Posted by: tgonzales | July 20, 2015

July 13-19, 2015 Week; More Crochet things for the Kansas Barn Sale, Crochet 101 Class, Spending time with Family and Friends

Hello! I want to reassure each and every one of you that comment here that I read every one of your comments. I am so sorry that I haven't had time to answer each one of you like I usually do. Last week flew by quickly. I started off the week with winding this lovely yarn that my sister-in-law Andrea gave to me a couple of years ago. She goes to New Mexico every year and loves to find unique things to bring back to me. This wool is a very interesting texture. Of course it is 100% wool and was spun by the person on the label. Even though I know I need to be working on hats for the Kansas Barn Sale. I couldn't help starting a project with two strands of this yarn. More to come on that.

Hello! I want to reassure each and every one of you that comment here that I read every one of your comments. I am so sorry that I haven’t had time to answer each one of you like I usually do. Last week flew by quickly. I started off the week with winding this lovely yarn that my sister-in-law Andrea gave to me a couple of years ago. She goes to New Mexico every year and loves to find unique things to bring back to me. This wool is a very interesting texture. Of course it is 100% wool and was spun by the person on the label. Even though I know I need to be working on hats for the Kansas Barn Sale. I couldn’t help starting a project with two strands of this yarn. More to come on that.

Here is a basket that I made with the Cascade 220 that I had left from the hat and mitts that I made the prior week. I held both the turquoise and pink together and then when I ran out of pink I held two turquoises together. I used every bit of the yarn too. I love the way it turned out. The seam from joining doesn't even bother me.

Here is a basket that I made with the Cascade 220 that I had left from the hat and mitts that I made the prior week. I held both the turquoise and pink together and then when I ran out of pink I held two turquoises together. I used every bit of the yarn too. I really like the way it turned out. The joining seam doesn’t even bother me.

On Wednesday I taught three more people to crochet. One of these lovely ladies already knows how to crochet but wanted to be there for her friend.

On Wednesday I taught three more people to crochet. One of these lovely ladies already knows how to crochet but wanted to be there for her friend.

I love that Lisa, the owner of Picket Fence Quilt Company is always eager to work on one of her many projects that she has going, while waiting for me to teach my classes. Thank you Lisa for allowing me to teach my love for crochet.

I love that Lisa, the owner of Picket Fence Quilt Company is always eager to work on one of her many projects that she has going, while waiting for me to teach my classes. Thank you Lisa for allowing me to teach my love of crochet.

On Thursday night I had my nails done again. This time I chose dark purple and Ms. Liley gave them just the hint of sparkle. I love the way Ms. Liley pampers me.

On Thursday night I had my nails done again. This time I chose dark purple and Ms. Liley gave them just the hint of sparkle. Ms. Liley takes such good care of my nails.

Since I had no time to cook on Thursday, John suggested that we try Marco's pizza. Wow...I loved their pizza and we plan on having it again sometime soon.

Since I had no time to cook on Thursday, John suggested that we try Marco’s pizza. Wow…I loved their pizza and we plan on having it again some time soon.

On Friday night we went to dinner with our dear friends Korey, Susie, and Korey's sister Sarah. I just love that Susie shares her love for crochet with the streets of Wichita. :)

On Friday night we went to dinner with our dear friends Korey, Susie, and Korey’s sister Sarah. This is Susie’s tire cover, I have to smile every time I see this lovely creation. I  love that Susie shares her love for crochet with the streets of Wichita. 🙂

John is so proud of his first cucumber of the season. John has never grown cucumbers before and he was so excited to see that the vines are already producing. He's so funny, he asked me to take his picture with his first cucumber.

John is so proud of his first cucumber of the season. John has never grown cucumbers before and he was so excited to see that the vines are already producing. He’s so funny, he asked me to take this picture with his first cucumber.

Friday night I also dropped off the Ups and Downs Slouchy hat and fingerless mitts to Picket Fence so that Lisa can advertise my upcoming class on August 12 and 19 from 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm. I made these from Liberty Wool yarn and I love the way they turned out.

