Posted by: tgonzales | June 29, 2015

June 24-28, 2015 Week; Guild Retreat Plans, Unexpected Guests, Farmer’s Market, Friends, Purple Hats, and Ups and Downs Baby Booties

The middle of last week our small Crochet Guild Retreat committee met up at my dear friend Susie's house. I want to thank Susie and Sandy for volunteering with me to organize our yearly guild retreat. Susie was so kind to invite us over to her house to brainstorm about the projects we will be offering during our retreat. I'm looking forward to the retreat again this year; it should be lots of fun.

The middle of last week our small Crochet Guild Retreat committee met up at my dear friend Susie’s house. I want to thank Susie and Sandy for volunteering with me to organize our yearly guild retreat. Susie was so kind to invite us over to her house to brainstorm about the projects we will be offering during our retreat. I’m looking forward to the retreat again this year; it should be lots of fun.

On Thursday evening I got a text from my daughter asking if they could come over. I told her of course and that she should know that her and Megan were welcome any time. Well....much to my surprise Jennifer had more than herself and Megan with her.

On Thursday evening I got a text from my daughter asking if they could come over. I told her of course and that she should know that her and Megan were welcome any time. Well….much to my surprise Jennifer had more than herself and Megan with her.

She brought her childhood and lifelong friend Jenny and her little family with her. I love this picture of both of them.

She brought her childhood and lifelong friend Jenny and her little family with her. I love this picture of both of them.

I love that Megan brought her best friend with her as well.

I love that Megan brought her best friend with her as well.

I tear up a little every time I remember what Jenny said when she stepped into our house.

I tear up a little every time I remember what Jenny said when she stepped into our house.

She breathed in real deep and rolled her eyes back and took the smells all in.

She breathed in real deep and rolled her eyes back and took the smells all in.

She said I love this house! I have such good memories being here and the thing that I love the most is that it hasn't changed. It still smells the same and it looks the same.

She said I love this house! I have such good memories being here and the thing that I love the most is that it hasn’t changed. It still smells and looks the same.

I loved having Jenny, her husband, and two little children; along with Jennifer, Megan, and her best friend stop by.

I loved having Jenny, her husband, and two little children; along with Jennifer, Megan, and her best friend stop by.

Just before Jenny left, her little girl said, "Mommy I love this house; it has nice soft carpet, curtains, and couch."  I almost forgot to mention that Jenny told me that she loved reading my blog too. She said I am addicted to it and you. This made my heart happy and just thinking about her and her family makes me smile and cry at the same time.

Just before Jenny left, her little girl said, “Mommy I love this house; it has nice soft carpet, curtains, and couch.” I almost forgot to mention that Jenny told me that she loved reading my blog too. She said I am addicted to it, and you. This made my heart happy and just thinking about her and her family makes me smile and cry at the same time. Thanks Jenny for choosing my home to visit on your trip through Kansas.

This was my view on the way to work Friday morning.

This was my view on the way to work Friday morning.

We had a little storm come through and gave us some relief from the heat .

We had a little storm come through and gave us some relief from the heat and the dryness. I thought maybe you all would like to see what I drive past every day. This is my turn to go to the office.

I thought maybe you all would like to see what I drive past every day. This is where I turn to go to the office.

These pictures always seem to scare me a little no matter how many times I see them. :)

These images always seem to scare me a little, no matter how many times I drive by them. 🙂

Oh by the way before heading off to work on Friday I finished these cute little Ups and Downs Baby Booties designed and written by Tamara Kelly of Mooglyblogspot.com. I have loved all the patterns that I have tried from her free patterns. She writes them very well and has great video tutorials on complicated stitches and such.

Oh by the way before heading off to work on Friday I finished these cute little Ups and Downs Baby Booties designed and written by Tamara Kelly of Mooglyblog.com. I have loved all the patterns that I have tried from her free patterns. Her patterns are very well written and she has great video tutorials on the more complicated stitches.

Here's another satisfied new Grandpa. Mark is one of my co-workers who just became a Grandfather for the first time last month. When I showed him the little pink and white tutu he said send me a picture and I will check with my wife. He had hardly sent the photo to his wife with a question of what do you think? Should we buy one? She sent back a YES in all caps. As I have said before I just love seeing these loving Grandfathers buying gifts for their grandbabies.

Here’s another satisfied Grandpa. Mark is one of my co-workers who just became a Grandfather for the first time last month. When I showed him the little pink and white tutu he said send me a picture and I will check with my wife. He had hardly sent the photo to his wife with a question of what do you think? Should we buy one? She sent back a “YES” in all caps. As I have said before I just love seeing these loving Grandfathers buying gifts from me for their grand babies.

