Posted by: tgonzales | September 3, 2015

Just Dropping By to Share with you a Few Kansas Barn Sale Items and Life

I'm not going to lie; this post is going to be flooded with a few life photos and some of my recent creations. I was fortunate to have my brother Terry, my sister-in-law Cathy, and two of their children (Sarah and Zach) along with their families (Tom, Jessica, Syrus, and Baby Etta) come over to my house about a month ago.

I’m not going to lie; this post is going to be flooded with a few life photos and some of my recent creations. I was fortunate to have my brother Terry, my sister-in-law Cathy, and two of their children (Sarah and Zach) along with their families (Tom, Jessica, Syrus, and Baby Etta) come over to my house about a month ago.

The visit was very special since Zach lives in North Dakota and him and his wife had recently had a baby girl. Her name is Etta Free.

The visit was very special since Zach lives in North Dakota and him and his wife had recently had a baby girl. Her name is Etta Free.

I love this picture of Syrus with Zach (my nephew).

I love this picture of Syrus with Zach (my nephew).

I sure enjoyed their short visit and I could have watched this little boy all night. He was such a hoot. He played on the stairs and wore a crocheted basket on his head most of the evening. It reminded me of Joshua when he was this age; making us laugh.

I sure enjoyed their short visit and I could have watched this little boy all night. He was such a hoot. He played on the stairs and wore a crocheted basket on his head most of the evening. It reminded me of Joshua when he was this age; making us laugh.

Jennifer got to stop by to get her baby fix. Jennifer has a way of calming babies down and Etta was no different. Jennifer inherited my Mothers calmness with babies. ;)

Jennifer got to stop by to get her baby fix. Jennifer has a way of calming babies down and Etta was no different. Jennifer inherited my Mothers calmness with babies. 😉

I loved having Terry and his family over and I hope they come back soon. I have so much more to share with you all about what has happened in the last 6 weeks, but that will be a later post.

I loved having Terry and his family over and I hope they come back soon. I have so much more to share with you all about what has happened in the last 6 weeks, but that will be a later post.

I got myself a new hairdo

I got myself a new hairdo

and I am loving the ease of it.

and I am loving the ease of it.

Our garden is producing lots of okra and cucumbers now. We are getting a few tomatoes and fewer peppers than we had hoped for. But John and I are always thrilled with whatever grows and produces.

Our garden is producing lots of okra and cucumbers now. We are getting a few tomatoes and fewer peppers than we had hoped for. But John and I are always thrilled with whatever grows and produces.

Here we go with the crochet; I made a long infinity scarf and loved how it looked all rolled up. I have a wire shelf that John will be painting for me and I think the scarves will look cool all rolled up on it.

Here we go with the crochet; I made a long infinity scarf and loved how it looked all rolled up. I have a wire shelf that John will be painting for me and I think the scarves will look cool all rolled up on it.

Two weekends ago I was fortunate to go on a crafting retreat and I rescued this sweater on one of our outings to town. (Etcetera Shop in Newton, more about that later) Anyway, I thought it needed some granny squares along the bottom to give it some more length.

Two weekends ago I was fortunate to go on a crafting retreat and I rescued this sweater on one of our outings to town. (Etcetera Shop in Newton, more about that later) Anyway, I thought it needed some granny squares along the bottom to give it some more length.

I loved how it turned out.

I loved how it turned out.

I especially love how I thought enough to make the sides split for extra width around the waist or hips.

I especially love how I thought enough to make the sides split for extra width around the waist or hips.

I love how this poncho turned out too. I purchased the Debra Norville Everyday Chunky yarn at Catherine's Creation Station Yarn shop in Newton on a Friday and started it around 7:00 pm and had it made by 10:00 pm. I love how quickly this pattern works up. It is a Red Heart Free Pattern. You can find it here.

I love how this poncho turned out too. I purchased the Debra Norville Everyday Chunky yarn at Catherine’s Creation Station Yarn shop in Newton on a Friday and started it around 7:00 pm and had it made by 10:00 pm. I love how quickly this pattern works up. It is a Red Heart Free Pattern. You can find it here.

Here's a headband that I made with the leftover yarn made from the poncho and since taking this picture I made another 7 headbands of all different colors. I'm waiting to photograph them on my new turning pegboard display case that John is painting for me.

Here’s a headband that I made with the leftover yarn made from the poncho and since taking this picture I made another 7 headbands of all different colors. I’m waiting to photograph them on my new turning pegboard display case that John is painting for me.

This is the infinity scarf that I showed earlier. I hope someone loves it as much as I loved making it.

This is the infinity scarf that I showed earlier. I hope someone loves it as much as I loved making it.

I finally finished my owl family of four. These will be with me at the Kansas Barn Sale.

I finally finished my owl family of four. These will be with me at the Kansas Barn Sale.

Here's another crocheted yoke tutu. It should fit about a four year old.

Here’s another crocheted yoke tutu. It should fit about a four year old.

I love the way it turned out with the pink top and the steel gray bottom.

