Posted by: tgonzales | February 16, 2015

Valentine’s Weekend through Pictures

Grandpa Casteel, Butch, Sis, and Sue

 

I had the opportunity this weekend to go through my Mother’s pictures and things. These are pictures that I remember seeing so many years ago, but they mean so much more. This is a picture of my Mom’s Dad with his first three grandchildren and my Mom’s first nephew and nieces. Butch on the left, Sis (Darla) on the right, and Sue is in my Grandpa Casteel’s arms. They are all of my cousins. Butch and my Grandpa have passed away, so this picture has so much more meaning to me now. Butch’s wife told me once that she drinks her morning coffee as she reads my blogposts. Sis reads my posts on Facebook and comments there, Sue takes time out of her day when I blog to always stop by here to comment. I appreciate all of my cousins and friends comments. Sis and Sue I got both of your phone calls and will call you real soon. I love you all.

Mom 2This picture is of my dear sweet Mama when she was around 10 I would say. I loved that the photo was in color.

Mom and Siblings 2I loved this one as well, my beautiful Aunt Bee top left, my Mama top right, my Uncle Wayne bottom left, and my dear sweet Aunt Marthie in front. I love Mom’s boots and I believe she was around 13 or 14 here.

Mom and DaddyI love this picture as well of my Mama and Daddy. I want to think that this was Valentine’s Day. Everything else that I ran across had to do with Valentine’s Day. 🙂

Valentine's 1I was so happy when I found the things that my Mama had kept from our childhood and they were Valentine’s. This was my Valentine envelope from when I was probably in first grade.

Valentine's 2These two Valentine’s stood out to me. I couldn’t believe that someone actually took the time to place this envelope into a typewriter (who had a typewriter back then anyway?) And they spelled my name right.

Valentine's 5There you go my friend Marla (Smith) Ford had signed the back. I found out that she secretly reads my blog, which makes me happy. 😉

Valentine's 3I also found this Yogi Bear Valentine and wondered who it was from?

Valentine's 4Flipped it over and found Miss Vici (Tinsley) McClure’s name. I had a wonderful Valentine’s Day reminiscing over photos, Valentine’s from the past and having time to spend with, Jennifer, Wendy, Tom, Mike, Jarred, and John. It couldn’t have been any better if I would have planned it. I hope you all had a wonderful Valentine’s Day and weekend. I sure would love to hear all about it.


Responses

  1. Lovely memories!

  2. You found some lovely treasures to keep close to your heart. Thank you for sharing!

  3. you’re quite the romantic, aren’t you ? ❤

  4. Awww, such a sweet post. I particularly like the photo of your parents as a young couple.
    Though I’m still in the realms of the flu (began 11 days ago with 2 days of 102 temp), Frank lovingly gave me flowers, Godiva Belgian Chocolates, and THE most loving card ever!!
    Love surrounds us!!
    Love, Kat

  5. Oh Tammy, I love the pictures that you posted. I remember all of them from some of the pictures that my Mom had. I also have valentines that look very similar to the ones you have. Ohhhhhh the memories. Love you girl to the moon and back.

  6. I think that was chalk clarkson holding Sur in the picture, it was taken down at Great Grandma Hanks house, Chalk and Grace rented it for quite some time then Martha ann Wayne Casteel lived there.


Leave a Reply

Categories

