Posted by: tgonzales | February 28, 2014

Lily’s Slippers, Another Pair of Slippers for the Kansas Barn Sale, Stats on the Popcorn Stitch Shawl, and a Few Differences Between John and Me

1

Well…..here it is Friday again and I am HAPPY again because it’s almost the weekend. I managed to finish Lily’s (my great niece) slippers and

2

I even had enough yarn to make another pair much smaller to go in the barn sale. The big pair of camo slippers and the fuschia colored slippers were Jacob (my nephew) and Charlie (my great niece’s) slippers. I hope Lily, Charlie, and Jacob love wearing their slippers as much as I loved making them for them. 🙂

3

As I started crocheting the curly fringe on my friend Terry’s shawl, I began to wonder how long it actually took me to make just one fringe. So I timed myself…..I chain 22, place 3 sc in the second ch from hook. Then continue to make 3 sc’s in each one of the chains, totaling 63 sc in each fringe. I watched the clock and it takes me about 5 minutes to make one fringe. So then I was curious to see how many fringes there would be all together, so I counted along each edge and there will be a total of 180 fringes. Wow! 180 fringes, 11,340 sc, and 15 hours equal an awesome popcorn stitch curly fringed shawl; if I do say so myself. And I think I just did. 😉

4

I’m not sure why I was thinking about the differences between John and me but maybe it was because I was waiting for him to finish his dinner last night. We were both eating minestrone soup with a salad. I got to thinking how slow John eats and how fast I eat. I can never figure out why it takes him so long to eat a few vegetables, pasta, and broth. All I know is that he enjoys every little bite and I know I do too, but it takes me less time to enjoy it.  🙂  Also John doesn’t like to have his back to the door at a restaurant and me….I don’t mind it at all. So I always sit with my back to the door and he sits with his face to the door. Maybe that’s why we get along so well? I think the only thing we both like to do the same is push the shopping cart at the grocery store. I love to let John go do the shopping, because if we go together all we do is fight over who is going to push the shopping cart. It’s funny because John loves to mosey along in the store and he looks at everything. I scoot right along picking up things that I need and moving on. When I go to the store with him and he is pushing the shopping cart and he stops to linger, the only way I can get him to move faster is to grab the shopping cart and head on down the aisle. HAHAHAHAH! I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend and I’ll talk to you on the flip side.


Responses

  1. Wow, I don’t think I’ve ever sat down to figure out how much time something would take to crochet. Knowing the amount of time needed ahead of time might actually discourage me. But you? I believe it’s a challenge for you! Beautiful work as always and that is a wonderful photo of you and John!!

    • Hi Jeanne!

      You know I think you know me better than I do myself. 🙂 The worst thing that I have found, is that I had forgotten how long it actually took me to make the first one. But I was making it for myself so I just plugged right along without figuring it out. With this one I wanted to be able to tell someone who asks and questions how much I would charge for another one. Some people do not understand how long it takes to crochet various things. Thank goodness most of the people that ask are aware. 😉 Anyway, thank you so much for stopping by to comment. Love and Hugs, Tamara

  2. The curly fringe on the shawl is beautiful. Love it love it love it. I got tickled at you telling about eating at the restaurant and John doesn’t want his back to the door. That’s me. But I can say Jerald is the one that likes to push the shopping cart. Wish we lived closer- I love you girl. sw

    • Thanks Sue for loving the curly fringe on the shawl. I love it too, but I’m really going to love it more when I’m finished with it and the owner sees it. 🙂 I wish the same thing cuz. Love you too, Tamara

  3. It is all because you are a Mum, you eat fast so you get a hot meal whilst dealing with little ones, you shop fast for the same reason, can’t explain the door thing. I like to face into a restaurant so I can see what is going on and I can’t shop at all with my husband cos he puts in the wrong thing and takes out the right one. Viva the difference hey. Lovely crochet as always. Have a great weekend. X

    • Hi Cathy! I’m with you on facing into the restaurant. I sometimes don’t even hear what John is talking about because I’m paying too much attention to what is going on in front of me. 🙂 Thank you so much for loving my crochet and for stopping by to tell me so. Hugs, Tamara

  4. I love that you do yarn math too 🙂 FYI, there are approx 20,000 stitches in most afghans…just in case you needed to know that bit of useless yarn math. I think it’s a guy thing about needing to face the door. Frank says it’s the military in him that he needs to keep out a watchful eye to protect those he is with. Go figure, I will never understand men thinking that a deranged lunatic will come bursting into the Red Lobster 😉
    Happy Friday!!!

    • Hi Lisa! Thank you so much for always being here, I always love to hear what you have to say. And as for your husband keeping a watchful eye out for his loved ones; that’s just so sweet. You just never know. Love and Hugs, Tamara

    • Actually, if you and Frank lived in South Africa, you’d be grateful that he is so OCD about facing the door when you’re sitting in a restaurant.

      • BWAHAHAHAHA, wait…what? That’s scary. 😉

      • Yikes! Ladies, I think we need to appreciate our boys. Makes me realize it can happen anywhere.

  5. OH it looks beautiful!! I am excited. and love the slippers. You and John are so cute together A PERFECT MATCH!

    • Hi Terry!

      I can’t tell you how pretty and the photos do nothing for the true colors of your shawl. I am getting excited to show you too. It won’t be too much longer, but I have to stop and do something else because my eyes and hands get tired of crocheting so many of those little curly fringes. Thanks for stopping by. Love and Hugs, Tamara

  6. Hey Tamara! Just lovin’ those slippers! But golly, if it takes *you* 15 hours to crochet that gorgeous shawl, it would likely take me 45 hours!!! (Does that mean I could charge triple the price? Hahaha!!)

    Such a sweet photo of you & John dancing. What was the occasion??
    Oh how I *wish* Frank were a slow eater! I am – and he always leaves the table when he’s done. So the only way we are together for an entire meal is if we go out to eat. … Frank does the grocery shopping but, when I do tag along, I push the cart ‘cuz it is a little easier on my arthritic knees & back when I have that to help support me. … We don’t care which of our backs faces the door — as long as we get good food & service!! 😉

    Love & Smiles 🙂 🙂
    :: Kat ::

    • Hi Kat!

      Thank you so much for loving the slippers and the curly fringe. The occassion for John and I dancing was my niece Emilee’s wedding. It was such a beautiful wedding and we had a wonderful time. HaHaHa, that’s funny that you are the opposite of me too. If we ever ate together Frank and I could go do the dishes while you and John sat and ate. 😉 As always thank you so much for being here to comment. I always get such a kick out of you.

      Love you my Friend,
      Tamara

      • LOVE YOU, TAM!!!
        xxxoooooo
        Your kickin’ friend ~
        Kat

  7. That fringe is awesome, time consuming but amazing.

    • Thanks so much for the compliment and for stopping by to tell me. Hugs, Tamara

      • You are always welcome.xx

  8. You are just like me. My mother says she has never seen anyone eat as fast as I do (without actually being a pig about it). I think that’s because I’m secretly always worried someone will snatch my plate away from me. Also, I hate grocery shopping with Rob – we also bicker about who gets to push the trolley, and he can spend HOURS at the meat counter and the bakery….I like to stick to my list and get the hell out asap.

    • Oh Jill, I’m so glad that there is someone else out there just like me. 😉 When I go shoe shopping I do not like to shop around, because I almost always go back to the first pair that I liked. I wish we lived close together that way we could send Rob and John out for groceries and we could get lots done in their absence. 🙂 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by my friend. Love and Hugs, Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

