Posted by: tgonzales | October 20, 2014

October 18-19, 2014 Weekend; Field Trip with Mom, Jackie, and 14 Others, Art Show on Porter Street, Mom’s Alzheimer’s, and Craftacular

1

2

My weekend started off with me joining a group of Mom’s new neighbors at Town and Country for lunch on Friday.

4

Jackie was one of the volunteers to go along and help on the bus ride. I think the volunteers and nurses enjoyed the ride more than the neighbors did. 🙂

3

I appreciate all that Jackie has done and will do for Mom, she is a very good daughter.

5

Jackie and I enjoyed our lunch and of course we don’t know for sure whether Mom did or not. She is very confused all of the time now.

6On Saturday my goal was to visit my sweet friend Rosa and her artistic friends at the Porter Street Art Show.

7

I met Rosa when she took my Crochet 102 class last month. I loved seeing Rosa’s newest crochet creation and was so glad that she brought it to show me.

8

9

10

Here are just a few of Rosa’s beautiful creations.

11

When I finally tore John away from one of the artists’ booth displaying jewelry I had him take our picture. I loved seeing Rosa and loved being a part of her day.

12

And don’t you know I couldn’t resist this lovely brooch beautifully made by Rosa.

13

Then I was so intrigued by all of Dana’s creations and I encouraged her to put one of her necklace creations on after she told me she had sold the one that she had just had on. Dana was so interesting to talk with and I loved her smile.

14

And I could not resist this lovely creation by Dana with the thimble, mask, key, buttons, and blingyness attached.

15I just loved this little metal sculpture that Joann made. As John and I were standing by her and looking across the street this little yellow lady fell over, I kidded John and said that she was trying to do a cheer. Apparently she has little pom poms that go on her hands, but Joann did not have time to tie them on her before the show. 🙂 Our Saturday ended with Dinner with our dear brother-in-law and sister-in-law CW and Ricci.

16On Sunday morning I arrived at Mom’s new apartment to find that she had packed everything and as soon as I walked in she told me she was ready to go home. She said that she was packed and ready to go.

17I walked around the corner to find that she had pulled the mattress off of her bed and removed the bed skirt, sheets, pillows, and blankets. She kept telling me that she had packed all night and was ready for me to take her home. Of course she was doing this at her old home as well; just a lot more stuff and a lot more rooms packed. Since it was time for me to take her blood sugar and give her insulin shot I sat her down to do that and then took her to the dining room to have her breakfast.

18

It was cute how Mom decided to help one of her neighbors who just had one of his legs amputated into his room after breakfast. I wish the owners would give Mom more jobs to do like this so that maybe she will stop packing her stuff. Remaking that bed was a killer for me. Once I got her bed made with a little help from Mom and some of her stuff put back into the closet I decided to leave while she was in the bathroom. When I did tell her I was leaving she told me that I needed to take her home and I told her that she was home. I told her that everyone there liked her and would take good care of her as I was exiting her bedroom she said that I didn’t love her anymore. And as I opened the door to her apartment to leave she shouted, “I WOULD NEVER LEAVE YOU!!!” That’s what hurts the most is that I know that she would have never left any of us, even though I know that she is in the best of hands it still hurts. I know that this will not be the last time that she will want me to take her home or say that I don’t love her. With this Alzheimer’s disease I am just grateful that she can still move around as well as she can.

19

Anyway, Jackie has been involved with a craft show called Craftacular for the last several years and asked if I would be interested in joining her.

20

And of course when we do a show we always have to set up prior to make sure we know where we want things to hang or lay.

21

Sunday was no different, we hung, rehung, folded, unfolded, stacked, and shifted things for 2 and a half hours.

22

I think it will be fun to be in a booth with Jackie once again and I think there will be some laughing and crying at the same time.

10710601_10152349792721781_1655715258394287987_n

If you are in the area of 10100 Grady Avenue, Maize, Kansas at the Maize Recreation Building from 10-2 on Saturday; we would both love to see you. 🙂 Hope you all have have a wonderful week.


Responses

  1. Sounds like you had a very busy weekend, Tamara. Fun and bittersweet, too. Glad you were able to support your friends, your mom and your sister. You are very loyal and generous with your time. While it must be so hard on you to see your mother with her illness, you seem to be able to keep it in perspective. You are very strong. Take care of you, too, though!

    • Hi Jeanne! Thank you for the kind words and for thinking that I am so strong. I’m so glad that you didn’t see me as I buried my head in the dirty/clean sheets as I sobbed and left the building yesterday. 🙂 I sure didn’t feel very strong at that point. But I know that I have to be in the days to come. As always your kind words always push me on. Love and Hugs, Tamara

  2. So many pretty crafty things going on here 🙂 Wish I could come visit you again at this sale! If I did, I would hug you and tell you that you are loved, and strong, and a wonderful daughter. Love you friend ~ hugs, LV

  3. Oh Tammy, I wish could be closer so I could help you and Jackie a little bit with your Mom. I have experience at putting rooms back together after they have been packed an re-packed. Oh my, Sis and I did the same thing each time we went to see Our mom. And yes she always told us if we loved her we would take her home. I would like to tell you that it will get better but I think you already that won’t happen yet. Don’t forget that we all love you very much. Love the brooch made by Rosa. And I think my fav is the purple brooch made with the lace Just beautiful. Love you cuz. sw

  4. Hi Tamara ~
    My heart aches so, when reading about your Mom. This is such heart hurt for you. :,-( As for the bed, I would think an employee of the home ought to remake the bed. Your mom’s not living there for free; therefore, they are her employees! If (when) it happens again, I suggest you get an employee to help you for sure!

    I am very impressed by Joann’s metal sculptures! (I saw another one in the background.)
    I love your black mannequin head! Where did you find that?
    How wonderful for you & Jackie to do the craft fair together. Something FUN to look forward to this Sat. Yaayyy!!

    Take good care of yourself, dear Tamara.
    Blessings all around!
    Love, Kat

  5. I loved all the crafty bits, there were some gorgeous broaches. Sorry about your Mum , as you know we are just a bit behind you with my Mum. My brother is hoping to move back to the UK soon to help out. Mum just complains of being lonely all the time,, but she has lots of people visit daily, but she forgets! Such a horrid illness. Cathyx

  6. I would have bought the same brooch you did, it’s gorgeous.
    and your sister is so talented, I didn’t know that before, thought she mainly starred in videos about chicken runs 🙂

    It must be devastating to hear your mom say things like that, but you know it’s the illness talking and not her true soul. xxx


Leave a Reply

Categories

