Posted by: tgonzales | March 30, 2015

March 28-29, 2015 Weekend; Road trip to Topeka, a Yarn Shop, a Hobby Shop, the Mall, Mexican Restaurant, and the Flint Hills

If there is a yarn shop to be found; I will be there.

If there is a yarn shop to be found; I will be there.

My haul from the Yak 'n Yarn.

My haul from the Yak ‘n Yarn. I was so happy to meet the yarn shop owner, Karen Taylor. When I told her that I taught classes in Wichita and Newton, she asked me to come and teach in Topeka. Yak ‘n Yarn has a lot of classes going on for all different types of needle arts. Saturday, there was a group of ladies learning locker hooking. I had never heard of it and the instructor was so kind to show me what it was. You can click on the link and it will take you to a short video. When I get some extra time I think I would love to make a rug or something. 🙂

John showing me the Drones

John showing me the Drones

John wants the shop owner to show us how this flies.

John wants the shop owner to show us how this flies.

Electric car hook ups. I had never seen these and am curious if they take quarters?

Electric car hook ups. I had never seen these and am curious if they take quarters?

I never know what John is going to do.

I never know what John is going to do.

I just stand by with the camera for the perfect photo-op.

I just stand by with the camera for the perfect photo-op.

Photo Booth Love!

Photo Booth Love!

Menudo preparation. John said that I did that little something with my eyes here but I do it so quickly he would have to have a video camera running all the time in order to capture it. HAHAHAHAHA

Menudo preparation. John said that I did that little something with my eyes here but I do it so quickly he would have to have a video camera running all the time in order to capture it. HAHAHAHAHA Click on the Menudo link and you can see what is in it. I can’t even talk about it. I’m sure I did make that rolling eye thing when he asked me if I wanted a bite. 😉

No matter how much stuff you add to Menudo, I will never like it. Just saying.

No matter how much stuff you add to Menudo, I will never like it. Just saying.

My burrito Al Pastor was toasted perfectly.

My burrito Al Pastor was toasted perfectly.

The spices inside were amazingly hot but I couldn't stop eating it; and the pork was very tender.

The spices inside were amazingly hot but I couldn’t stop eating it; and the pork was very tender.

Tacos El Sol in Topeka's Barrio. A diamond in the rough.

Tacos El Sol in Topeka’s Barrio. A diamond in the rough.

Taking the long way home.

Taking the long way home.

John stopping along a scenic rest stop to take photos.

John stopping along a scenic rest stop to take photos.

I so love looking at all the beautiful barns along the way. Red ones especially.

I so love looking at all the beautiful barns along the way. Red ones especially.

I love to take photos of silos. They always remind me of my brother Terry, who used to build them.

I love to take photos of silos. They always remind me of my brother Terry, who used to build them.

Scenic drive through the Flint Hills.

Scenic drive through the Flint Hills.

Fort Riley, I do not remember ever driving by this military base before.

Fort Riley, I do not remember ever driving by this military base before.

I would so paint my house in the country a similar color or purple.

I would so paint my house in the country a similar color or purple.

I wanted to run away this last weekend and so I asked John to go with me. We had a lovely day and a half away and plan on doing it again real soon. I hope everyone had a wonderful weekend and would love to hear all about it. I love you all!


Responses

  1. Running away sometimes is exactly what is necessary! I hope you two do it more often. And now I’m going to check out menuda….. never heard of it 🙂

  2. How great for the two of you to just take a weekend for yourselves. It looks like a lovely weekend, too. I’m sure it felt really good to have that owner want you to teach classes at her shop. I think I know what that stuff is that you don’t like and I don’t think I could eat it either. Thanks so much for sharing, Tamara!

  3. What a fun day!

  4. Running away. Sounds just what I need. Clever idea… One day soon!

  5. WOW Tamara, my kind of weekend trip. Time on the road is also great time to talk and catch up with life’s matters. And the weather was gorgeous! Have a great week!

  6. My-oh-my! What a lovely runaway getaway you had! You & John –> a couple of real YAKkers. LOL!
    Did you say ‘yes’ to teaching in Topeka? That’s quite a long drive, right? You’d sure have to be compensated well .. for the gas alone.
    Menudo: the only ingredient I needed to see to know I would not like it was ‘tripe’. I know I’m a Kat .. but I do not like fish. 😉
    Love your photo-booth pics! And yup, gotta love red barns!
    Hugs!!!

  7. Oh I love the idea of running away from home. And we have done it several times. We went out for breakfast one time in Shawnee and came home at 11;00 pm exhausted because we went thru four states before getting tired and running out of things to say. LOL. Love the locker hooked rugs. I have made about 15 or 16 of them and sold several. I started doing it because I had so much fabric that I needed to get rid of. Each rug that I made I used 20-25 yards of fabric. Can’t tell that my stash has gotten any lower. Love the barn and silo pictures. Love you girl.


Leave a Reply

Categories

