Posted by: tgonzales | July 6, 2015

June 29-July 5, 2015; Food, Family, More Purple Hats, Slouchy Hats, Crocheting for a Good Cause, 2 Scarves, and Upcoming Classes

I just had to share this picture of our dinner from last Sunday. After we visited the Farmer's Market I so enjoyed cooking some of the fresh foods that my Mom would make in the summer time. When the new potatoes would be ready to harvest she would sometimes make them creamed with early peas. I always loved the way they tasted so fresh and new.

I just had to share this picture of our dinner from last Sunday. After we visited the Farmer’s Market I so enjoyed cooking some of the fresh foods that my Mom would make in the summer time. When the new potatoes would be ready to harvest she would sometimes make them creamed with early peas. I always loved the way they tasted so fresh and earthy.

As I was scraping the potatoes (as Mom always did, she always said not to peel them, but just scrape them) which takes forever by the way. And sometimes she would cut them in two and fry them in the skillet or just throw them in a pan of boiling water with the peeling on them. I remember Mom saying, "I didn't feel like scraping them, so we are going to have them with their jackets on." Makes me smile to remember how she said that.

As I was scraping the potatoes (as Mom always did, I remember her telling me not to peel them, but just scrape them) which takes forever by the way. Some other ways that Mom would prepare the new potatoes would be to cut them in two and fry them in the skillet or just throw them in a pan of boiling water with the peeling on them. I remember Mom saying, “I didn’t feel like scraping them, so we are going to have them with their jackets on.” Makes me smile to remember how she said that. As I was peeling and cutting up the turnips, I remembered my Dad sitting on the back porch with a huge bucket of turnips sitting beside of him. He had the salt shaker sitting next to him as he used his pocketknife to peel one of the turnips. I can see it as plain as day as he extended his hand out with a nice slice of turnip between his finger and the blade, as he told me to add a little salt to make it better. 🙂 Oh how I miss that man and his pocketknife.

I have some sad news to share with you. Friday, June 26, 2015, one of my fellow crocheters succumbed to depression and ended her young life. Her name was Marinke but went by Wink. She was very well known in the crochet community; writing her blog, patterns, and creating beautiful things. One of the things that I remember the most was her beautiful mandalas that were featured in a few issues of Simply Crochet magazine.

I have some sad news to share with you. Friday, June 26, 2015, one of my fellow crocheters succumbed to depression and ended her young life. Her name was Marinke but went by Wink. She was very well known in the crochet community; writing her blog, patterns, and creating beautiful things. One of the things that I remember the most was her beautiful mandalas that were featured in a few issues of Simply Crochet magazine.

My friend Kathryn Vercillo with Crochet Concupiscence is organizing a project called MandalasForMarinke, you can read about it here.

My friend Kathryn Vercillo with Crochet Concupiscence is organizing a project called MandalasForMarinke, you can read about it here.

I will be contributing these 4 mandalas to the MandalasForMarinke

I will be contributing these 4 mandalas to the MandalasForMarinke project

to celebrate Winks life and to help bring awareness about depression. This subject hit close to home as one of John's great nephews ended is young life of 15 on the same day that Wink ended her life. I am looking forward to see the love that will pour in to the wonderful project that Kathryn is organizing and I am proud to be a part of it.

to celebrate Winks life and to help bring awareness about depression. This subject hit close to home as one of John’s great nephews ended is young life of 15 on the same day that Wink ended her life. I am looking forward to seeing the love that will pour into the wonderful project that Kathryn is organizing and I am proud to be a part of it.

On a happier note my four o'clocks have grown rather tall this year and

On a happier note my four o’clocks have grown rather tall this year and

they seem to be more fragrant this year as well. I love to look at them up close like this and check out the little stamens.

they seem to be more fragrant as well. I love to look at them up close like this and check out the little stamens.

Thursday night John and I went to the Monarch Bar and Grill for dinner.

Thursday night John and I went to the Monarch Bar and Grill for dinner.

