Posted by: tgonzales | March 3, 2014

March 1-2, 2014 Weekend, another Pair of Slippers, Two Purple Hats, Indian Maiden Quilt Finished, and March has Came in as a Lion

feb2014-winner

I woke on Saturday to find that I had won the Made it Challenge for February 2014 over on Woolhogs blog. Maryanne hosts a challenge every month and I won a beautiful shawl from Trevlyn of Babushka Craft.

1

After I pulled myself down from the clouds I started my Saturday off with finishing up these adorable slippers, before heading to Twist to teach the second session of my Crochet 102 class. I arrived early so my friend Lisa and I had lunch together at Picasso’s Pizza. I love that place BUT it is so loud in there we couldn’t hear each other, hopefully next time we can go somewhere quieter so that we can visit better. Anyway it’s always nice to get together with Lisa to share our thoughts on teaching.

2

My second session of 102 went very well, out of the 7 people I had last Saturday; 3 brave souls showed up even though the weather was turning bad with ice coming down. The other 4 are rescheduled to take my next Crochet 102 class which are Tuesday, March 4th or March 11th from 6-8. I was so proud of Linda, Virginia, and Kelsey who completed a granny square, circle, coaster, and a swirly scrubber. It makes my heart happy to know all of these women have the skills to go on to crochet anything that their hearts desire. Oops, I forgot to mention that I made a purple hat before I left to go to Twist too. I’m sorry to say that I didn’t get a picture with my three students this time, but hopefully I will see them again for another class.

3

John and I were going to go out to eat and go to a movie on Saturday evening but with the weather turning bad we decided to stay close, so we had dinner at LeMonde and came home and watched Despicable Me (# 1). After all of those minion hats that I crocheted you would think that I wouldn’t want to watch them in a movie, but I enjoy it anyway. For those of you who asked where the picture of John and me was taken; it was at my niece Emilee’s wedding in January. We were the first ones who stepped out on the dance floor after the bride and groom danced. And the funniest part about it was that John’s jacket was tucked into his pants in the back on his right side. When I found out, I just reached back and pulled it out for him. He had tucked in when he had gone to the bathroom to give himself his insulin shot. We had a good laugh, as always.

4

4b

Sunday morning I woke to snow, sleet, ice, and COLD. So I decided that I was just going to hibernate for the day. And that’s just what I did, so I made another purple hat…..

5

and I sat in my nest most of the morning making another pair of slipper soles, and

6

finished sewing the little crocheted flowers onto my Indian Maiden quilt. The Indian Maiden quilt is going to go in the Prairie Quilt Guild Quilt Show in June. There were three sets of hands that made this quilt; first mine which cut all the appliqué pieces and trims out by hand, then hand sewed all the Indian maidens pieces on the background block, then made a button hole stitch all the way around each maiden by hand, I then sewed the trim on by machine. After I made 20 of these maidens I stuffed them in a shoebox and stored them in the closet until my sister asked me what I had done with them. I told her and she asked if I wanted her to sew them together to make a quilt and I told her of course, because obviously I wasn’t going to do it. So she picked out the fabric and started setting the blocks together and called me one day and asked if I would like for her to make 2 quilts instead of one, since the 20 blocks would have made the quilt very big. After she was done setting the blocks together and adding the backing we decided to have Mom hand quilt them. So she hand quilted them, then Jackie sewed the sleeves on the top and gave them back to me. When I got them back I noticed that one of the squares looked like it needed some little crocheted flowers on it. So I crocheted some flowers out of crochet thread and I sewed them on.

6b

I am so glad that the quilts are finally completed. (I think? For now)

7

I also made Pozole. Pozole is a Mexican soup that has pork meat, Mexican spices, and hominy in it.

7b

I even soaked some chile ancho chiles to blend up to use in the Pozole.

8

I made some homemade flour tortilla chips. I stack my tortillas and then use a pizza cutter to cut the strips….

9

and I made homemade salsa. John thought he was in heaven.

10

I ended the day by blogging and watching the Academy Awards, but of course I had some interruptions from John who needed my attention again and of course he got when he showed me one of his latest creations and it was for me. 😉

11

Then he brought up these lovely earrings.

12

He is such a goofball, but he makes me smile so I think I will keep him. It’s always a good weekend when I have time to cook and create some things. So what exciting things did you do or not this last weekend? I would love to hear all about it.


Responses

  1. John made those jewellery items? He should have his own ETSY shop!!!!!!! and as for hominy, pozole and tortillas – what on earth would those things be? sounds like something you’d find in a zoo…. 🙂

    • Hi Jill!

      I will tell John what you had to say about the Etsy shop. And as for hominy, pozole, and tortillas; you must not have many Mexicans in South Africa, huh? HAHAHAHAHAHA! When you come to Wichita to visit me I will make you pozole and I’ll take you to the zoo. You always make me smile!

      Love You!
      Tamara

      • I see that the closest international airport to Wichita is Tulsa. That far from your house?

  2. Congratulations on your winning. That’s got to feel wonderful. Sounds like you had an all around lovely weekend (despite or maybe in spite of the weather)! Creative juices certainly run in your family. Beautiful crochet, beautiful quilts and beautiful jewelry. Wow!

    • Hi Jeanne!

      Yes it is a great feeling to have won and I can hardly wait until I get my purple shawl in the mail. 🙂 Yes, we are truly blessed to have been born with wanting to create pretty things. Of course I feel the same way about you. Thanks so much for stopping by.

