Posted by: tgonzales | November 2, 2015

Reminiscing

Amy and Me

Someone asked me one day if I knew Amy Butler and I told them of course I know Amy Butler. I first met Amy in Salt Lake City, Utah when Jackie had a booth directly across from her at the Spring International Quilt Show. I was so impressed by her and her down-to-earth personality that I found myself talking to her that whole weekend while at the Quilt Show. When the show was ending I gave her a crocheted flower that I had made. She told me that she would keep it in a special display case in her home. I have not seen Amy since 2009 when this photo was taken, but we have kept in touch through social media. Amy is truly a dear person.

Drew and Me

I had the pleasure of running into Drew Emborsky the Crochet Dude at the 2009 International Quilt Market. I also met up with him a few more times when I was blogging for Leisure Arts crochet website called Crochet Soiree (no longer in existence). Yes I was famous for about a minute. LOL

Elizabeth and Pam

These are two sweet ladies that Jackie and I had the pleasure of meeting in Salt Lake City, Utah at the Spring International Quilt Show. As we were ending our stay in Houston in 2009 we ran into Pam and Elizabeth. I always enjoy Pam’s blog called Pam Kitty Morning and all of her lovely fabric and creations.

Mary Jane Butters and Me

The other day I was talking to my friends about Mary Jane Butter’s magazine and how creative this woman is. When I ran into her at the International Quilt Show in 2009 I just about fainted. I could hardly wait to find someone that would take our picture together. Mary Jane was very pleasant and it was so neat to actually meet her in person. You can read more about her story here.

DSCN4418

Here’s another one of my friends, Lisa Johnson of Picket Fence Quilt Company. I loved that we got to go on a bus tour together to some of the quilt shops in Houston and a real working ranch.

Waiting on Amy Butler

It was great hanging out with these two lovely ladies too and they both have been such an inspiration to me. Jackie Clark of Jackie Clark Designs and Stephanie; here we were waiting on Amy Butler to arrive, (funny thing happened right after this picture was taken, my necklace fell into about a million pieces). LOL

Me Leaving the Convention Center

Anyway, as I was leaving the market I stopped at Simplicity’s booth and when the Simplicity lady found out that I would be blogging for Crochet Soiree, they gave me an electric ball winder and a fabric cutting machine to try out. It was fun looking back on this trip with my sister and friends. I thought maybe you all might enjoy it too?


Responses

  1. Lovely memories!

    • Thank you Cathy! I love reading your blogposts as well. Sorry I haven’t had time to comment on any of them. Thanks for being here. Hugs, Tamara

  2. Love your blog about going down memory lane. You have a lot of great people in your life to make memories with. Busy week ahead for me. I’m helping with the bazaar at church this week and I also want to make a trip to Duncan to see a friend from high school. There were 5 girls in my graduating class and two of them have cancer so I feel its very important that we get together soon. I also plan to work at the shelter one day this week. There is not enough days in my week. Love you girl. sw

    • Hi Sue! Wow, you do have a very busy week. I always love hearing about what you have been up to and the things that keep you busy. Love you Cuz!

  3. This is really sweet. You all need to go to another one of these shows. It looks like you were having the time of your life. :] I love you. The end!

    • Hi Chacho Aaron! Yes, we were having fun. Thanks for being here. Love you too! Momma

  4. Tamara,
    I love your hair in these pictures. Did you get to see any of Salt Lake? There’s a lot of history in that town too.
    Kaye

    • Hi Kaye! We did get to go to a few of the quilt shops in the area and the scenery of the mountains were spectacular. Unfortunately when you are a vendor at the quilt show there is not much time for anything else. Thanks so much for stopping by. Love and Hugs, Tamara

  5. Thanks for this pleasant walk .. down your Memory Lane.
    I really like your hair in these photos!
    I also like your colorful top — that quite matches your crocheted bag. 🙂
    Happy November!
    Love & Smiles, Kat

    • Thanks Kat for walking down memory lane with me. And as for the hair, it was cute but it was also a lot of maintenance. Thank you so much for reading my blog and for always being here to comment. Love you my friend, Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