We sat on the patio and enjoyed the unusually cool evening to eat. I had my favorite sandwich is the Monarch brisket sandwich with their homemade barbecue chips. Yummy!

We sat on the patio and enjoyed the unusually cool evening to eat. I had my favorite sandwich for my meal, it’s the Monarch brisket sandwich that has a light horseradish sauce and I always get their homemade barbecue chips. Yummy!

Friday night, John and I joined his brother Pete (here from Connecticut), sisters Ricci, Andrea, and their spouses CW and Pat for dinner at the Outback. Here we are waiting at the bar for the rest of the crew to arrive. :)

Friday night, John and I joined his brother Pete (here from Connecticut), sisters Ricci, Andrea, and their spouses CW and Pat for dinner at the Outback. Here we are waiting at the bar for the rest of the crew to arrive. 🙂 I got a kick out of meeting one of my crochet students, Becki in front of the restaurant. As we seen each other and hugged, she said I was just thinking about you and wanted to tell you that I”M READY TO MAKE SOMETHING CROCHET. I smiled and said, OK, Let’s do. Becki will be joining me in my class this Wednesday as I teach some lovely people to crochet around the edge of washcloths. I just love running into my crochet people when I’m out and about.

Saturday morning I went to the grocery store to get fixings for my famous tacos, rice, and Pico de Gallo.

Saturday morning I went to the grocery store to get fixings for my famous tacos, rice, and Pico de Gallo.

I arrived back home, started the meat simmering and then....

I arrived back home, started the meat simmering and then….

headed to Hancock's to take advantage of their sale where their buttons were 40% off.

headed to Hancock’s to take advantage of their sale where their buttons were 40% off.

I was so happy that my friend Donna was at the lake and I had no competition picking out my bag of buttons. LOL

I was so happy that my friend Donna was at the lake and I had no competition picking out my bag of buttons. LOL

I worked all day on making 49 tacos, 4 pans of Mexican rice, and a jar of salsa.

I worked all day on making 49 tacos, 4 pans of Mexican rice, and a jar of pico de gallo.

I had just enough time to take a shower after frying the tacos before heading to the family get together,

I had just enough time to take a shower after frying the tacos before heading to the family get together,

at my sister-in-law and brother-in-laws house.

at my sister-in-law and brother-in-laws house.

Here's John's sister Andrea finishing up her famous enchiladas.

Here’s John’s sister Andrea finishing up her famous enchiladas.

Then the family started arriving. Cousins, Rebecca and Margaret arrived, it's always nice to see them. They remind me of my Grandma Kingery and my Aunt Erma.

Then the family started arriving. Cousins, Rebecca and Margaret arrived, it’s always nice to see them. They remind me of my Grandma Kingery and my Aunt Erma.

John and niece Patricia.

John and niece Patricia.

Pete and Ricci.

Pete and Ricci.

Breaking bread.

Breaking bread or in this case, tortillas. 🙂

La Familia: John and his sisters, brother, and cousins.

La Familia: John and his sisters, brother, and cousins.

I tell you what these two are so funny when they get together.

I tell you what these two are so funny when they get together.

One is very quiet and the other one is very outspoken. But when they start in, you never know what either one of them are going to come up with. Ornery but sweet.

One is very quiet and the other one is very outspoken. But when they start in, you never know what either one of them are going to come up with. Ornery but sweet.

I bet you thought that I didn't get much crocheting done, right? Well, in between working and spending time with family I had time to make this infinity scarf. It made up fast with Lion Brand Super Bulky Thick and Quick Homespun Coral Stripes.

I bet you thought that I didn’t get much crocheting done, right? Well, in between working and spending time with family I had time to make this infinity scarf. It made up fast with Lion Brand Super Bulky Thick and Quick Homespun Coral Stripes.

Then I made this infinity scarf from Deborah Norville's Serenity Chunky in Raven (black).

Then I made this infinity scarf from Deborah Norville’s Serenity Chunky in Raven (black).

I made another slouchy hat with a little pom pom from Heidi May's pattern called Emileigh Slouchy.

