Posted by: tgonzales | November 16, 2015

My Week in Review November 9-14, 2015; Farm Animals and Megan, Crochet Boot Cuff Class, and Finished Projects

This school year My Megan is taking on-line classes and since her Mommy has her every other week, she comes to our house where we have internet access. Anyway, last week I told Megan that I would take her to see her cousin Jarred's baby goats. What a surprise to see all of these animals.

This school year My Megan is taking on-line classes and since her Mommy has her every other week, she comes to our house where we have internet access. Anyway, last week I told Megan that I would take her to see her cousin Jarred’s baby goats. What a surprise to see all of these animals.

Before Jarred arrived home from work I took a few photos of the animals. I couldn't stop looking at this huge sheep.

Before Jarred arrived home from work I took a few photos of the animals. I couldn’t stop looking at this huge sheep.

This little guy or gal looked like it was smiling at me. :)

This little guy or gal looked like it was smiling at me. 🙂

As soon as Jarred arrived he went into the chicken coop and brought out the twin baby goats.

As soon as Jarred arrived he went into the chicken coop and brought out the twin baby goats.

Oh my Megan loves animals.

Oh my Megan loves animals.

I loved watching her with them....

I loved watching her with them….

talking to them

talking to them

and petting them.

and petting them.

Of course she wanted to hold them and once she held them she was afraid that she was hurting them.

Of course she wanted to hold them and once she held them she was afraid that she was hurting them.

She was more than ok just to watch them as Jarred held them.

She was more than ok just to watch them as Jarred held them.

I love how she acts around animals. Jarred was so sweet and was so kind to let us come and pet the animals.

I love how she acts around animals. Jarred was so sweet and was so kind to let us come and pet the animals.

I love that Jarred has a donkey. He was explaining to me how when the momma goat goes out to the pasture to feed the donkey takes care of the babies.

I love that Jarred has a donkey. He was explaining to me how when the momma goat goes out to the pasture to feed the donkey takes care of the babies.

I was so happy that she demonstrated it as he was telling me.

I was so happy that she demonstrated it as he was telling me.

Jarred said he liked the name Dolly for his donkey. I think that's a perfect name for her, what do you think?

Jarred said he liked the name Dolly for his donkey. I think that’s a perfect name for her, what do you think?

Jarred even went and got some food so that he could show Megan how to hand feed the animals.

Jarred even went and got some food so that he could show Megan how to hand feed the animals.

Jarred said that it tickles but Megan said that she was afraid that they would bite her. But I loved her willingness to try to let them eat out of her hand.

Jarred said that it tickles but Megan said that she was afraid that they would bite her. But I loved her willingness to try to let them eat out of her hand.

The rest of the week was spent at work and in the mornings and lunch time I worked on this sleeveless sweater that will be an upcoming class at Picket Fence. This is Lisa Johnson who owns Picket Fence and will be the proud owner of the top when the class is over. :) I had to try it on her so that I could get the correct measurement of the straps. Thank goodness I did try it on, because I needed to add about 5 more inches to them.

The rest of the week was spent at work and in the mornings and lunch time I worked on this sleeveless sweater that will be an upcoming class at Picket Fence. This is Lisa Johnson who owns Picket Fence and will be the proud owner of the top when the class is over. 🙂 I had to try it on her so that I could get the correct measurement of the straps. Thank goodness I did try it on, because I needed to add about 5 more inches to them.

My crocheted boot cuff class went well and I was glad that three people signed up. Here's Suzie and Ruth working hard at sewing their boot cuffs up.

My crocheted boot cuff class went well and I was glad that three people signed up. Here’s Suzie and Ruth working hard at sewing their boot cuffs up.

This is Suzie's and

This is Suzie’s and

here's Ruth's.

here’s Ruth’s.

On Sunday I felt so good about finishing up three projects. The first one was the sleeveless sweater. When Lisa tried on the top Saturday she asked if I could maybe put a picot edging on it. When she said that I was thrilled. I wanted to add an edging to it but wasn't for sure if she would like it.

On Sunday I felt so good about finishing up three projects. The first one was the sleeveless sweater. When Lisa tried on the top Saturday she asked if I could maybe put a picot edging on it. When she said that I was thrilled. I wanted to add an edging to it but wasn’t for sure if she would like it.

I love how the back of the sweater looks too. The pattern says to use the half double crochet rows as your button holes. Well, I decided to sew the buttons on top and do away with the button holes. I love the way it turned out. I also lined the straps with cotton fabric so that they wouldn't stretch.

