Posted by: tgonzales | March 9, 2015

March 7-8, 2015 Weekend, the Kansas Barn Sale, my Brother Terry, Crocodile Stitch Owl Class, Sunday Spring Forward with my Sister-in-Law Ricci

893114_520160541355334_1837864453_o

This is the message that I received last week from the Kansas Barn Sale Chicks:

“Hello Kansas Barn Sale vendors! KS Barn Sale is back, bigger and better than ever.

As you know, we had an overwhelming response to Kansas Barn Sale last year. It was like funky junky Black Friday! Growing pains are tough, but we learned that we’ve simply outgrown our space for this incredible event. So this year, Kansas Barn Sale has a new home! It will be held at Wiedemann Park at the KS Coliseum in Park City.
 
This is a beautiful outdoor space with big mature trees, a pond, and a creek. As always, Kansas Barn Sale will be entirely outdoors. This location will provide parking for 7000 cars (much needed!) and plenty of restrooms. This location is near the interstate and easily accessed from 4-lane highways. You may have seen that Country Living Magazine just named Kansas Barn Sale one of the top 7 shows in the country. What an honor!! And we know that will bring a bigger crowd than we’ve ever had. We’ve also extended the hours a little, although it’s still a one day event. 
Based on the excellent quality of your booth and items you sold at Kansas Barn Sale in 2014, we’d love to invite you back to be a part of
the 2015 Kansas Barn Sale! As you know, all items are required to be handmade or vintage. We also want you to know we select our returning vendors based not only on booth display and quality items, but we select those who have a shining personality. We want HAPPY vendors because that helps to create HAPPY shoppers!
As a reminder, we had many vendors sell out last year. We expect even a larger crowd this year. Please come prepared for an entire day of sales. Thank you for being a part of the biggest and happiest Barn Sale in Kansas!”
I was so excited to be asked to be a vendor again this year at the Kansas Barn Sale and am very excited about the new location. It will be closer for me and easier for everyone else to be able to come to the sale. I have a lot of crocheting to do in the next 6 1/2 months to get prepared for this wonderful sale.
DSC_0841
Anyway, my weekend started off with a visit from my brother Terry. I am always happy to hear him drive into my driveway as he hits the ooga ooga horn of my Dad’s old pickup. Terry is the proud owner of my Daddy’s pickup and I’m so glad that he is. It was good visiting with him and I love when he leaves; he grabs me and hugs me and kisses me on the top of my head and says I love you little sister. I never noticed it until lately how much he reminds me of my Dad.
DSC_0843
IMG_0402
Saturday morning I finished up this little owl before heading off to Newton and Creation Station to teach my all day class on this little project.
DSC_0842
I loved how Catherine had all the little balls of different colors of Catania so that everyone could pick their seven colors from them. I had four students all together; I enjoyed teaching them and I think they loved my choice of soup that I made. Chicken tortilla soup without the tortillas. 🙂
DSC_0845
I loved the way Deb clipped her colors and taped them to her paper so she knew which color was next. I love learning new ways to do things.
DSC_0846
I loved the colors that Karla chose and was so happy that she was able to make it to my class.
DSC_0848
I was so happy that Deb was able to come and learn a new technique; she even drove in from Wellington just to take a class with me. I just love that all these lovely ladies chose to spend the day with me and Catherine. 🙂
IMG_0406
This is the owl that I made from Saturdays class. I finished it up on Sunday morning.
IMG_0408
I really don’t like this Spring forward thing but there’s nothing I can do about it, so I just have to go with it. Sunday consisted of me finally starting and finishing the large stack of ironing that I have had for the longest time. How long might you ask? I’m not sure but there were two pairs of John’s shorts in it, so it’s been a while. I love when my sister-in-law Ricci stops by to see me. She is so sweet and always compliments me on the things that I have been making. I love that she lets me try things on her and how she always says that she wants one of everything that I make. This gray poncho and hat look like they were made just for her, don’t you think so? Anyway, here it is Monday morning already and time to start back with the work week. I hope everyone had a lovely weekend and hope you have a lovely Monday.

Responses

  1. You pack so much into a weekend! Congratulations on being invited back, I am sure your happy personality and gorgeous goods played an equal part. Have a great week! Xx

  2. Having a great Monday, thank you, and also because there’s a post from you in it 🙂 The KBS sounds flipping amazeballs (as Lisa would say), and I’m not surprised you’ve been invited back. NOW GET CRACKING !!!!!!!!!! No more ironing or cooking for the next few months. ❤

  3. Congratulations on being asked back to the Barn Sale. I’m happy they recognize a wonderful talent and kind person when they see it. Have fun prepping for this event. Sounds like your weekend was very busy, but a good one. My daughter wished for one extra day in the weekend. I have a feeling you would love one, too! 🙂

  4. Woo-hoo! Bigger & better location for the Barn Sale! So exciting!! You certainly fit the bill for being invited back –> terrific items, awesome display, & definitely a “shining personality”!!!! 🙂

    My aunt always had an ooga horn in her cars. She was a riot (my mom’s sister). She’d announce her arrival with her horn, then ring our doorbell like crazy. So then we 4 kids (after we heard the doorbell .. when we knew she could hear us!) would yell: “Quick! Hide!! Aunt Kay’s here!!!” Oh what fun memories! .. I love how you “love when Terry leaves” (LOL) becuz of what he does & says at that time.

    Adorable little owl purses. Love the bright colors! And its wings. 😉
    I agree that the grey poncho & hat look “made for Ricci”.
    I can’t believe you iron shorts!!!!! |8=O)

    Surprisingly, my body has immediately adjusted to DST this year. Surprised the dickens out of me.
    Have a pleasant week, my friend.
    Hugs, Kat

  5. A post on your blog makes my day. I so love that your brothers and sister still want to get together with you. I know you love it too. And of course I love that Terry has your Dads truck. I want to come to the Kansas sale. I’ll have to see if I can work that in. Our week has been busy. Started off with me having an endoscopy on Monday and Jerald is having a colonoscopy this morning at 7:30. Tomorrow we are going to Wichita to help John and Amber move. I am also serving at the shelter on Thursday before we go to Wichita., This evening I am serving 100 at church for their Wednesday evening activities. Love you girl and thanks for making my day with your blog. sw

    • Hi Sue! I would love to see you at the Kansas sale, but maybe we can work it out that we could get together before then to visit? I hope your test results turn out good. Wow, you are one busy lady. I always love hearing about what all you are doing. Have a safe trip to Wichita. Love you too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

