Posted by: tgonzales | August 1, 2014

TGIF, 40 Forklift Steering Wheel Covers and a Pair of Mary Jane Shoes

I have been busy the last 2 months trying to complete 40 forklift steering wheel covers. With taking care of Mom, John, working, teaching, crocheting, and sometimes sleeping these 40 forklift steering wheel covers have just about done me in. When my boss told me that as a company he was working on a safety campaign for the vehicles.

DSC_2624

Apparently we have had lots of accidents with the forklifts and the vehicles our company has. Anyway him and our marketing director created a logo and for some reason I popped up and said that I could make the forklift steering wheel covers. I thought how hard could it be? Just measure the steering wheel and plus I would get paid for it. (main reason) Anyway, after I said I would make them my boss said I need 40. Me being me couldn’t say no, so I set out to accomplish this. I went and bought fabric and supplies. Cut the yellow fabric into rectangular strips and took them to the logo applying company. Waited for them to return and then I cut them out along with heat and bond. Can I say? I hate cutting out. Yep, I think I just said that. 🙂 Then I had to iron on the heat and bond to the logo fabric…..and if you sew you know the list goes on and on.

DSC_2626

So-o-o-o-o-o after many weeks I finally set out to complete them before the end of this week and I am happy to say that I completed them at 4:30 am this morning. Now I can get back to making all those special orders that you all have been so kind to order.

DSC_2630

Here are the little Mary Jane shoes that Debby ordered and I can’t wait to get started on the 4 pairs of crocodile stitch booties she has ordered as well.

DSC_2635

The pattern I used for the little shoes is by Elizabeth Alan of the Lovely Crow designs. You can find her patterns here. So what have you been up to? Anything fun? I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend, I should have an update on Mom next time.


Responses

  1. Wow, Tamara! I can’t believe you made all those covers plus all of the other things that you have on your plate. You are definitely a super woman in my book. I’m glad that your Mom is back home and that she hasn’t gotten any worse. She is a beautiful woman and I’m sure she’s been your rock in years past.

    Hugs
    Barbara

  2. Tammy you are so much like me. I used to have trouble saying “no” to people , but I have learned it feels pretty good to say no once in a while. Send a picture of the steering wheel cover on the steering wheel. Love the Mary Jane booties and the crochet hats. Love you girl. sw

  3. With the money you earned from making the &*%$# forklift steering wheel covers, go and treat yourself to a full-day aromatherapy full face and body treatment!!!!!!!

  4. Haha! “Sometimes sleeping…” I said Haha but I know you are serious!!! 😦
    I can hardly believe you made *40* of those awesome steering wheel covers! I hope the pay was extremely good, for all the work & time that you put into them!!
    Your crochet work is so beautiful in these photos. {heart}
    Love you!
    Kat


Leave a Reply

Categories

