Posted by: tgonzales | May 18, 2015

May 16-17 Weekend; Lunch with my Brother Tom, an Owl Purse, and More Crochet Topped Tutus

My weekend started off by surprising my brother Tom at his Birthday lunch. I was so excited and surprised to see my cousin Roxanne. I can't believe we didn't get a picture of Tom with us. I wish I didn't have to get back to work so quickly. I would have loved to stay and visit with you and Troy.

My weekend started off by Jackie and me surprising our brother Tom at his Birthday lunch. I was so excited and surprised to see my cousin Roxanne show up as well. I can’t believe we didn’t get a picture of Tom with us. I wish I wouldn’t have had to get back to work so quickly. I would have loved to stay and visit with Roxanne and Troy, it has been way too long.

Saturday morning was spent finishing up a project that I started over a month ago. I decided to crochet over a recycled handle from an old purse

Saturday morning was spent finishing up a project that I started over a month ago. I decided to crochet over a recycled handle from an old purse

to use for my little owl purse.

to use for my little owl purse.

This is what my two projects looked like all spread out on the table (along with John's brown hand). HAHAHAHAHA

This is what my two projects looked like all spread out on the table (along with John’s brown hand). HAHAHAHAHA

I found this lovely purple yarn from Hobby Lobby called Mimosa. It is a combination of cotton and rayon. I loved the way the purple had black running through it. And it screamed at me to be another tutu dress. So I added black tulle to the bottom and I do love how it turned out.

I found this lovely purple yarn from Hobby Lobby called Mimosa. It is a combination of cotton and rayon. I loved the way the purple had black running through it. And it screamed at me to be another tutu dress. So I added black tulle to the bottom and I do love how it turned out.

I even had time to line the little owl purse before heading off to have lunch with my brother Tom again.

I even had time to line the little owl purse with fabric before heading off to have lunch with my brother Tom again.

Two days in a row of seeing my brother Tom and my sister-in-law Linda. It sure has been a long time since that has happened. John and I met Tom and Linda for lunch at Cortez Mexican restaurant for their buffet. I sure enjoyed the time that we had together. I hadn't seen Tom since Valentine's Day when I went to Mom's house to pick out the few items that I wanted of hers. I was so happy when him and Linda suggested that we do this more often. I was always afraid of what would happen to all of us when our folks were gone. Parents are always the glue that holds a family together and some families just kind of fall apart when they are gone. With all of us working together I know that we will not let that happen to us.

Two days in a row of seeing my brother Tom and my sister-in-law Linda. It sure has been a long time since that has happened. John and I met Tom and Linda for lunch at Cortez Mexican restaurant for their buffet. I sure enjoyed the time that we had together. I hadn’t seen Tom since Valentine’s Day when I went to Mom’s house to pick out the few items that I wanted of hers. I was so happy when him and Linda suggested that we do this more often. I was always afraid of what would happen to all of us when our parents were both gone. It seems like Moms and Dads are always the glue that holds a family together and some families just kind of fall apart when they are gone. With all of us working together I hope that we will not let that happen to us.

Saturday evening John wanted to go and have dinner at Nuway, so we ventured out into the rain. I had to laugh at how much John looked like Dracula in his raincoat that went down to the top of his white socks. And when the flash went off on the camera the florescent   colors really set him off.

Saturday evening John wanted to go and have dinner at Nuway, so we ventured out into the torential rain. I had to laugh at how much John looked like Dracula in his raincoat that went down to the top of his white socks. And when the flash went off on my camera the florescent colors really set him off.

Sunday I could not help myself. I had to make a few more tutus. I love the way this one turned out with its purple tulle.

Sunday I could not help myself. I had to make a few more tutus. I love the way the cream colored one turned out with its purple tulle.

But I do believe that this is my favorite one so far.

But I do believe that this is my favorite one so far.

Even this huge horse fly seemed to love the turquoise tulle.

Even this huge horse fly seemed to love the turquoise tulle.

I just loved the way that the purple and turquoise look together.

I just love the way that the purple and turquoise look together.

This one makes me happiest. Oh by the way the purple and black one has already been snatched up and will be heading to Texas very soon for a one year old photo shoot in a purple chair. Thanks so much Debby Dennet-Marvin for loving the things that I make. I almost forgot to mention where I got the pattern. The little tutu dress pattern was designed by DaisyGirlCrochet and you can find it on Ravelry here for Free. I hope all of you had a wonderful weekend and I hope you all have a great week.

This one makes me happiest. Oh by the way the purple and black one has already been snatched up and will be heading to Texas very soon for a one year old photo shoot in a purple chair. Thanks so much Debby Dennet-Marvin for loving the things that I make.

????????????????????????????????????

I loved that I was able to make two dress yokes from one skein of the Mimosa yarn.

I almost forgot to mention where I got the pattern. The little tutu dress pattern was designed by DaisyGirlCrochet and you can find it on Ravelry here for Free. I hope all of you had a wonderful weekend and I would love to hear all about it. I am looking forward to the week; as the KS My Stitch Crochet Guild will be meeting for the first time in their new location at Picket Fence Quilt Company. I hope you all have a great week.


Responses

  1. It’s lovely reading you sounding so happy with your brother. John did look scarily like Dracula! I love the tutu’s. What a lovely idea. You make such pretty things. We are busy sorting out the house, hoping to put it on the market soon. So much stuff! Have a good week. Xx

  2. That horse fly cracks me up. 🙂

  3. Sounds like you had a lovely weekend. So glad you spent time with your family. The dresses are adorable. Thanks for the pattern. Got a good chuckle over the look John sported. Hopefully you aren’t too affected by the tornadoes they keep talking about!

  4. Tamara, The bag is so Awesome T. Lovely work. Those tutus, absolutely adorable. I can see them in every rainbow color! And John, as always, cracks me up! LOL, Have a great week Tamara! xo

  5. That owl purse is so funny! 🙂

  6. Tamara, I expect your family to stay close! {heart}
    I love the “peeking owl” when the crocodile flap is partially over his eyes.
    Dracula John!!! 😀
    I agree: purple & turquoise — GREAT COMBO!! I guess that fly agrees. LOL

  7. I must say out of all the beautiful things you make, I love the tutu dresses the best. Love the picture of you and Tom. You are both so special. Love you girl. sw


Leave a Reply

Categories

