Posted by: tgonzales | November 30, 2015

My Week in Review November 23-29, 2015; Surprise Visitor and Lots of Love this Thanksgiving

My week started off with me attending my childhood friend Debbie's Dads funeral. It's such a sad and hard times when we have to say goodbye to our parents. Debbie and I have been friends for about 49 years and we grew up close. I remember going to her house to spend the night and once we were old enough to drive her Dad would let us take the car or pickup to town to get supplies. I remember teaching Debbie how to drive a stick shift and after we would pick up supplies for the farm we would stop at the laundromat in Maize to get a freezing cold Pepsi and a bag of taco flavored Doritos at the little grocery store. All those memories came flooding back to me as I listened to the beautiful funeral service. I love you Debbie and will be checking in with you real soon to make sure you are ok.

My week started off with me attending my childhood friend Debbie’s Dads funeral. It’s such a sad and hard time when we have to say goodbye to our parents. Debbie and I have been friends for about 49 years and we grew up close. I remember going to her house to spend the night and once we were old enough to drive her Dad would let us take the car or pickup to town to get supplies. I remember teaching Debbie how to drive a stick shift and after we would pick up supplies for the farm we would stop at the laundromat in Maize to get a freezing cold Pepsi and a bag of taco flavored Doritos at the little grocery store. All those memories came flooding back to me as I listened to the beautiful funeral service. I love you Debbie and will be checking in with you real soon to make sure you are ok.

Monday evening my daughter invited John and I over for dinner. I was happy to know that I didn't need to figure anything out for dinner. Anyway, as I arrived at my daughters house little did I know that Joshua was sitting waiting for me to arrive. My little Megan was so happy to see her Uncle Joshua and I was just shocked all I could say was WHAT???? How can this be?

Monday evening my daughter invited John and I over for dinner. I was happy to know that I didn’t need to figure anything out for dinner. Anyway, as I arrived at my daughters house little did I know that Joshua was sitting, waiting for me to arrive. My little Megan was so happy to see her Uncle Joshua and I was just shocked. All I could say was WHAT???? How can this be?

John and Jennifer kept it a secret from me since September and what a sweet surprise it was.

John and Jennifer kept it a secret from me since September and what a sweet surprise it was.

I have a very kind employer and supervisor; once they found out that Joshua was here they let me take off on Wednesday to spend more time with him. I was very happy that Megan would be at our house too. It gave me the opportunity for me to let her help me in the kitchen. I decided to make one of Joshua's favorite food item, baked mac and cheese. So Megan helped me prepare the white sauce.

I have a very kind employer and supervisor; once they found out that Joshua was here they let me take off on Wednesday to spend more time with him. I was very happy that Megan would be at our house too. It gave me the opportunity to allow her to help me in the kitchen. I decided to make one of Joshua’s favorite food items; baked mac and cheese. So Megan helped me prepare the white sauce.

Megan agreed that we did a fantastic job of making the mac and cheese.

Megan agreed that we did a fantastic job of making the mac and cheese.

Then I had her help me brine the turkey.

Then I had her help me brine the turkey.

John didn't even get to finish his first cup of coffee without helping with the pie preparation.

John didn’t even get to finish his first cup of coffee without helping with the pie preparation.

John enjoys teaching Megan, even when he acts like he doesn't. Here, he is teaching her how to operate a manual can opener.

John enjoys teaching Megan, even when he acts like he doesn’t. Here, he is teaching her how to operate a manual can opener.

They made the pumpkin pie.

They made the pumpkin pie.

While the pumpkin pie was baking I asked Megan if she would like to learn how to crochet and much to my surprise she said yes.

While the pumpkin pie was baking I asked Megan if she would like to learn how to crochet and much to my surprise she said yes.

I made her a little swatch of single crochets for her to make rows of singles and she picked it up very easily. When I saw that she was getting it, I was overcome with such emotion I just started to cry. Not the quiet kind but the boohoo kind of cry. At first Megan looked at me and then when I told her I was sorry but I was so happy that she was crocheting, she then smiled and laughed. She did 2 or 3 rows, but never picked it up again. If this all she does for a while it will be enough for me. I hope when she decides that she wants to pick it back up again that she will remember how to make the stitches. But now I know that I will be able to show her again.

I made her a little swatch of single crochets for her to make rows of singles and she picked it up very easily. When I saw that she was getting it, I was overcome with such emotion I just started to cry. Not the quiet kind but the boohoo kind of cry. At first Megan looked at me and then when I told her I was sorry and that I was so happy that she was crocheting, she then smiled and laughed. She did 2 or 3 rows, but never picked it up again. If this is all she does for a while it will be enough for me. I hope when she decides that she wants to pick it back up again that she will remember how to make the stitches. But now I know that I will be able to show her again.

