Posted by: tgonzales | April 15, 2015

April 11-12, 2015 Weekend, Picket Fence Quilt Company Upcoming Class Models, an Owl Purse, and Our Dear Sweet Brandi is an Angel Now

My Saturday started off with me visiting Picket Fence Quilt Company to drop off a class model.

My Saturday started off with me visiting Picket Fence Quilt Company to drop off a class model.

While I was there I decided to pick up some yarn to make the rest of the class models for the Crochet 102 class that will be held Wednesday, June 17, 2015 from 6:00 pm-8:00 pm. This is Lisa Johnson the owner of Picket Fence Quilt Company.

While I was there I decided to pick up some yarn to make the rest of the class models for the Crochet 102 class that will be held Wednesday, June 17, 2015 from 6:00 pm-8:00 pm. This is Lisa Johnson the owner of Picket Fence Quilt Company.

This is the model for the crochet edging class that I will be teaching on July 8, 2015 from 6:00 pm-8:00 pm.

This is the model for the crochet edging class that I will be teaching on July 8, 2015 from 6:00 pm-8:00 pm.

Jackie and I met up at Picket Fence to have a day out to ourselves. It's always nice seeing our friends Lisa and Sandy and giggling. :)

Jackie and I met up at Picket Fence to have a day out to ourselves. It’s always nice seeing our friends, Lisa and Sandy and giggling. ๐Ÿ™‚

This is one of the projects that I will teach during my Crochet 102 class.

This is one of the projects that I will teach during my Crochet 102 class.

You will have your choice of projects to make in the  Crochet 102 class. This square or the motif above.

You will have your choice of projects to make in the Crochet 102 class. This square or the motif above.

Here is the other edging that I will be teaching. This is a shell stitch and was always one of my Mom's favorite edgings to make around her flannel receiving blankets.

Here is the other edging that I will be teaching. This is a shell stitch and was always one of my Mom’s favorite edgings to make around her flannel receiving blankets.

Saturday evening we ate out at TJ's, where I ordered John the Southwest Chicken salad. This is the face that he made when the waitress sat it in front of him. He's so weird. ;)

Saturday evening we ate out at TJ’s, where I ordered John the Southwest Chicken salad. This is the face that he made when the waitress sat it in front of him. He’s so weird. ๐Ÿ˜‰

This is my open faced burger that I love to order when I go to TJ's. I brought 3/4 of it home with me....

This is my open faced burger that I love to order when I go to TJ’s. I brought 3/4 of it home with me….

as did Jennifer with her baked potato that was the size of her head. John did the same with his salad.

as did Jennifer with her baked potato that was the size of her head. John did the same with his salad.

I just had to share this photo. I have to laugh every time John tries to put his new phone in its clip. It reminds me of a kindle hooked onto his belt. HAHAHAHAHA

I just had to share this photo. I have to laugh every time John tries to put his new phone in its clip. It reminds me of a kindle hooked onto his belt. HAHAHAHAHA

Oh my gosh I need to be concentrating on hats and scarves for the Kansas Barn Sale and look what I just had to make. I am not done with it and plan on adding a fabric strap and lining to it. I love the way it is turning out.

Oh my gosh I need to be concentrating on hats and scarves for the Kansas Barn Sale and look what I just had to make. I am not done with it and plan on adding a fabric strap and lining to it. I love the way it is turning out.

I have very sad news to report. Our beautiful and brave Brandi lost her battle with the disease that she was diagnosed with a year ago, Leukemia. The doctors told her that she had 6  months to a year.

I have very sad news to report. Our beautiful and brave Brandi lost her battle with the disease that she was diagnosed with a year ago, Leukemia. The doctors told her that she had 6 months to a year to live.

Brandi had such an outgoing personality that would light up a room.

Brandi had such an outgoing personality that would light up a room.

Yet she was very vulnerable at the same time. Jennifer and Brandi had been friends since they were in 1st grade.

Yet she was very vulnerable at the same time. Jennifer and Brandi had been friends since they were in 1st grade.

I always loved having Brandi around and she was at our house as much as she could be.

I always loved having Brandi around and she was at our house as much as she could be.

Jennifer spent the night at the hospital keeping Brandi's husband company the night before she passed. Just before Jennifer and I arrived at her bedside the next day Brandi took her last breath. I can't help but think that she is dancing, running, and singing all the way to Heaven. May she rest in eternal peace.

I am so glad this foursome could get together last year. It would be the last time that Starla and Jenny would see Brandi. Jennifer spent the night at the hospital keeping Brandi’s husband company the night before she passed. Then just beforeย Jennifer and I arrived at her bedside the next day Brandi took her last breath. I can’t help but think that she is dancing, running, and singing all the way to Heaven. May she rest in Eternal Peace, AMEN!


Responses

  1. Lovely post. RIP pretty Brandi ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you so much Jill! Love and Hugs, Tamara

  2. Beautiful crochet work. Oh my, mounds of food! I’d have probably made that face, too. ๐Ÿ™‚ And I am so sorry to hear of the loss of Jennifer’s friend. That is very sad for all of you. But as you say, she is free of the disease and entertaining everyone in heaven for sure. I hope Jennifer is doing okay. Hugs to you all!

  3. As always, I love the stories and pictures of your crochet friends, classes, and projects. Wish I lived closer to you girl. Love the food pictures- I have severe acid reflux now. Thanks. Just Kidding. Sorry to hear about jenny’s friend. It’s always hard to give up a good friend. Love you girl. sw

  4. Tamara,
    I’m so sorry for Jennifer’s friend’s passing. When we lost our son and then our daughter I was not angry with God but I am anxiously awaiting to find out why our children and our friends are taken. I’m sure there is a satisfactory answer. I am anxious to take some of your classes at picket fence because it is so close to me. Love your photos of ALL your stuff:)
    Kaye

  5. Hi Tamara!
    That is a very pretty yellow edging you will be teaching!! Also love the other one .. I always like shells. Pretty purple motif too!
    I’m betting that Southwest Chicken Salad of John’s went down quite easily, even tho he had to take some home. LOL! Your burger looks scrumptious! I cannot believe the size of Jennifer’s potato!! Where on earth do they get those?!!?
    Whoooooo………….. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I am sorry to hear about Brandi’s passing. She left quite a legacy and I know will be lovingly remembered forever.

    It is almost Friday, so hang in there. ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