      Love and Hugs, Tamara

  3. Oh, lucky you!! Congrats on winning the shawl!! LOVE your quilt and that pazole looks DELICIOUS!!!.. Love what John’s making too! That’s a bracelet, right? I LOVE turquoise!.. and the earrings are so pretty too! Glad to hear you enjoyed your weekend!.. I kept busy this weekend.. (almost SO busy, that I’m actually HAPPY that it’s Monday again! How’d THAT happen?!!)… I did watch the awards last night! Wasn’t Ellen funny dressed up as Glinda the Good Witch?!.. And I just LOVED how Pink sang the song Somewhere Over the Rainbow.. (almost made me cry, it was so beautiful!)…. ((Hugs)) and have a great day! ~tina

    • Hi Tina!

      Thanks so much for stopping by to let me know about your weekend. 🙂 I always love hearing from you and yes I thought of you when Pink came out and did the tribute on the Wizard of Oz. Pink is a kick-butt kind of girl just like me. HAHAHAHAHAHA, but I can’t sing worth a darn. And oh how I love Ellen. She is such a funny and good person. I hope you have an amazing day and week.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  4. My weekend isn’t worth writing about after reading about yours. Congratulations on winning the shawl. And Johns jewelry is OMG Beautiful. You are both so talented. And your soup looks delicious. Love your slippers & hat too. Sandi

    • Hi Sandi!

      Oh I bet your weekend was very eventful, I would love to hear all about it. Thanks so much for stopping by to comment and I will make sure I tell John that you loved his jewelry.

      Hugs, Tamara

  5. Hey Jill!

    We have an airport in Wichita too. It’s called Wichita Mid-Continent Airport. I would gladly drive 2 hours and 45 minutes to pick you up in Tulsa, Oklahoma if that’s the only way you can fly in from South Africa. 🙂

    Hugs, Tamara

  6. You are indeed a WINNER! Hope to see you prize at guild in 2 weeks,
    The Indian maiden quilt is so cute. Now that you have them done (sorta), who gets the second quilt? I look forward to seeing it at the Quilt show in June. Thanks for the reminder I need to get busy completing the quilt my granddaughter started in Quilt camp last year and seeing if I have another I can get done before the last minute.

    You and John are so cute/fun/hilarious. Isn’t it fun to have that someone special to laugh at yourself with.

    • Hi Linda!

      I’m so glad that you like the quilt and I can’t wait to see your quilts in the show as well. Thank you for stopping by to comment too. See you soon.

      Hugs, Tamara

  7. Love the purple hat with the button on it. The Indian maiden quilt is adorable-I have always loved that pattern. Having Jackie and your Mom work on it too makes it very special. Johns’ jewelry is wonderful. I know the soup tasted wonderful. Its been a rough week at the Wyssman household. We were supposed to go to Wichita to see the grandchildren and it didn’t happen. I haven’t seen the kids since Christmas and that’s too long. One of my friends passed away last week at age 57 from a very serious lung disease. That also made for a bummer of a week. I also had a test run in me last week and then went to Stillwater to take Jeralds mom and his aunt to the eye doctor. I was so glad to see the weekend come. Getting ready to go to Durant tomorrow for a meeting. Anyway I’m too busy this week to get down. ha ha Have a great week Tamara and I love you. sw

    • Hi Sue!

      Thanks for loving the things that I make and for stopping by to tell me. I will make sure I tell John that you love his jewelry. 🙂 I’m so sorry to hear that you have a had such a bad week. The loss of a friend or family member are so very hard and when they are so young. My thoughts and prayers are with you and I know the weather will get better so that you can come and see your grandkids. Oh by the way I want to know about your tests? You can message me on Facebook if you don’t want to answer me here. Take care!

      Love you Cuz!
      Tamara

  8. WOWZA!!! Congrats on winning your lovely purple shawl. Is that why you made 2 purple hats? 😉
    Your addition of your crocheted flowers on the quilt makes it purrfect!!
    The bracelet & earrings John made are awesome .. and so “Tamara”!! It is great that he has such a creative hobby .. and one that is beneficial to YOU! 😀

    We got a bunch of snow (& wind — so there were drifts) yesterday. But the cold has left us, so it is now raining – working on melting the snow. And it is supposed to be around 50º by the weekend. Yippeeee!!!!
    Not looking forward to “Spring Ahead” this weekend … losing an hour….

    Thanks for sharing your & John’s beautiful creations .. including in the kitchen.
    Hugs!!
    Kat
    Mmmm…. Homemade tortilla chips *and* homemade salsa!!!

    • Hi Kat!

      Thanks so much for loving the things that I do and I will make sure I tell John that you love his creations too.

      It sounds like you had the same type of weather as us. Now we are in for some warmer weather as well and a chance of rain tomorrow. As you I do not look forward to losing an hour to my day. But it will be ok, I will try and rest another hour on Sunday. 😉 As always I love hearing from you and hope you have a wonderful week.

      Love and Hugs, Tamara

  9. I am so very very happy you won the challenge! Once again you had a productive weekend ~ I need to get energetic like you! I was a slug on the couch watching season 5 of Sons of Anarchy with the Frankster making granny squares. Those earrings are absolutely divine!!! He’s definitely a keeper 🙂

    • Hi Lisa!

      I don’t know that I am so energetic or if it’s because I get up so darn early? I really didn’t do much of anything on Sunday besides lounge around. I love those types of days and sometimes I feel like I need more of them. I will make sure that I tell John you love his earrings.

      Hugs, Tamara

  10. Wow, fun!

    Those are FABULOUS earrings! Nicely done.

    • Hi Mindy! Thanks so much for stopping by. Hugs, Tamara

  11. (THIS.) It looks soooo gooood!!!!! *mouth salivates*
    ALSO padre’s earrings look LEGIT and he needs to be on etsy or something.

    • Hi Chacho! Your taste buds must have changed. I didn’t think you liked hominy? I will make sure I tell your Padre that you think the earrings are LEGIT. Love you, Momma


Leave a comment

Categories