John and Megan prepared two pie crusts, but one of them cracked so they sprinkled it with cinnamon and sugar and made a yummy treat for them to eat right away.

John and Megan prepared two pie crusts, but one of them cracked so they sprinkled it with cinnamon and sugar and made a yummy treat for them to eat right away.

One of Megan's favorite pies is pumpkin pie and I couldn't resist taking these pictures of her with the pumpkin pie.

One of Megan’s favorite pies is pumpkin pie and I couldn’t resist taking these pictures of her with the pumpkin pie.

Thanksgiving eve Megan spent the night with us and Joshua, Jennifer, and Megan played Shanghai rummy until late. Bright and early Megan was up with me and as I prepared the dinner she practiced shuffling cards and playing games by herself.

Thanksgiving eve Megan spent the night with us and Joshua, Jennifer, and Megan played Shanghai rummy until late. Bright and early Megan was up with me and as I prepared the dinner she practiced shuffling cards and playing games by herself.

Thanksgiving lunch turned out wonderful. This was my plate before I added a dollop of green bean casserole.

Thanksgiving lunch turned out wonderful. This was my plate before I added a dollop of green bean casserole.

Since all of us were together for the first time in 6 years I told everyone that I wanted to have group photos done.

Since all of us were together for the first time in 6 years I told everyone that I wanted to have group photos taken. They were not surprised.

So John and Joshua set up our dining room with adequate lighting and the tripod.

So John and Joshua set up our dining room with adequate lighting and the tripod.

I just wanted to share some of the photos that we took.

I just wanted to share some of the photos that we took.

????????????????????????????????????

Then it starts getting crazy.

Then it starts getting crazy.

17

Then props are added.

Then props are added.

AWWWW!

AWWWW!

2021222324

I felt very blessed and fortunate to have the little family all together again.

I felt very blessed and fortunate to have the little family all together again.

26

Thanks to these two wonderful children that told me to leave the kitchen so they could clean it up for me.

Thanks to these two wonderful children who told me to leave the kitchen so they could clean it up for me.

Once lunch, pictures, and a few games of Uno were over we decided that we would go see the movie; the Kind Dinosaur. It was great and our friends Joy and Sandy were there too with some of their grandchildren.

Once lunch, pictures, and a few games of Uno were over we decided that we would go see the movie; the Kind Dinosaur. It was great and our friends Joy and Sandy were there too with some of their grandchildren.

Friday was spent out and about after 12:00 at the mall shopping for Joshua shoes, boots, and a coat for those cold winter months coming in New York. I was so happy that we hit some really good sales. Friday night we spent with our lovely friends Susie and Korey learning to line dance at our new favorite place to be on Friday night. I had no idea that 32 steps to a line dance would be so hard to remember. LOL

Friday was spent out and about after 12:00 pm at the mall shopping for Joshua shoes, boots, and a coat for those cold winter months coming in New York. I was so happy that we hit some really good sales. Friday night we spent with our lovely friends Susie and Korey learning to line dance at our new favorite place (Dancing in Paradise) to be on Friday night. I had no idea that 32 steps to a line dance would be so hard to remember. LOL

Saturday morning we were up bright and early to get our haircuts. Joshua was very pleased with his cut.

Saturday morning we were up bright and early to get our haircuts. Joshua was very pleased with his cut.

As always the ABLS team makes you feel so good. Thank you Brianna, Liley, and Mandi for such good service.

As always the ABLS team makes you feel so good. Thank you Brianna, Liley, and Mandi for such good service.

Saturday evening we helped surprise John's sister Andrea on her 70th birthday. Andrea's children and husband did a wonderful job of preparing a beautiful surprise 70th birthday party for her.

Saturday evening we helped surprise John’s sister Andrea on her 70th birthday. Andrea’s children and husband did a wonderful job of preparing a beautiful surprise birthday party for her.

Even though Joshua is here I still have time to crochet in the morning and I have managed to make these two pairs of slippers, plus two other pairs.

Even though Joshua is here I still make time to crochet in the morning and I have managed to make these two pairs of slippers, plus two other pairs.

