Posted by: tgonzales | April 10, 2015

TGIF! A Few More Hats for the Kansas Barn Sale Collection, Hot Soup, and Thinking of Mom

I am so glad that it is Friday again. I'm looking forward to having the weekend to maybe complete a few more projects on my hooks. I loved the way this lovely gold hat turned out. It is made from the designer Viktoria and her business name is CrocheTrend. The pattern is called Walda Hat Crochet Pattern and you can find it here. I had never tried to make a basketweave stitch of anything before. Can I say that it was extra challenging? Well, I guess I just did. :) Let's just say that this is a one-of-a-kind.

I am so glad that it is Friday again. I’m looking forward to having the weekend to maybe complete a few more projects on my hooks. I loved the way this lovely gold hat turned out. It is made from the designer Viktoria and her business name is CrocheTrend. The pattern is called Walda Hat Crochet Pattern and you can find it here. I had never tried to make a basketweave stitch of anything before. Can I say that it was extra challenging? Well, I guess I just did. πŸ™‚ Let’s just say that this is a one-of-a-kind.

Of course some of you will recognize this hat design. It is from Moogly's Ups and Downs Slouchy Hat pattern. I love that no matter what yarn you use it always looks good.

Of course some of you will recognize this hat design. It is from Moogly’s Ups and Downs Slouchy Hat pattern. I love that no matter what yarn you use for this hat it always looks good.

On Easter I made my special sausage smothered in tomatoes, onions, bell peppers, jalapeno's, garlic, and other ingredients for lunch. I served it with Jasmine rice and corn. Man was it ever spicy. It burned my mouth so much it made my nose run and my face sweat. John said it was just right. Anyway on Thursday I decided to throw all of those ingredients in the crockpot along with a can of mixed vegetables, more spices, more tomatoes, and water. Well let me tell you it didn't get any cooler. As a matter-of-fact I think it got spicier. It's the kind of hot that tastes so good you can't stop eating it. (if you like spicy) HAHAHAHAHA John really liked it and that was good.

On Easter I made my special sausage smothered in tomatoes, onions, bell peppers, jalapeno’s, garlic, and other ingredients for lunch. I served it with Jasmine rice and corn. Man was it ever spicy. It burned my mouth so much it made my nose run and my face sweat. John said it was just right. Anyway on Thursday I decided to throw all of those ingredients in the crockpot along with a can of mixed vegetables, more spices, more tomatoes, and water. Well let me tell you it didn’t get any cooler. As a matter-of-fact I think it got spicier. It’s the kind of hot that tastes so good you can’t stop eating it. (if you like spicy) HAHAHAHAHA John really liked it and that was a good thing.

I'm sure you all have noticed that I am not writing as much as I once did. Every time I sit down to write a blogpost I pull up the pictures from my camera and I see all of the photos that I took of Mom. I get very sad, and then I think about how glad I am that I was able to have these  photos of her and me. This one was taken just a couple of weeks before she passed away. I remember John and I went to see her one evening. She was almost running when we arrived. Jackie had asked me to take off the orange fingernail polish that someone had put on her. But, I could hardly  keep her still to even take these photos.  This was the last photo I have of her and me sitting together. I'm so happy that John was there to take the picture of us....Then I smile. I promise I will start writing a little more from my heart as it is on it's way to healing. I hope each and every one of you have something to smile about on this beautiful Friday. Make it a great weekend and I will talk to you on the flip side.

I’m sure you all have noticed that I am not writing as much as I once did. Every time I sit down to write a blogpost; I pull up the pictures from my camera and I see all of the photos that I took of Mom. I get very sad, and then I think about how glad I am that I was able to have these photos of her and me. This one was taken just a couple of weeks before she passed away. I remember John and I went to see her one evening. She was almost running when we arrived. Jackie had asked me to take off the orange fingernail polish that someone had put on her nails. But, I could hardly keep her still long enough to take these photos. This was the last photo I have of her and me sitting together. I’m so happy that John was there to take the picture of us!Β When I think about the times that I spent with Mom…I Smile. I promise I will start writing a little more from my heart as it is on it’s way to healing. I hope each and every one of you have something to smile about on this beautiful Friday. Make it a great weekend and I will talk to you on the flip side my friends.




Responses

  1. Lovely memory of your Mum. I think about my Dad every day still. Today is a good day for me. Hoping you have happy times this weekend. Impressive crochet hat!

    • Hi Cathy! Thank you so much for stopping by to comment. I’m so happy that you are having a good day today. I can say that I understand about having good and bad days. All we have left are our pictures and sweet memories to hold on to. Love and Hugs my friend! Tamara

  2. Oooh, good for you, Tamara, to make that hat. I’ve done that stitch before…on a lapghan no less. It’s a bit of a challenge for sure, but oh so worth it for the texture. Both your hats look great! πŸ™‚ Oh my, I don’t think I’d be brave enough to try something that spicy. I’m a wimp, fully embracing my wimpdom. What a sweet photo of you and your mom. It’s hard know to see pictures I know, but as you are realizing, so special, too. Big hugs to you!

    • Oh my gosh Jeanne! I can’t even imagine making anything bigger than a hat in this stitch. Although it was fun I do not have that much time to spend on each hat or I won’t have enough for the sale in October. LOL Thanks so much for stopping by to read my posts and for your sweet comments. It means a lot to me. Have a wonderful day sweet lady. Hugs, Tamara

  3. Tamara you hats are Yummy and Beautiful!!! You are such a sweetheart and spicy at times……LOL, your soup looks wonderful! Thanks for sharing your thoughts about your mother. It helps me to read them, i still grieve my mother after 2 years next month. Have an awesome weekend! xo

  4. Gold is not a color that I normally like , but I love that hat. I can envision it in every color in the crayon box, The other hat is totally awesome. Love the picture of you and your mom. I know you miss her very much and I also know you have a truck load of memories. It has been almost 14 years since my mom left us and I still think of her daily. Love you girl. sw

  5. Okay, so you made more hats … and I was expecting to see one in your 3rd photo. Initial thought response when I saw that one: WHAT kind of yarn did she use for THIS hat!!??!! πŸ˜€
    I was surprised you had not made anything with the basketweave stitch before. I think it is FUN! I made an afghan and a basket. I’m betting if you give it another try with, say, a basket, you will find it FUN. That hat pattern looks more challenging.

    Uh, you certainly married a hot-&-spicy guy! LOL!!!

    Your Mom Memories … thanks for sharing. In some ways, it does get easier. Yet it also seems to get harder the more time passes. It’s been close to 12 years since my Mom passed. The other nite in bed, I was thinking of her and found myself actually asking her to “COME BACK, MOM!” I never did that before. So sad being without our mommies. I’m glad the LOVE stays in our hearts!!!

    Have a wonderful weekend, dear friend.
    Love & special hugs ~ Kat

  6. Tamara,
    I’m smiling because my 101 year old mother just went through major surgery for colon cancer and is back home and doing very well. I do not know what it is that God wants her to do but I know he is keeping her here for a reason. I treasure all my pictures it is fun to put together a picture pedigree chart for 7 generations of family. Love you Tamara and you willingness to keep a family history.
    Kaye

  7. Beautiful hats, beautiful mom and daughter photo. xxxxxxx


Leave a Reply

Categories