I made another slouchy hat with a little pom pom from Heidi May’s pattern called Emileigh Slouchy.

Another Ups and Downs Slouchy hat with matching fingerless mitts.

Another Ups and Downs Slouchy hat with matching fingerless mitts.

And last but not least here's 8 more purple hats; and when added to the other purple hats I made I have a grand total so far of 38. I hope to have more to add to that number before the upcoming July 20th KS My Stitch crochet guild meeting. :)

And last but not least here’s 8 more purple hats; and when added to the other purple hats I made I have a grand total so far of 38. I hope to have more to add to that number before the upcoming July 20th KS My Stitch crochet guild meeting. 🙂

Before I forget, here is when and where my upcoming classes are being held:

Picket Fence Quilt Company

7011 W. Central Suite 129

Wichita, Kansas

(316) 558-8899

Crochet Edgings

July 8, 2015

6:00 pm – 8:00 pm

Crochet 101

July 15 and 22, 2015

6:00 pm – 8:00 pm

Crochet on the Double

August 5, 2015

6:00 pm – 8:00 pm

Creation Station

605 N. Main St.

Newton, Kansas

(316) 772-0883

Moogly’s Ups and Downs Slouchy Hat and Fingerless Mitts

July 25 and August 1, 2015

1:30 pm – 3:30 pm

Sweater Class

First Session: July 25, August 8, and 22

Second Session: August 1, 15, and 29

Extra Day for anyone needing extra help on September 12

10:30 am – 12:30 pm

Crochet 102

August 15

1:30 pm – 3:30 pm


Responses

  1. Oh my goodness, you’ve been busy! A good busy! Thanks for sharing all that you share. I am saddened about that crocheter’s passing. I think I remember seeing an article about her in a magazine not so very long ago. So, so sad! I hope she is at peace now. Your Four O’clocks look amazing and what a lovely family party. Your crochet work looks fabulous. I still don’t know how you get all that done in the short amount of time it looks like you have to crochet. You sure are dedicated. 🙂

  2. Nope, don’t see the class for the UK in that list. All that crochet and food, and BUTTONS. I love the look of the button store. Lovely weekend, thanks for sharing. Have a great week. XX

  3. As usual I love your blog. I don’t know how you ever have time to sleep.Sorry to hear of the passing of your friend and also of Johns great nelphew. How sad for their families. The mandalas are beautiful and using for a fund raiser is awesome. The family get together is great and I know it was lots of fun. Looks like John and his brother have a few pranks up their sleeves. The picture of the buttons brings back so many memories of my sewing days. I have no desire to go back to the sewing days but I love to go to hancocks and just look and feel all the pretty fabric and buttons and notions. Love your flower beds, they always look so good. Love you girl. sw

  4. Loved seeing this update! So many interesting things going on. Thanks for sharing the MandalasForMarinke project!! ❤

  5. you’ve been so busy I’m going to have to go and rest for a bit. xxx

  6. Tamara, your potato soup looks yummy, and it was wonderful reading about your memories of your mom & dad. {heart}
    So extremely sad about Wink!!! Such a beautiful young lady with so much to offer. I’m so very sorry to hear about John’s great-nephew too!! {HUG}
    Your Four-o’clocks are beautiful. I’ve never grown those.
    I don’t know HOW *ANYONE* can eat horseradish!!!!!!!!! ]=p (That’s me, sticking out my tongue!!)
    When I first saw your pic of your numerous tacos, I thought: “What! Did she sew them?” Hahaha!! Yah, then I looked more closely and saw you used pretty, colorful toothpicks!! 😀
    I very much like Pete’s Americana t-shirt. So nice you got to enjoy such a great family gathering over the 4th!
    Wonderful crocheted items, as usual. 🙂 Wow – 38 purple hats, “so far”!!!
    Too bad you lead such a boring life.
    Hugs ‘n Smiles, Kat

  7. You are one funny lady. The Wall of Buttons. I love the wall of buttons. I want all the buttons on the wall.


Leave a Reply

Categories