When Joshua comes to town it is really hard for him to try and spread his time around to everyone. Every day he has tried to spend some quality time with us and I try to allow him to get together with his friends as well. One of the days he asked me what I would like for us to do together and I said I would like to sit and crochet with him. He smiled and said how about Sunday? I said that would be perfect, so Sunday we sat down and crocheted together. As we crocheted I told him that he should set up a time lapse video of us crocheting, so John and him set up lights all around the living room to get just the right light for filming. I think it amazing how he can pull things from everywhere in order to create just the right picture.

When Joshua comes to town it is really hard for him to try and spread his time around to everyone. Every day he has tried to spend some quality time with us and I try to allow him to get together with his friends as well. One of the days he asked me what I would like for us to do together and I said I would like to sit and crochet with him. He smiled and said how about Sunday? I said that would be perfect, so Sunday we sat down and crocheted together. As we crocheted I told him that he should set up a time lapse video of us crocheting, so John and him set up lights all around the living room to get just the right light for filming. I think it’s amazing how he can pull things from everywhere in order to create just the right picture.

Joshua was able to finish a few rows of an infinity cowl that he is making for a friend back in New York before rushing off to go to the movies with his sister.

Joshua was able to finish a few rows of an infinity cowl that he is making for a friend back in New York before rushing off to go to the movies with his sister.

Before he left he took these

Before he left he took these

photos of me and explained to me that I really should do

photos of me and explained to me that I really should do

weekly videos on different stitches. And told me that I needed to set up a couple of cameras and the different angles that I would need to shoot the videos.

weekly videos on different stitches. And told me that I needed to set up a couple of cameras and the different angles that I would need to shoot the videos.

Now if I can follow through with that it will be short of a miracle. So how did your week go? I would love to hear all about it.

Now if I can follow through with that it will be short of a miracle. So how did your week go? I would love to hear all about it.


Responses

  1. What a lovely lovely happy time. The love just flows from your blog today. I shall have a warm glow all day. And yes you should do some video tutorials, then your granddaughter will have instructions from you forever

    • Thanks so much Cathy for stopping by. I always love hearing what you think and love your encouraging words. It really is hard to fit everything in that Joshua wants me to do. Maybe once I retire I can?

  2. I’m so happy for you that you got the big surprise of Joshua coming home for Thanksgiving. Thank you for sharing all that you share. Hope the rest of your holidays stack up against this wonderful Thanksgiving. 🙂

    • Thank you Jeanne for always being here to comment. You make my day. I have a feeling you were blessed with a Happy Thanksgiving as well. Love and Hugs, Tamara

  3. Tamara,
    What a great bunch of pictures. How blessed you were to have your family together. Joshua is such a ham and little Megan is getting into the fun. The holidays are such good family times. It always makes us wonder why we don’t o it more often.
    Kaye

    • Hi Kaye! Thank you so much for stopping by to comment. Yes I do believe that Joshua’s antics have rubbed off on Megan. It was great seeing you today. Love you, Tamara.

  4. So good to see your pictures of your surprise company. I know it was fun having all of them together again. So glad you are teaching Megan how to cook and crochet. They are never too young to learn how to do these kind of things and make some memories with Grandma and Grandpa. The family pictures are awesome. Love you girl. sw

    • Hi Sue! We had a great time with all of them being here this year. I love taking the time to help teach Megan a few of my skills and knowing that some of them will continue on is sweet too. Thanks for loving the pictures, thanks to Joshua and John for setting the whole thing up. Have a great day. Love you, Tamara

  5. WOW, you had one big weekend!! Love Love all the fun family photos!!! Thank you for sharing!!! xo

    • Hi Rosa! It is so sweet of you to stop by to read and comment here on my little space. Love and Hugs, Tamara

  6. FUN!!! Sooo happy for you, having ALL the family together — and getting such great pics! I particularly like the one of Joshua & Jennifer together. And of you & John giving each other a “squeezy hug” and a puckered-up kiss. LOL
    Kudos to your employer for giving you Wed. off so you could be with Joshua!
    Now I am looking forward to those stitching videos you will be making. 😉

    • Oh Kat, it was so wonderful to have everyone together after all these years. I am so thankful for the times that we have together. Thanks for loving the photos and for your friendship. Love you my friend! Tamara

  7. Everyone in your family is adorable, especially that Megan! Your blog made me smile; life is all about family!!
    I am disappointed that not enough people signed up for class at the Picket Fence, so I’ll try to patiently wait for another Crochet 102. Or maybe I’ll have to drive to Newton!!!
    HUGS!

    • Hi Linda! Thank you so much for stopping to read my blog and for loving what I write about. I was very disappointed when I found out that there were not enough people in the class this week. I will let you know about any upcoming classes as soon as I know and of course I would love to see you come to Newton. Hugs back at you, Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