Friday I decided to go to Tanya's Soup Kitchen to get me a bowl of soup for lunch. As most of the time I call in the order and hop in my car and go pick it up and am back in 15 minutes tops. This time as paid the cashier and turned around to go and wait on my order; I turned around to find that one my childhood, lifelong friends was right behind me. Now what's the chances of her being there at the same time that I came to pick up my soup? I think there was a hand in this that neither one of us could see. It was great seeing you again Vici and I hope you have a wonderful time with your new little grandson. Next time maybe we can plan on eating lunch together?

Friday I decided to go to Tanya’s Soup Kitchen to get a bowl of soup for lunch. Most of the time I call in the order and hop in my car and go pick it up and am back in 15 minutes tops, so that I can crochet on my lunch break. This time as I paid the cashier and turned around to wait on my order; I turned around to find one of my childhood, lifelong friends was right behind me. Now what’s the chances of Vici being there at the same time that I came to pick up my soup? I think there was a hand in this that neither one of us could see. It was great seeing you again, Vici and I hope you have a wonderful time with your new little grandson while you are in Kansas. Next time maybe we can plan on stopping long enough to eat lunch together at Tanya’s?

Saturday morning I made another pair of the little Ups and Downs Baby Booties and 10 purple hats before John decided to get up for the day. After dinner we went back to Susie and Korey's and watched the moved called Seconhand Lions but not before we got to see this lovely doe up close and personal outside their dining room window. I had never seen a deer up this close and was fascinated with her big eyes and long eyelashes.  As always we feel very blessed to have such good friends and cherish our time together.

Saturday morning I made another pair of the little Ups and Downs Baby Booties, plus 10 purple baby hats before John decided to get up for the day.

We had planned on getting up early and going to the Farmer's market, but since John slept in a little I decided we would go check out Buck's Bar and Grill for  breakfast.

We had planned on getting up early and going to the Farmer’s market, but since John slept in a little I decided we would go check out Buck’s Bar and Grill for breakfast.

Since we had loved the wonderful homemade food the prior weekend, we would like to see if their breakfast was as good. Here's John asking how he looked with his sunshades on.  I told him he looked blind.

Since we had loved the wonderful homemade food the prior weekend, we wanted to see what their breakfast was like. Here’s John asking how he looked with his sunshades on.  He asked, “do I look dumb?” I said “No. You look like you are blind.”

I'm sure this is the look I give him quite often and thought it was funny and you all might get a kick out of it too.

I’m sure this is the look I give John quite often and when I saw it I thought it was funny and I thought maybe you all might get a kick out of it too?

I had scrambled eggs, sausage, hash browns, and an English muffin.

I had scrambled eggs, sausage, hash browns, and an English muffin.

John had his usual; pancake sandwich with his eggs in-between his two pancakes. I'm not sure if it was an off day, but we weren't as impressed with their breakfast as we were with their dinner.  I would love to hear if anyone else has tried their breakfast and wonder what you thought?

John had his usual; pancake sandwich with his eggs in-between the two pancakes. I’m not sure if it was an off day, but we weren’t as impressed with their breakfast as we were with their dinner. I would love to hear if anyone else has tried their breakfast and I wonder what you thought?

Just like us, lots of other people in Wichita thought it was a perfect day to go to the Farmer's Market too.

Just like us, lots of other people in Wichita thought it was a perfect day to go to the Farmer’s Market on Saturday morning.

It's always fun to watch Troubles the clown make balloon animals for the children.

It’s always fun to watch Troubles the clown make balloon animals for the children.

The jalapeno, cheddar bread looked very interesting to me.

The jalapeno, cheddar bread looked very interesting to me.

Of course John loves the pies. He ended up with a sugar-free gooseberry pie and we also brought home, tomatoes, garlic, squash, turnips, green beans, and red new potatoes. I just love cooking fresh vegetables from the market and oh my gosh the firs homegrown tomato of the season tastes so good.

Of course John loves the pies. He ended up with a sugar-free gooseberry pie and we also brought home, tomatoes, garlic, squash, turnips, green beans, and new red potatoes. I just love cooking fresh vegetables from the market and oh my gosh the first homegrown tomato of the season tastes so good.

Anyway...Saturday evening we met up with our friends Susie and Korey for dinner at Town and Country. All of us agree that it will very sad to see the place torn down to make way for a highway interchange. After dinner we went back to Susie and Korey's to watch a movie, but before we did we had a front row seat to see this lovely doe eating from their bird feeder. I was very fascinated with her big eyes and long eyelashes.  Then we all sat down to watch Secondhand Lions. The movie was great and John and I agree that we are very blessed to have such wonderful friends in our lives.

