Posted by: tgonzales | October 15, 2014

Wordless Wednesday-October 15, 2014

 

I know the title says wordless Wednesday, but how many times have I not said a word on here? Anyway, John and I visited Mom in her new apartment for the first time last night and we arrived just in time for dinner.

DSC_0013 (393x800)

As always Mom had to put her lipstick on before going out of her house.

DSC_0018 (800x525)

When John and I arrived she acted like she didn’t know me, but was willing to give me a hug and a kiss. Even though she doesn’t remember me she knows that she loves me.

DSC_0022 (800x526)

I remember when Jackie and I took her to her new apartment on Friday, Jackie told her that we loved her as we hugged her and she said I like you too. Then Jackie asked her if she loved us and she said “YES, because I have to!” as we all laughed and cried at the same time.

DSC_0024 (800x537)

Mom is adapting to her new surroundings and seems to be content, which makes it easier for us to go and see her AND to leave her. As we were leaving the facility last night Mom was asking the nurse if she could help her do the dishes. I think she will soon be assigned to cleaning off the tables as that will make her feel needed. This is the first time that I haven’t cried in a long time when I left her.

I want to remind anyone in the vicinity of Colwich, Kansas; please feel free to visit. Thanks to her good friend Gracia she has a nice little notebook for you to write down what happened during your visit. Don’t forget to write your name too, because Mom doesn’t remember and it would help to know who she is talking about. Also if you would like to send her a card please send to the following address:

Please notify me if you want to write a note to Mom.

I also wanted to thank all of you for your kind comments from my last post. I Love you and appreciate you all and hope you have a wonderful week.


Responses

  1. That looks like a lovely place for your Mom to be safe 🙂
    Super big hugs,
    L

  2. What a beautiful place to call home and sounds like your mom has adjusted very well. So thankful for that. I understand you crying when you leave. I did that many times with my Mom-and it still hurts just thinking about it. It does get better. Your mom may not recognize you when you go to see her but her heart always will. Love you all very much. sw

  3. I don’t know if it’s the best idea to put her address out there like this. If anyone actually is going to send her something, they should know a way to contact YOU to request her information.

    • Joshua, Don’t worry the facility is locked down and anyone wanting to visit has to be let in. Love you, Momma!

  4. Oh Tamara, I have to admit I’m fighting back the tears as I view the pic of your mom in the hall. (no more egg gathering) I’m sorry, I just can’t help it. :,-(
    On the flip side, it is wonderful to hear she is adjusting well — and that you left her without any tears for the first time!
    It certainly is a beautiful home. I’ll bet there’s a great garden area out back for the folks to stroll in. Am I right? (pic please!)
    Such a huge burden lifted from you & your family, now that your mom is in a safe place. God bless all of you.
    Love & special hugs ~
    Kat

  5. So glad she is adjusting so well. It is such a relief to not have to worry about our sweet mommas when we leave them. My mom is very happy at her new home and has met so many wonderful friends. Will continue to keep your mom, you and Jackie in my prayers.

  6. I’m happy/sad about this news, happy she has a safe place to land where she will be cared for. And happy that you guys will have some relief too. But sad for all the reasons to be sad over. Big hugs to you and Jackie. xo

  7. What a mixed blessing this is. Very relieved that your mom is adjusting so well and that your burden has lifted quite a bit, but also sad that it was necessary. It’s a beautiful facility and I hope your mom will have many happy days living there. Hugs! I, too, kind of feel maybe you shouldn’t have her address posted. Have people contact you directly for it. You just never know (unfortunately).


Leave a Reply

Categories