I love how the back of the sweater looks too. The pattern says to use the half double crochet rows as your button holes. Well, I decided to sew the buttons on top and do away with the button holes. I love the way it turned out. I also lined the straps with cotton fabric so that they wouldn’t stretch.

Don't you love the way the bottom edging turned out? I know I do. I can't wait until tomorrow so that I can actually try the finished sweater on Lisa.

Don’t you love the way the bottom edging turned out? I know I do. I can’t wait until tomorrow so that I can actually try the finished sweater on Lisa.

I also managed to start and complete this little bunny hat and diaper cover for my friend Steph.

I also managed to start and complete this little bunny hat and diaper cover for my friend Steph’s new granddaughter Olivia.

I know the bunny tail is cute, but the I think the front with the large mother of pearly buttons looks pretty adorable too.

I know the bunny tail is cute, but the I think the front with the large mother of pearl buttons looks pretty adorable too.

And last but not least I finally finished up a pair of slippers that are for a friend who asked me quite some time ago to make these for her sister. So what has been happening in your part of the world? I would love to hear all about it.

And last but not least I finally finished up a pair of slippers that are for a friend who asked me quite some time ago to make these for her sister. So what has been happening in your part of the world? I would love to hear all about it.


Responses

  1. I absolutely love the sweater. Your Megan looks so happy with the animals.

    • Thank you Cathy! And yes Megan absolutely loves animals.

  2. Love that Megan got to go to the farm. We have goats and donkeys next door to us and we always like to see the baby goats. We usually see several sets of triplets and quite a few twinlets and a couple of single births each year. We always enjoys the little ones for about 3 months and then they grow up and start getting caught in the fences. The donkeys are always protective of the goats and they do keep the coycotes away. Jared is looking good and looks happy. I love the jumper that you made and yes I agree it needed the picot edging and the buttons in back. Love you girl and the next time you come to Oklahoma give us a call and maybe we can go out to eat or something. Would love to see you again.

    • Hi Sue! I remember the goats that live next door to you. I think Jarred is going to have trouble with his little goats getting their horns stuck in the fence as well. Thanks as always for loving the things that I make. Of course the next time we get down south we will call you up. Same goes for you when you make it back to Kansas. Give us a call and we will meet you somewhere and have dinner. 🙂 love you too, Tammy

  3. Tamara,
    I love goats and the donkey nanny is touching. Megan is growing up. Her natural blond hair is so pretty. I may take your sweater class. Is it the same one you taught in Newton? When is the class? Loved seeing all your projects at Guild today.
    Kaye

    • Hi Kaye! The sweater class that I will be teaching is the one that I showed at guild on Lisa Johnson. I don’t have another sweater class scheduled like I taught in Newton. As always I love seeing you at guild too. Hugs, Tamara

  4. Your blogs make me happy! I loved seeing Megan with the animals and hearing about her tender heart. I LOVE the sweater, and especially the trim you put on… LOVE it! Looking forward to Crochet 2 at the Picket Fence!!!

    • Hi Linda! Well, thank you so much for loving my blog posts and for loving the things that I make. I am looking forward to getting you started and on your way to creating more things with crochet yourself. Hugs, Tamara

  5. Baaaa…….Hee-Haw!! I absolutely LOVE all the critter pics. (I am a big animal-lover too, Megan!) Those twin KIDS are too cute! Hey, is Dolly pregnant? She sure looks it. How precious that she takes care of the kids when Mama Goat is out to pasture!
    Cute sweater. You are so wise (& handy-dandy) to line the straps. Love the hanging scallop edging!
    Great colors Suzie and Ruth chose for their boot cuffs. 🙂
    I can’t wait to see a pic of Olivia wearing her bunny outfit!
    I’m sure your friend’s sister will be thrilled with her handmade slippers, Tamara!
    Really liked this post!
    Warming Hugs from Kat

    • Hi Kat! I love that you said Hee-Haw. The donkey demonstrated those very words as she seen us head for the back door of Jarred’s house. Megan said that she had never heard or seen one in person and I loved that I was with her when she did. I always love reading your comments; they make me smile. Love and Hugs, Tamara

  6. Love the pics of Megan with the baby goats. I can see how she’s growing up since I first started seeing pictures of her. She’s getting taller and slimmer 🙂

    • Hi Jill, it’s so good to hear from you. I hope you are doing well. I know you must be so busy with all the shows that you are doing now that the weather is warmer there. Thanks so much for stopping and commenting. Love and Hugs, Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

