Posted by: tgonzales | February 17, 2014

February 15-16, 2014 Weekend; Spending Time with Mom, Visiting my Brother Terry, Crochet Stuff, and Remembering

1

My weekend started off with me picking up Mom and us going to breakfast before heading out to Madison, Kansas to see my brother Terry at his home. Mom and I were happy that my nephew and niece Jacob and Kim and their daughters; Lily, and Charlie were all there to greet us. I love watching Mom’s eyes light up when she sees her grandchildren and great-grandchildren.

2

I’m also happy to announce that Terry is getting well and trying to build up his strength again. He isn’t sure what he ate that made his colon act up but he is going to be watching his diet a little closer now.

3

Anyway, before I left my house that morning I decided to throw in 3 pairs of the slippers that I had made. I wanted to see if Terry might be interested in having a pair for himself. I know when he comes in from outside he takes his shoes off and he walks around in his socks. I casually asked him if he would wear a pair if I gave them to him. At first he said “probably not”, and then I asked him to try them on and they fit him like a glove. He smiled and said “you know I just might like them after all.” He then looked at the bottom of the slippers and marveled at my choice of materials for preventing slippage. He thought I had a pretty good idea. 😉

4

I then showed Kim and Cathy and asked them to try on the other 2 pairs that I had with me. I loved that both pairs fit them like they were made for them, so now they each  have a pair of slippers too. I also measured Lily, Charlie, and Jake’s feet so that I can make them each a pair too. I especially loved how Terry wore his the whole time that we were there and I actually think he will probably get lots of good out of them after all. And that makes me HAPPY! 🙂

5

As we left and I was driving away from Terry’s house I couldn’t help remembering how when we were younger and when everyone got together at Mom’s house for Thanksgiving or Christmas and how we all overate and got too full. Every time Terry would walk up to me and say “come on let’s go run around the house.” We would casually walk outside and I always loved that he would let me have a head start and then he would catch up with me and we would laugh all the rest of the way around the house until our sides hurt. I’m not sure what that has to do with anything, but maybe I just wanted to write it down so I would remember the good times that Terry and I have had together. REMEMBERING!!!! I also challenged Mom while we were making that (seems like) long drive between Eureka and El Dorado. I asked her to remember my Grandma Kingerys’ siblings’ names, so she took out her pen and paper and started writing. She said there was: Pearl, Lorraine, Elsie, Grace, Molly, Tillie, Fern, Erma, Vada, Naomi, Clarence, and Fred. She told me there were two more girls (12 children all together) but she couldn’t remember their names. I thought to myself that we probably had everyone but I couldn’t hold the steering wheel and count with my fingers at the same time, so I called my brother Tom to ask him, he knows everything about the family tree. He told me the same names and I asked Mom “who did we forgot?” and she said “I forgot to write down (Grandma Kingery) Vada and Aunt Erma”. We had a good laugh and I loved that it was a challenge for both our memories and it passed the time away.

6

Anywho, I had decided that I wanted to stop in Newton to see Catherine of Creation Station before we went home. I needed to order some size 3 crochet yarn from her for the popcorn stitch shawl that I am making for my friend Terry (not to be confused with my brother Terry). While I was there I saw this yarn called “Mosaic-Fantasy” made by Bernat. I have made several things out of this yarn and loved working with it. It reminds me of Noro yarn but so much more affordable and easier to take care of.

6b

I thought this color choice would be good for my friend Terry’s slouchy hat that she wanted me to make for her. So Sunday I made a slouchy hat and then I decided to make a shell stitch cowl with the rest of the yarn that I had left over.

6c

I love the way they both turned out and if my friend Terry doesn’t want the cowl I can always sell it at the Barn Sale on October 4th in Hesston, right? Both Mom and I agreed that we were very glad that we got out of the house and we were able to spend the day together.

