no different.

Jennifer, John, and Megan like peanut butter on their waffles; but not me. I just like butter and syrup. Yummy; now I want a waffle.

Jennifer, John, and Megan like peanut butter on their waffles; but not me. I just like butter and syrup. Yummy; now I want a waffle.

While we were waiting for Joshua to call us back so that we could FaceTime with him; I asked Megan to shake each of her gifts to see if she could tell what each one was. This is the gift that Megan thought was a t-shirt. She seemed to be surprised with her socks.

While we were waiting for Joshua to call us back so that we could FaceTime with him; I asked Megan to shake each of her gifts to see if she could tell what each one was. This is the gift that Megan thought was a t-shirt. She seemed to be surprised with her socks.

I just loved her footed pajamas. I remember wearing footed pajamas when I was young and I loved them.

I just loved her footed pajamas. I remember wearing footed pajamas when I was young and I loved them.

Jennifer was thrilled with her Tanya's Soup Kitchen recipes.

Jennifer was thrilled with her Tanya’s Soup Kitchen recipes.

Joshua wore his funky and fun colorful elf hat.

We have made the hat wearing thing a tradition every year. And each person has their turn in opening their gifts. Megan loves to wear the Santa hat and Joshua wore his funky and fun colorful elf hat.

Joshua is the dramatic one.

Joshua is the dramatic one.

Me, I needed to be queen for the day so I wore my crown.

Me, I needed to be queen for the day so I wore my crown.

John's sister Andrea and brother-in-law Pat stopped by on Christmas day as they have done so for the last 20 years. It's always nice visiting with them. I got such a kick out of Pat when John gave him a stun gun for Christmas. He loved it and Pat especially loved turning it on and scaring Andrea.

John’s sister Andrea and brother-in-law Pat stopped by on Christmas day as they have done so for the last 20 years. It’s always nice visiting with them. I got such a kick out of Pat when John gave him a stun gun for Christmas. He loved it and Pat especially loved turning it on and scaring Andrea.

The day after Christmas I managed to finish my soft gray afghan.

The day after Christmas I managed to finish my soft gray afghan.

Here's John trying to show you all how big it ended up being.

Here’s John trying to show you all how big it ended up being.

This was a picture that was taken before going to John's sister Andrea's house for our little family get together.

This was a picture that was taken before going to John’s sister Andrea’s house for our little family get together.

John is always poking his nose in the kitchen.

John is always poking his nose in the kitchen.

Andrea asked me to make the salsa for our Mexican dinner and Pat always loves my salsa.

Andrea asked me to make the salsa for our Mexican dinner and Pat always loves my salsa.

John does too.

John does too.

Here's John's other sister Ricci. I love John's sisters and Ricci has a special place in my heart, since she is the one who introduced me to John.

Here’s John’s other sister Ricci. I love John’s sisters and Ricci has a special place in my heart, since she is the one who introduced me to John.

We had home made tamales, flautas, beans, Spanish rice, pasole, and chips and salsa. It's making me hungry for Mexican food.

We had home made tamales, flautas, beans, Spanish rice, pasole, and chips and salsa. It’s making me hungry for Mexican food.

The next day I spent the day drinking hot tea with honey and lemon and sucking on Ricola cough drops and I called in sick on the Monday after Christmas. Thank goodness the cold didn't last more than a few days.

The next day I spent the day drinking hot tea with honey and lemon and sucking on Ricola cough drops and I called in sick on the Monday after Christmas. Thank goodness the cold didn’t last more than a few days.

Christmas Eve was nice and quiet. We spent the evening watching Saving Mr. Banks and I was under the covers by 8:30.

Christmas Eve was nice and quiet. We spent the evening watching Saving Mr. Banks and I was under the covers by 8:30.

New Years morning was  time for more waffles for breakfast......stay tuned for more of the excitement from Wichita!

New Years morning brought more waffles for breakfast……stay tuned for the rest of the story from Wichita!


Responses

  1. I love seeing your happy family pics 🙂
    and glad your cold has gone. xxx

  2. Looks like a lovely Christmas! Your food looks super yummy. I’ve never had waffles with peanut butter. Only butter and syrup or when I was a kid, I’d have butter and sugar. Nowadays that last one makes me shutter a bit, but back then it was so yummy! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  3. Love looking at your holiday pictures. Can you believe we forgot to take pictures. Oh well-maybe next year. Looking forward to Part 2 of the best blog. Love you girl. sw

  4. Your pizza looks yummy. Pizza! Pizza!!
    I gotta admit: your crochet crown looks fabulous on ya!
    What stitch did you use for your gorgeous afghan?
    Cute Eskimo kiss! 😉
    I like your longer hair.
    Man!! Such delish Mexican foods!!
    Glad your cold did not last too long. I know you were anxious to get back to work. HAHAHAHA!!! 😀
    Peanut butter on waffles. hmmm…. well, at least John gets some protein in, right?
    Fun 1st-post-of-2016, Tamara!! (other than your Crochet Classes post – heh-heh)
    Have a grand week!
    Love, Kat


Leave a Reply

Categories

