Posted by: tgonzales | November 9, 2015

My Week in Review November 1-8, 2015

Good Monday Morning to everyone! I have been busy the past few weeks with crocheting up people's orders. I was so happy when I got this photo of the little girl that I made a twisted cowl for. It's funny how photos of my actual creations on someone makes my heart happy.

Good Monday Morning to everyone! I have been busy the past few weeks with crocheting up people’s orders. I was so happy when I got this photo of the little girl that I made a twisted cowl for. It’s funny how photos of my actual creations on someone makes my heart happy.

Here's another satisfied customer. This is one of my co-workers who moved here from Houston, Texas and the winters here are very cold for him. I know he will stay nice and warm in his new hat.

Here’s another satisfied customer. This is one of my co-workers who moved here from Houston, Texas and the winters here are very cold for him. I know he will stay nice and warm in his new hat.

Here is a hat that I made for my brother-in-law. A couple of months ago he asked me if I had ever made a hat with cashmere wool and wondered if I would be interested in making him one. I told him of course I would love to make him a hat if he would just get me the yarn. Well, one day I came home from work and there was a bag of yarn with these three colors of wool yarn in it for me to make him a hat. The yarn was very small yarn so I held two strands of yarn together and I made him a fully lined cashmere and merino wool hat. I can't wait to see him in it. His birthday is right around the corner, so I will take some pictures of him as soon as I give it to him.

Here is a hat that I made for my brother-in-law. A couple of months ago he asked me if I had ever made a hat with cashmere wool and wondered if I would be interested in making him one. I told him of course I would love to make him a hat if he would just get me the yarn. Well, one day I came home from work and there was a bag of yarn with these three colors of wool yarn in it for me to make him a hat. The yarn was very small yarn so I held two strands of yarn together and I made him a fully lined cashmere and merino wool hat. I can’t wait to see him in it. His birthday is right around the corner, so I will take some pictures of him as soon as I give it to him.

I have also been busy making store models for Picket Fence Quilt Company. Here is a crocheted cabled cowl made from Cascade's Cherub DK. The pattern is a free pattern from Cascade's website. The class for the Cabled Cowl at Picket Fence will be January 13, 2015 from 6:00 pm-8:00 pm. Please call Picket Fence at (316) 558-8899 to reserve your spot. I will be teaching another Crocheted Cable Cowl class in Newton at Creation Station on November 21, 2015 from 10:30-12:30. The class cost is $35 that includes the beautiful Cascade Heritage Silk yarn. Call ahead to get your yarn wound before the class.

I have also been busy making store models for Picket Fence Quilt Company. Here is a crocheted cabled cowl made from Cascade’s Cherub DK. The pattern is a free pattern from Cascade’s website. The class for the Cabled Cowl at Picket Fence will be January 13, 2015 from 6:00 pm-8:00 pm. Please call Picket Fence at (316) 558-8899 to reserve your spot.
I will be teaching another Crocheted Cable Cowl class in Newton at Creation Station on November 21, 2015 from 10:30-12:30. The class cost is $35 that includes the beautiful Cascade Heritage Silk yarn. Call ahead to get your yarn wound before the class.

Here is one of the boot cuffs from my boot cuff class that I will be teaching this Saturday, November 14, 2015 from 10:00 - 12:00. These boot cuffs are fast and easy to make. Perfect for those last minute gifts for anyone who loves to wear boots. This class is also beginner friendly. Please call or visit Picket Fence to get your yarn wound.

Here is one of the boot cuffs from my boot cuff class that I will be teaching this Saturday, November 14, 2015 from 10:00 – 12:00. These boot cuffs are fast and easy to make. Perfect for those last minute gifts for anyone who loves to wear boots. This class is also beginner friendly. Please call or visit Picket Fence to get your yarn wound.

Saturday morning before I headed off to Newton I made these colorful slippers that were supposed to fit someone with a shoe size of 7 1/2. Well, these ended up big enough to fit someone with a shoe size between an 8 or 9. Oh well, back to the drawing board on that order.

Saturday morning before I headed off to Newton I made these colorful slippers that were supposed to fit someone with a shoe size of 7 1/2. Well, these ended up big enough to fit someone with a shoe size between an 8 or 9. Oh well, back to the drawing board on that order.

When I arrived at the Creation Station I found out that I would not be teaching the Crochet 101 class like I thought, so I looked around and of course I always love looking at Catherine's American Girl doll creations. She has lots of things for the American Girl Doll. She recently got in more shoes, boots, glasses, suitcases, and other fun accessories. Plus she sews some fun outfits for them as well as adding some crocheted jackets, hats, and ponchos.

When I arrived at the Creation Station I found out that I would not be teaching the Crochet 101 class like I thought, so I looked around and of course I always love looking at Catherine’s American Girl doll creations. She has lots of things for the American Girl Doll. She recently got in more shoes, boots, glasses, suitcases, and other fun accessories. Plus she sews some fun outfits for them as well as adding some crocheted jackets, hats, and ponchos.

Since I didn't have to teach, I sat and crocheted with this lovely yarn from James C Brett called Passion Chunky. I started and finished the twisted infinity cowl. I love the way the colors striped up and I loved that Catherine had this lovely yarn on her sale rack.

Since I didn’t have to teach, I sat and crocheted with this lovely yarn from James C Brett called Passion Chunky. I started and finished the twisted infinity cowl. I love the way the colors striped up and I loved that Catherine had this lovely yarn on her sale rack.

9

In the afternoon my students started arriving. Here's Kim...