Friday night I also dropped off the Ups and Downs Slouchy hat and fingerless mitts to Picket Fence so that Lisa can advertise my upcoming class on August 12 and 19 from 6:00 pm – 8:00 pm. I made these from Liberty Wool yarn and I love the way they turned out.

Saturday morning Jennifer, Megan, Jackie, Angie, and me decided to go to Oklahoma for the day. On Wednesday we got scary news about my cousin Brynda (who has brain cancer) who had taken a turn for the worse. Brynda started having seizures and was taken to Oklahoma City where they sedated her until they could get the seizures under control. Brynda came out of the sedation and was allowed to come home on Friday but was told to stay in and rest.

Saturday morning Jennifer, Megan, Jackie, Angie, and me decided to go to Oklahoma for the day. On Wednesday we got scary news about my cousin Brynda (who has brain cancer) how she had taken a turn for the worse. Brynda started having seizures and was taken to Oklahoma City where they sedated her until they could get the seizures under control. Brynda came out of the sedation and was doing so much better, they allowed her to come home on Friday, but they were told to keep her in and for her to get plenty of rest.

Megan was very excited to go to Oklahoma and I couldn't resist having John take some pictures of us as we waited on Jackie and Angie to arrive.

Megan was very excited to go to Oklahoma and I couldn’t resist having John take some pictures of us as we waited on Jackie and Angie to arrive.

It's so funny to watch Megan and John hug. Megan doesn't really hug, she just leans in to you.

It’s so funny to watch Megan and John hug. Megan doesn’t really hug, she just leans in to whoever she is supposed to be hugging.

I love the way she looks here and I love the way that it looks like she is actually hugging him. But in actuality John grabbed her arm and placed it around him.

I love the way she looks here and the way that it looks like she is actually hugging him. But in actuality John grabbed her arm and placed it around him.

I had such a good time taking pictures with Megan and Jennifer, because Megan was cooperating and playing along.

I had such a good time taking pictures with Megan and Jennifer. I loved that Megan was cooperating and playing along.

I love that Megan allowed John to take some photos of her by herself which is a rare thing.

These are rare moments when she allows us to photograph her and I cherish every one of these.

I especially love this picture of all of us.

John was so sweet to get up early to be able to take pictures of us.

I treasure the moments that I have with my sister.

I treasure the moments that I have with my sister, and Saturday was no different.

Before heading out of town we decided to stop and have breakfast at Village Inn. I couldn't resist taking this picture of my Megan as she stared down at her Mickey Mouse pancakes.

Before heading out of town we decided to stop and have breakfast at Village Inn. I couldn’t resist taking this picture of my Megan as she stared down at her Mickey Mouse pancakes. It’s hard to believe in just a few months she will be 13 years old. Where has the time gone?

And we are off.

And we are off.

This is the best that I could do to get all of us in one picture. So funny!

This is the best that I could do to get all of us in one picture. So funny!

Of course we loved up on our Aunt Marthie, who reminded us so much of our dear Mom.

Of course when we arrived at Aunt Marthies’ house we loved up on her.

There were several times when Aunt Marthie said something, we all agreed that it sounded just like Mom.

There were several times when Aunt Marthie talked and just the way she said something reminded us of our Mom and Grandma Kingery.

I felt Mom's presence all around us on Saturday. Aunt Marthie's home was where my Mom went to visit and stayed there when she went back home to Oklahoma.

I felt Mom’s presence all around us on Saturday. Aunt Marthie’s home was where my Mom always loved to stay when she would visit her Oklahoma roots.

We all loaded up the car and went to have lunch at Brynda and Adam's house. I know I was very pleased that Brynda knew each and every one of us by name. From our own experiences with stroke (my Dad) and Alzheimer's (my Mom) they both effect the brain. As with Brynda and her brain surgery and now the seizures and swelling of her brain that we were aware that we would only stay for a short time. So after we ate and the girls cleaned up the kitchen we left to go back to Aunt Marthies for the rest of the afternoon.