I love the way it turned out with the pink top and the steel gray bottom.

Lots of American Girl doll accessories are being made here for the Kansas Barn Sale.

Lots of American Girl doll accessories are being made here for the Kansas Barn Sale.

I do enjoy making these.

I do enjoy making these.

The sweater and hat sets are so much fun to make.

The sweater and hat sets are so much fun to make.

And I love the way I can make a scarf out of the left over yarn from almost every skein of yarn.

And I love the way I can make a scarf out of the left over yarn from almost every skein of yarn.

Of course I had to try my hand at an infinity scarf for the doll too.

Of course I had to try my hand at an infinity scarf for the doll too.

The ponchos and hats are so much fun to make, because I love picking out the color of fringe and adding the little flower with a button makes me happy as well.

The ponchos and hats are so much fun to make, because I love picking out the color of fringe and adding the little flower with a button makes me happy as well.

I really like the way this set turned out since it is one of my favorite colors.

I really like the way this set turned out since it is one of my favorite colors.

Of course this one is one of my favorites too. As you all know purple and me go way back.

Of course this one is one of my favorites too. As you all know purple and me go way back.

I have to admit the slippers are one of my favorites too and I was so happy with myself since I remembered to write down the pattern as I went. :)

I have to admit the slippers are one of my favorites too and I was so happy with myself since I remembered to write down the pattern as I went. 🙂

I will be coming up with more creations for the Barn Sale as the time comes closer and closer and will post them as I can.

I will be coming up with more creations for the Barn Sale as the time comes closer and closer and will post them as I can.

I will leave you with this photo of my rose moss that I can see from my kitchen window (thinking of Mom and her rose moss that she always grew on her back deck). I love how the petals have a mixture of pink and white. I hope everyone has a pink and white rose moss kind of day. Love you all!

I will leave you with this photo of my rose moss that I can see from my kitchen window (thinking of Mom and her rose moss that she always grew on her back deck). I love how the petals have a mixture of pink and white. I hope everyone has a pink and white rose moss kind of day. Love you all!


Responses

  1. Happy to see a post from you, Tamara. Sounds like life has been good and productive for you. Lots of nice crocheted items for that sale are being made. Thanks for sharing!

    • Hi Jeanne! Thanks for always being here to read my ramblings and for loving my things. Love and Hugs, Tamara

  2. You have been busy, little bee. I love the granny square sweater reveal. Lovely work, Tamara – and I like the new do.

    • Hi Steph! Thanks so much for stopping by to comment. It always means a lot. Love and Hugs, Tamara

  3. Tamara,
    I always look for your Blog – it’s been a long time, but I know you are busy. Terry looks good, I hope his health has been better. All your crocheted articles are just so pretty. You’ve given me the bug to get an 18″ doll. See you at Guild!
    Kaye

    • Hi Kaye! Thanks so much for loving my blog and for being so patient with me. I love that you have the bug too. I can’t wait to see what you come up with for your doll. 🙂 Love, Tamara

  4. Oh Tammy I have missed your blog and finding out how the family is doing. I miss all my cousins so much. Terry is looking good and I know he is a good grandpa. Love the new hairstyle. You wear it well. Your crochet is beautiful as usual I especially like the pink sweater. The fresh vegetables are awesome. We had to mow our garden because of all the rain that we had earlier in the summer. The weeds were just out of control and the garden was too wet to get in it. Oh well there is still next year. Love you much girl.

    • Hi Sue! Thank you so much for loving my blog and the things that I make! I’m so sorry to hear about your garden, I know how hard Jerald works to make his garden grow. There’s always next year. Love you too! Tamara

  5. WOW, Great to hear from you Tamara! Love the fam photos. What a beautiful babe!!! Your crochet is always A -Mazing!!! Love the doll clothes and as always those Darling little girl toule dresses! Cheers!! xo

    • Hi Rosa! Thanks so much for stopping by to comment and for loving the pictures and the things that I create. Have a great weekend. Love and Hugs, Tamara

  6. Hi Tam! Glad to hear you’ve had extra time with family members.
    Your “new do” … going for a female version of Trump? 😀
    Love all your crochet …. the hats & scarves for the American Girl doll are to die for … or, rather, to *pay* for at the Barn Sale **next month**!! 😉 I think those will sell like hotcakes.
    We haven’t gotten as many tomatoes as usual this year. I’m surprised since it was such a hot summer, and we kept them plenty watered & fertilized. The cherry tomatoes haven’t disappointed at all. Yum!!
    Happy Crocheting!!
    Love ‘n Smiles ~ Kat

    • Hi Kat! I love your comment about my hair (it made me laugh out loud)! Thanks so much for loving the things that I have made. Sorry to hear that your tomatoes aren’t doing well either. My Tami G. plant is still producing those little grape tomatoes too. Love and Hugs, Tamara

      • Oh Tammy, I’m sooo glad you LOL’d at my Trump comment. I was a bit leery of saying it, fearing it would offend you. Glad *that* did not happen!!! Have a SUPERB LOOOONG WEEKEND!!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