In the afternoon my students started arriving. Here’s Kim…

Sherry....

Sherry….

and Susie.

and Susie.

It's always fun hanging out with these 3 lovely ladies and the best part of it was that I got teach them a few things that they didn't know how to do.

It’s always fun hanging out with these 3 lovely ladies and the best part of it was that I got to teach them a few things that they didn’t know how to do.

I couldn't resist taking a picture with the wall at the back of Catherine's store. I felt like I could be Where's Waldo, with my colorful shirt. LOL

I couldn’t resist taking a picture with the wall at the back of Catherine’s store. I felt like I could be Where’s Waldo, with my colorful shirt. LOL

Sunday my sister was coming over, so I decided to do a little something different with my hair. I liked the way it turned out and thought I would share it with you. All my life I have had very straight hair. My Mom always said, "you have no body to your hair." Which meant that it was hard to curl and stay curled. Ever since I got my hair cut really short I have been able to make a curl on the top of my head and also do this little wavy thing with it too.

Sunday my sister was coming over, so I decided to do a little something different with my hair. ย All my life I have had very straight hair. My Mom always said, “you have no body to your hair.” Which meant that it was hard to curl and never stayed curled. Ever since I got my hair cut really short I have been able to make a curl on the top of my head and canย do this little wavy thing with it. Which I like too.

Anyway, my sister arrived and as soon as she sat down she noticed that I had store bags of buttons stuffed into one another. If you know my sister she is one very organized lady (unlike me). So she asked if she could organize my buttons for me. I was so happy to oblige her, so while we sat and chatted she organized

Anyway, my sister arrived and as soon as she sat down she noticed that I had store bags of buttons stuffed into one another. If you know my sister she is one very organized lady (unlike me). So she asked if she could organize my buttons for me. I was so happy to oblige her, so while we sat and chatted she organized

my buttons and I crocheted a half of a sole of a Toot's crochet bootie. I loved that my sister wanted to come and visit me to spend some quality time here. I love her so much and couldn't imagine my life without her in it.

my buttons and I crocheted a half of a sole of a Toot’s crochet bootie. I loved that my sister wanted to come and visit me to spend some quality time here. I love her so much and couldn’t imagine my life without her in it.

After she left I took a much needed nap and when I got up I made the booties. Now I just have to trim them with the palest of pink and make a bonnet to go with them and I will have one more order complete. So what have you all been up to?

After she left I took a much needed nap and when I got up I made the booties. Now I just have to trim them with the palest of pink and make a bonnet to go with them and I will have one more order complete. So what have you all been up to?


Responses

  1. How cute!! Next time you are by that wall, get more of it behind you; let’s see all that color!!
    I love that Aunt Jackie came and helped you organize a bit. I miss you all. Wish I could gove you a giant hug!! Love you.
    the end.

    • Hello Chacho Aaron. I wanted to get more of the wall with me but I have such trouble judging with my selfie stick. ๐Ÿ™‚ As always I love it when you stop by to comment and I miss you so much as well. That hug is going to feel so good when we do get to see each other again. Love you too! the end.

  2. You are amazing with all the projects you are able to complete in addition to working full time. I need a nap after reading what all you have been doing! ๐Ÿ™‚ Beautiful projects!

    • Hi Jeanne! Thank you so much for always taking the time to stop by here and comment. It makes my day. I always love reading about what you are up to as well. Have a great day. Love and Hugs, Tamara.

  3. You sure do pack a lot of activities into your day, week, life. Thanks for sharing your life with us.

    • Hi Linda! Thank you so much for reading my blog and for stopping by to comment. I’m so glad that you like reading about my life. Hugs, Tamara

  4. You made me oooh & aaah yet again with such lovely works of art! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ I am currently reading & relaxing while wearing the slippers you made for me too. Thanks for sharing Tamara, I hope you have a fabulous week. xox

    • Hi Lisa! Awwww, thank you for loving my creations. Girl….I’m so glad that you are relaxing and wearing your slippers. You deserve a break, you work so hard and as always thanks for stopping by to comment. I know you know how much that means. Have a great day. Love and Hugs, Tamar

  5. Hi Tam!
    The twisted cowl looks *great* on the adorable little girl.
    I think your co-worker (from Texas) needs a scarf too!
    Love the cabled cowl!! Since you used DK weight instead of Fine, which size hook did you use? And did you chain 121?
    Hahaha!! “Where’s Waldo?” ๐Ÿ˜€
    Oh, I was hoping to see a front view of your wavy hair style. Looks great from the side!
    Nice to have a button-organizing sister! ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Great post!! … Love, Kat

    • Hello Kat! As always, thank you so much for loving my creations and my blog.

      Regarding my hook size on the cabled cowl made with DK weight yarn; I used the same G hook as I used with the fine yarn. It worked fine.

      As for my button-organizing sister, I need to get her over here to help me with my craft room. It has really gotten out of hand and I don’t even know where to start. Anyway, love you and I hope you have a great day. Tamara

      • Thanks for the hook info, Tamara.
        I’ll bet Jackie loves to organize stuff .. so just ask her for her help. You’ll be glad you did. heh-heh!

  6. I love seeing all your wonderful creations! And I LOVE your hair with the curls!! I’ve always had straight hair, so this made me happy! Looking forward to Crochet 2 at Picket Fence!!!

    • Hi Linda! Thank you so much for stopping by to comment. It makes my day. I’m looking forward to you taking my Crochet 102 class and seeing you again.


Leave a Reply

Categories