We all loaded up the car and went to have lunch at Brynda and Adam’s house. I know I was very pleased that Brynda knew each and every one of us by name. From our own experiences with stroke (my Dad) and Alzheimer’s (my Mom) they both effect the brain, we were very unsure of how we would find her. As with Brynda and her brain surgery and now the seizures and swelling of her brain, we already knew that we would only stay for a short time. So after we ate and the girls cleaned up the kitchen we left to go back to Aunt Marthies for the rest of the afternoon.

As we sat talking, Jackie heard a bird chirping in Aunt Marthie's garage.

As we sat talking, Jackie heard a bird chirping in Aunt Marthie’s garage.

Sure enough there was a baby bird inside the garage and was having trouble finding its way out.

Sure enough there was a baby bird inside the garage and was having trouble finding its way out.

Jennifer and Angie knowing how much my Aunt detests birds wanted to help the bird get out of the garage. They went out a couple of times and the last time were armed with broom, dustpan, and a tupperware container with a lid.

Jennifer and Angie knowing how much their Aunt detests birds wanted to help the bird get out of the garage. They made a couple of attempts to help the bird escape only to have it hide from them. The last time they went out I followed and took pictures of the rescue. Angie was armed with a broom and dustpan. Jennifer had a Tupperware container with a lid.

Jennifer was able to scoop the bird up in the container and here is the release. It was so funny because she finally had to turn the container upside down to drop the little guy out.

Jennifer was able to scoop the bird up in the container and with some dramatic gestures; here is the release. It was so funny to watch them. Jennifer finally had to turn the container upside down to drop the little guy out.

All the commotion over such a tiny little thing. After this picture it flew up and into one of the sheds.

All the commotion over such a tiny little thing. After this picture was taken the bird flew up and into one of the sheds.

Here are Angie and Jennifer in a couple of my cousin Russell's old masks. We had been reminiscing about Mom and how she liked to scare us. The girls decided to scare one of their mothers, so they chose Jackie. They hid behind the door in one of Aunt Marthie's bedrooms and hollered to Jackie, come see this quilt. When she came into the room they jumped from behind the door with these masks on. I think Jennifer and Angie were channeling our Mom. We had some laughs, cried a little bit, and made some good memories. I know we will continue to make more.

We had been reminiscing about Mom and how she liked to scare us. The girls decided to scare Jackie. They hid behind the door in one of Aunt Marthie’s bedrooms and hollered to her to come and see a quilt. When Jackie came into the room the girls jumped from behind the door with these masks on. I think Jennifer and Angie were channeling our Mom. We had some laughs, we cried a little bit, and made some good memories. Our day trip to Oklahoma was a success.

When I arrived home my sister-in-law and brother-in-law came by and picked us up to take us out to eat.

When I arrived home my sister-in-law and brother-in-law came by and picked us up to take us out for dinner .

John and I were backseat cruising. We were going to go to Logan's Steakhouse but the line was outside, so we went to Magic Wok and had Chinese. I love spending time with our family and this weekend was filled with that.

John and I were backseat cruising. Our plans were to go to one of the steakhouses but when we arrived the waiting line was out the door. So we decided to have Chinese food, so we went to Magic Wok. We had a great meal and conversation and ended the night.

On Sunday morning I decided to go out and check the cucumbers. Wow, what a harvest for one day.

On Sunday morning I decided to go out and check the cucumbers. Wow, what a harvest for one day.

John decided that he would eat the very first cucumber from our garden.

John decided that he would eat the very first cucumber from our garden.

Of course please do not attempt this at home. You should never stick a knife in your mouth.

Please, Please, Please! Do not attempt this at home. No one should ever stick a knife in their mouth like John does.

Anyway, onto a few more crochet items before I wrap the week up. Here is one of the Bridget's Cradles that our guild is working on for charity. I feel honored to be working on such a much needed charity as Bridget's Cradles along with a very special lady who has written a crochet pattern just for Bridget's Cradles crochet volunteers to use. I know how hard it is to write directions and on top of that making sure that the measurements meet the criteria of the charity groups needs. I appreciate Catherine and her hard work on the crochet version of Bridget's Cradles. If you want to know how to get involved in this special charity you can read all about it here.

