Posted by: tgonzales | May 23, 2014

Vacation Day, Taking Mom to Her Class Reunion, a Few More Hats, and the Garden

1

I am on vacation today and will be leaving this afternoon to take my Mom to her 65th class reunion. My Mom went to a one room school house her first 8 years of school and then went to the big (not really) town of Covington, Oklahoma for her high school years. I’m not for sure how many were in her graduating class but there aren’t many left now. Covington holds an Alumni banquet every year and Mom has tried to go to almost every one of them. I’m sure she didn’t go when us kids were little but after we were grown she did. Anyway, since this is a holiday weekend I decided to take an extra day off so that I could get a few things of my own done before heading out of town. I love spending time with my Mom as I know that our time is limited. I am looking forward to staying with my Aunt Marthie and Uncle Buell and helping her out since she has just had parathyroid surgery.

2

Now on to the crochet; I thought you all would like to see the slouchy hat on someone so my co-worker was kind enough to model it for me. Thanks Carrie. She said that she loved it and I loved seeing it on someone other than my eyeless head mannequin. 🙂

3

I really need to concentrate on some manly hats; although if I remember right women make up most of my customers and they are not buying hats for their husbands. 😉 What I really need to do is concentrate on younger masculine hats for little boys and babies. Anyway, I loved how this Galilee hat turned out even though these are not my favorite colors, someone will hopefully like it enough to buy it.

4

Then I made another newsboy hat from CrocheTrend’s hat pattern. I love the way the Bernat Mosaic (psychedelic) yarn striped.

5

Of course I had just enough yarn to make a cute little flower to go on it too. I thought the green fabric covered button set it off perfectly. What do you think?

6

John has been working so hard the last week to get the ground ready to plant our garden. He even extended the garden space and when I asked him why he planted a tomato plant in a pot he simply said that he planted it for me so when I was too tired to walk to the garden to pick a tomato this would be close for me. Isn’t he the sweetest?

7

I will be taking pictures of it periodically so you can watch it grow with me. 🙂 Soooooo…….I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend and I will talk to you later.


Responses

  1. Great stuff there ~ have a wonderful Mom-filled weekend 🙂

    • Thanks Lisa! I plan on it. 🙂 Love and hugs, Tamara

  2. Tamara,
    You deserve a break. What do you like to do besides crochet? Whatever it is, treat yourself this weekend. We will be decorating our children’s graves and going to the memorial services at Resthaven. Their program is SUPERB!!
    Love ya lots,
    Kaye

    • Oh Kaye you are so sweet. I like to cook when I can. We will also be decorating graves in Oklahoma. ((((Love you too!!!! Lots!!!!)))

  3. Have a great and relaxing time with your Mom and family.

    With my grandson, Levis,’ help -we are finally getting our
    garage, patio and surrounding space cleaned and reorganized.
    After not being able to host family parties for a few years,
    I’m happy to say; We are planning a family BBQ in June.
    I plan to enjoy and take advantage of the cooler weather,
    and spend as much time outside as possible.

    Ray has most of our garden in, but we still have a few fun/new
    plants, (salsify and celeriac) are still in the the starter window,
    waiting to go into the ground. These are vegies, we have wanted
    to try, but have not been able to find in the store. If all goes well
    we will at least get to try them this year,

  4. Here I am – a day late as usual. Hah! So now you are off with your mom having a grand ole time… 65th class reunion – wow! I wonder how many (few) classmates will be there.

    Uh, you went from purple to blonde hilite. At least I think it is blonde. I like it!! Hats galore! Yes, your flowery-fabric-covered button goes perfect with your flower on the hat!!

    Okay, so I have to say John wins BEST HUBBY IN THE WORLD for his sweetness, kindness, thoughtfulness, & love .. planting one special tomato plant in a pot for Tired Tamara. Awwwwwww………. {{{John}}}
    Do you plant any “patio tomatoes”? Those are the cherry tomatoes. That’s the one I plant in a pot .. on my patio. Being that they are small, they ripen soooo much sooner than big ‘maters. Bite size! And sooo tasty!! Love ’em!!!

    See ya in your next post. I’m glad you are having a fun time with your mom!!
    Loving Hugs,
    Kat

  5. come sell your hats here – they would get snapped up like hot cakes in Alaska 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