7

Another thing that I worked on this weekend was a hat that I made a year ago and the lady who bought it from me had went through chemotherapy and had lost her hair. She said that this was her favorite hat but she could no longer wear it because it was too big, so she asked me if I could fix it for her. I had used all the yarn that I had made the hat with a year ago, so I found some sock yarn that blended well with it. I made a row of single crochets all around decreasing here and there. Then I made some loops and added 2 buttons to pull it in a little. I hope that it works for her now, if not I can always set the buttons over some more.  How was your weekend? I would love to hear all about it.


Responses

  1. Sounds like a lovely weekend, full of nice visits and sweet rememberings. The crochet projects look terrific, too!

    • Thanks so much Jeanne! Love and Hugs, Tamara

  2. Love the way your whole (extended) family seems to celebrate crochet. So glad you’re blogging again. Missed you while you were away from it. Have a great week!

    Big Hugs!

    • Thanks so much Linda for loving what I talk about and make. And thanks for stopping by to tell me. 🙂 Hugs back at you! Tamara

  3. Good morning cuz Glad you were able to go to Terry and Cathys’ and take your Mom. Yes your Mom always looks happiest when she has her kids or the grandchildren around. My mom was that way too. Love the picture of you and Terry when you were little. I remember so well how cute all the Kingery cousins were. I always thought I wanted to live with your family. Love the new yarn you got and the pretty little hat with the button on it. I still have plenty of buttons if you need more. Have a great day and don’t forget I love you. sw

    • Hi Sue!

      Thanks so much for stopping by to comment. Now that I think about it, all the grandparents I know light up when they see all their grandchildren. 😉 Anway thanks for going back to memory lane with me and I thought that was cute that you thought it would be fun to live with us. 🙂 I will keep you in mind if I ever run out of buttons. 🙂

      With Love Always!
      Tamara

  4. You had a lovely weekend ~ thanks for sharing. Mine was movies (Robin Hood, my favorite) and finished special orders and lots of grannies for my afghan. All in all pretty pleasant and quiet. The hardest part was watching my 17yo child clean out the last of his childhood from his bedroom and fill my car for a trip to Goodwill. I kept grabbing little things to keep and he kept telling me to quit being a hoarder 😉 His room looks fabulous btw…

    • Oh Lisa! It sounds like you had a glorious weekend. I know you cherish those moments with your son, and I bet it feels good to have his room looking good. Have a great week. Love and Hugs, Tamara

  5. Time with family is so special….What a great family of crochet slippers. 🙂

    • Hi Alice!

      Thanks so much for loving the slippers and for stopping by to comment.

      Hugs, Tamara

      • Hugs right back at you. x

  6. Hi Tamara! Your mom looks great. She sure has thick hair, huh?
    Terry looks good too – so glad he’s feeling better.
    How great that those slippers fit every one. And yah, Terry will wear them a lot. I am so amazed at how much Frank loves his (even with the imperfections – which he does not see nor care about – hah!). He wears them every day and continues to rave about them. Love that!!!

    I also love your running-&-laughing memory with Terry!
    And them jogging both your & your mom’s memories on the (seemed long) drive home. 😉 Twelve kids – yikes!!! I remember my dad had a cousin who had 13 kids – 11 of whom lived.

    One of these days I will be buying some Bernat Mosaic ‘cuz I love how it looks and just have to make *something* with it! I’ve no doubt your friend Terry will take the matching cowl off your hands. 🙂
    You are amazing … making that hat smaller!!

    Thanks for posting. Love your photos!!
    Love ‘n Hugs ~
    KAT

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes, my Mom has lots of hair and it needs to be cut. I’m so glad that you love my slippers and I love hearing that Frank loves his pair too. I know John does the same thing; he wears them all the time and comments on how much he loves them. Memories are good! I can’t wait to see what you decide to make with your Mosaic yarn. It always makes my heart happy to read your comments.

      Love you!
      Tamara

  7. “if Terry doesn’t want the cowl”….? seriously, like that’s gonna happen!!!???

    • Hi my Friend! Thanks for the vote of confidence. Love you and have a great day. Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