Anyway, onto a few more crochet items before I wrap the week up. Here is one of the Bridget’s Cradles that our guild is working on for charity. I feel honored to be working on such a much needed charity as Bridget’s Cradles along with a very special lady who has written a crochet pattern just for Bridget’s Cradles crochet volunteers to use. I know how hard it is to write directions and on top of that making sure that the measurements meet the criteria of the charity groups needs. I appreciate Catherine and her hard work on the crochet version of Bridget’s Cradles. Thank you so much for writing the pattern. If you want to learn how to get involved in this special charity you can read all about it here.

Here is more of the colorful yarn that I talked about in my last post, made up into the last two hats from the colorful yarn. Even though the colors are not my favorite I still think someone will love them as much as I did making them.

Here is more of the colorful yarn that I talked about in my last post, made up into the last two hats from the colorful yarn. Even though the colors are not my favorite I still think someone will love them as much as I did making them.

And last but not least a headband earwarmer made from the last part of the leftover Liberty Wool that I made the Ups and Downs Slouchy Hat and Fingerless Mitts. I have it on good authority that I should make plenty of the headband/earwarmers. Jill from South Africa told me that they are a good seller at her craft shows. Well, I hope that your weekend was filled with all that you love and I would love to hear all about it. Happy Monday to you.

And last but not least a headband/earwarmer made from the last part of the leftover Liberty Wool that I made the Ups and Downs Slouchy Hat and Fingerless Mitts. I have it on good authority that I should make plenty of headband/earwarmers. 😉 Well, I hope that your weekend was filled with all that you love and I can’t wait to hear all about it. Happy Monday to you all.


Responses

  1. You always have so much fun and are so creative!  I just love everything about you. Yep u r perfect!!♡

    Sent via the Samsung GALAXY S®4, an AT&T 4G LTE smartphone

  2. Lots of adventures for you this week. I can’t imagine how long it must take you to pull together one of these posts with all the photos and the chatting like we are hanging out together. I sure enjoy them. And I was very impressed with that spare tire cover! It’s beautiful. Your work is beautiful, too, but that cover was very unexpected. All of your adventures sound grand and your granddaughter is looking more and more grown up, that is for sure! Thank you for sharing! Oh and congrats to your husband on a successful effort growing cucumbers! 🙂

  3. Hi Tam!
    Gorgeous wool yarn from Mexico — can’t wait to see what you create.
    Lovely little basket!
    Yaaayyyy!!! Deep violet nailpolish!! I’m still loving mine so much. Have gotten this color 3 times in a row. Love the glitter polish she put over it last time — it has blue & hot-pink sparkles.
    Oh how I love that crocheted tire cover!
    I’m so envious of those homegrown cucumbers! I grew some decades ago. I ought to find a spot to grow them next year. SO GOOD!!!
    I’m glad you took that trip to OK and got to see Brynda. So hard.
    I know how special those pics of Megan are, so I’m pleased she cooperated. LOL
    I can’t believe your Aunt Marties *detests birds*. I don’t know why anyone would detest birds .. except maybe annoying crows or woodpeckers making noise near or on your roof!! 😉
    Those are a couple of awfully ugly masks!!
    I wonder how many headband/ear-warmers you will have in the barn sale. Hope you sell a lot!
    Wishing you a good work week, dear Tamara, and sending my love.
    Kat

  4. Looks like a fun filled week for you. Love the pink and tourq basket-but I love anything you do. Glad you got to go see Brynda. I have cried for Brynda so many times. She is a strong lady and always comes through. Love her very much. The pictures of Megan are very cute. She is growing up too quickly. Good pictures of John and his cucumbers. He really like gardening doesn’t he? The girls in the masks are funny. My Mom did that many times and always had fun with whoever was on the other end of the joke. Love you girl. sw

  5. I very much enjoy your blog!!! I’ll be checking in regularly! I hope to see you soon; you are a GREAT teacher!


Leave a Reply

Categories