Anyway…Saturday evening we met up with our friends Susie and Korey for dinner at Town and Country. All of us agree that it will be very sad to see the place torn down to make way for a highway interchange. After dinner we went back to Susie and Korey’s to watch a movie, but before we did we had a front row seat to see this lovely doe eating from their bird feeder. I was very fascinated with her big eyes and long eyelashes. Then we all sat down to watch Secondhand Lions. The movie was great and John and I agree that we are very blessed to have such wonderful friends in our lives. We love you Susie and Korey!

 

Oops, I think I'm a little hooked on these Ups and Downs Baby Booties.

Oops! I think I’m a little hooked on these Ups and Downs Baby Booties.

I even  made a little hat to match them. I love the way they turned out.

I even made a little hat to match this pair. I love the way they turned out.

I thought maybe you would like to see the progress of my Tami G. tomato plant. It's looking healthier every day and I hope to be getting some of those little grape tomatoes off of it real soon.

I thought maybe you would like to see the progress of my Tami G. tomato plant. It’s looking healthier every day and I hope to be getting some of those little grape tomatoes off of it real soon.

The rest of the garden is growing too. The tomato plants are looking good and filling out so nice. We already have jalapeno's hanging on some of the plants don't even look like they could hold them on their branches. We had them do the same thing last year so I'm sure they will grow bigger and bushier as the days go by.

The rest of the garden is growing too. The tomato plants are looking good and filling out so nice. We already have jalapeno’s hanging on some of the plants don’t even look like they could hold them on their branches. We had them do the same thing last year so I’m sure they will grow bigger and bushier as the days go by.

Between the baby booties and the purple hats I have been quite busy. I now have completed 35 purple hats. So what have you all been up to?

Between the baby booties and the purple hats I have been quite busy. I now have completed 35 purple hats. So what have you all been up to?


Responses

  1. Looks like another great week for you! Um those buildings and murals you have to drive by would scare me a little every day, too. You are blessed to have so many good friends and family near you. What a lovely sentiment from your daughter’s friend. Happy sigh! Thanks for sharing all the loveliness of your week! Oh that photo of the the new grandpa was precious, as well as the photo of the sweetheart in one of your tutu dresses. 🙂

    • Hi Jeanne! Thanks so much for all your sweet comments. Love and Hugs, Tamara

  2. You definitely packed a lot in your week. I love having company come visit especially when they bring children with them. John looks like a secret service agent (James Bond) and you look like you might be a little annoyed with Johns antics. Love the farmers markets and most towns have one or two. Can always find things that I have to have. Its been a hectic week for us. Made a trip to Enid to take care of M-I-L. She is actually doing pretty good but memory and confusion is a big problem. Love you girl and hope you week is wonderful just like you. sw

    • Hi Sue! Thanks for reading my blog and for sharing your weekend with me. I’m so glad your MIL is doing better and as you know cherish the time you have with her. Love you too, Tamara

  3. Lovely glimpse into your weekend
    So many people and crochet.

    • Hi Cathy! Thanks so much. Hugs, Tamara

  4. 1. the kids all look adorable.
    2. your face at buck’s. also, WHAT TO TOWN AND COUNTRY BEING TORN DOWN!?!?!?!!!!!!
    3. PLEASE tell me you got the cheesy jalapeno bread…
    4. you accomplish so much in so little time, it’s amazing and inspiring.
    5. love you, the end!

    • Hi My Chacho Aaron! Yes, our little restaurant will be torn down soon to make way for the highway interchange. I will have to ask Glenda if she will be going to work somewhere else. Yes, I did purchase the bread and it is wonderful. Thank you for the kind words. Love you too, THE END!

  5. Great post, Tamara! I love Susie’s happy face! 😀
    Jenny’s kids are adorable — and I love that they were both willing models.
    I would do my best to *not* look at those ugly drawings on the tattoo parlor. Yuk!
    Such a whiz you are, turning out all those booties & hats. LOVE the deep-purple hats!
    I LOL’d at your saying John looks like he’s blind with those shades of his. Then I LOL’d even more when I saw the expression on **your face**!!!!
    Did you buy – or resist – the jalapeno/cheddar bread???
    I’m so jealous of long lashes on deer .. and on some men! So wasted on them!!!
    Your Tami G tomato plant is looking very good. One day soon I’ll have to send you a pic of my patio-tomato plant. So many buds!! Can’t wait!!!

    • Hi Kat! Thank you for always being here to comment, I always get such a kick out of what you think. I almost knew you would love my expression. Yes of course I bought the bread and we have been enjoying it along with the veggies that we got. Of course, I would love to see a picture of your tomato plant. Love and Hugs, Tamara

      • You “almost” knew I’d love your expression?!!? 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

