Posted by: tgonzales | February 10, 2014

February 8-9, 2014 Weekend; A New Haircut, My Officers Meeting, My Crochet 101 Class, and Random Things

My weekend started off with me getting my haircut. I have been thinking to myself and talking out loud to John and my sister-in-law that I would like to get a really short haircut. Well on Saturday I decided to just do it. I told my hairdresser that I would like something really short, fun, and funky.

1

2

I showed her a few pictures that I found on Pinterest and she made it happen.

3

Here is the look that I got from John when I walked in the kitchen and when he saw my hair or lack of it. Then I asked him to take pictures of my haircut. He cooperated but I could tell that he dislikes my choice of cuts.

4

Here is the back. I haven’t had my hair this short since I was about 8 or 9.

5

I love the front and how she cut it so that if I want to, I can wear it in a faux Mohawk on the weekends. Even though John dislikes my haircut he knows that I’m no different than before. I know I am going to love the ease of the cut and it will also help with the tropical vacations that my body still seems to be going through. 😉

6

As soon as I turned around it was time for the KS My Stitch officers to arrive for our monthly meeting. I prepared vegetable beef soup and prepared everything ahead of time so I didn’t have to do anything except dish it up. We had a very productive meeting and I was so happy that everyone could make it despite the weather conditions. We have a membership incentive every year and if you pay your dues before the end of the January meeting you get your name in a drawing to win a cool bag with lots of yarny and crochet goodies. So on Saturday we drew the winner of the bag as well. I can’t reveal the person who won yet but it’s going to be fun seeing her face when she finds out.

7

Directly after our meeting I headed to Twist to prepare for my last session of the February Crochet 101 class. I was so happy that everyone made it back again for the second session. I loved teaching each and every one of these ladies and was so excited to know that they all want to take my Crochet 102 class as well. I’m looking forward to teaching them much more in the future.

I ended the day by traveling to Newton to see my friend Catherine and bought some yarn from her store called Creation Station. John and I ate dinner at a Mexican restaurant before we headed back home. When I arrived home I was pretty much wiped out and fell asleep watching tv around 8 or 8:30.

Sunday I worked a little bit on the shawl and I managed to sew some gripper (shelf lining material) on the soles of 3 pairs of slippers. Although I didn’t get a lot of crochet done this weekend I feel like it was a very productive one so I’m pleased.

8

I did want to share a few things that I finished up while I was not blogging. The little cowboy hat I made for my dear friend Susie’s daughter who is going to have a boy any day now.

I also made him a pair of boots to go along with the hat. You know John would have tried to get the boots on his big toe but I wouldn’t let him. Both of these patterns are from the Lovely Crow.

10

I also forgot to share this photo of my Mom and her friend Doris who she’s been friends with for 75 years. John and I traveled to Ponca City a couple of weeks ago to pick Mom up from Doris’ house and I loved that they still stay in touch after all these many years. So how was your weekend? Did you have lots to do? I hope everyone has a wonderful Monday.


Responses

  1. I think your haircut is AWESOMENESS personified 🙂

    • Thank you my dear! 🙂

  2. Great hair cut. I agree that the ease of it trumps any length! I was admiring the first photo of the gorgeous lady with the gray/white hair….now if I could look like THAT, I’d give up coloring forever!!! LOL Sounds like you had a most enjoyable and busy weekend. Loved the photo of your mom and her lifelong friend. That’s so impressive!

    • Thanks so much Jeanne for always being here to love the things that I do. I admire my Mom for staying in touch with her little circle of friends that she went to school with. I have some of those friends too and I always look forward to seeing or hearing from them. I hope you have a wonderful week and stay warm my friend. Love and Hugs, Tamara

  3. What a great weekend despite the weather! The pic of John with the hat is totes adorbs! He is such a good sport when I comes to modeling for you 🙂 Happy Monday!

    • Hi Lisa!

      Thanks so much for stopping by to comment and of course as soon as I finish something John just automatically tries to put it on. He’s so funny and usually so cooperative. Hope you have a wonderful day.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  4. I always enjoy your blogs and miss them when you take a break. Love your short haircut and the expression on his face. Husbands don’t have to say anything because we can read it on their faces. Love the picture of Aunt Toots and her friend. Love you girl and have a great week. sw

    • Hi Sue!

      I’m so glad that you enjoy reading my blogposts and for taking the time out to tell me is the icing on the cake. Love you Cuz!

  5. Tamara,
    I know that you really love and appreciate John, My Floyd is like your John. Every woman should have a John or a Floyd in their life. Your mama too, she’s a jewel and you will ever be glad for doing so much for her.
    Love you,
    Kaye

    • Unless they have a Ray. He would never say he doesn’t like my hair but sometimes the look on his face is priceless -a lot like the look on Johns. Ray does not like having his picture taken but goes along to make me or our daughters happy.

      • Linda! We are all lucky to have our guys in our lives. I know your husband would do anything for you and your daughters too. Thanks so much for stopping by to read my ramblings and for stopping to comment. Hugs, Tamara

    • Hi Kaye!

      Yes you are so-o-o-o-o right about having a John or Floyd in your life. Our guys would do anything for us even if they didn’t want to. I both have very special Moms if I do say so myself, and I just did. 🙂

      Love you too!
      Tamara

  6. HAHAHA!!! Mohawk on the weekends — John’s gonna just *love* that!! ;-D
    I’ve been keeping my hair longer than I have in ages .. and just about always have it tied back in a ponytail. This is my solution for *my* tropical vacations. ;-o I’m sure one day I will decide to go back to a short cut (tho it was never as short as yours). At least we women DO something to change our looks. Guys just seem to keep the same haircut forever. LOL

    I wonder what the 2 gals on the left side of the Crochet 101 photo are looking at. Haha!
    John looks so cute in ‘his’ cowboy hat. [giggle!!]
    Love the happy pic of your mom with her forever-friend Doris!!

    Hope your work week passes quickly for ya…..
    Love, Hugs, & Smiles ~
    :: Kat ::

    • Hi Kat!

      Thank you so much for stopping by and you are so right about most guys and their hair styles. 😉

      I’m not sure what the 2 ladies on the left were looking at because there is so much activity going on at the yarn shop all the time. 🙂

      And yes of course John is always trying something on that I have made. He’s so funny.

      I love seeing my Mom with her friends, she’s just an older version of me with mine. 🙂

      Love you my Friend!
      Tamara

  7. What a great weekend. I really love the hat…so cute. X

    • Thanks so much Alice!

      • You are very welcome. x

  8. I think your hair cut it looks great! I used to wear my hair very similarly – short, bright silver and styled. Strange women – on the bus, in grocery stores, etc. – regularly came up to me to ask who styled and colored my hair! (The color was natural.) They often said, “Oh I wish I could wear mine like that.” I think many women are simply afraid to go that short. When I stopped working, I decided to stop styling my hair. It now hangs about 5 inches below my shoulders. I find wearing it down a pain (and I think it makes me look like a witch), so I’ve started wearing it up. I still get compliments about the color but not about the style (or lack thereof)! 🙂

    • Awww-thanks so much for the compliments on the hair cut Alice. I do love my hair short and it is so much easier to take care of. The only draw back is that you do have to keep it up or it gets out of control. I couldn’t believe how fast it was for my stylist to cut my hair and get me out of the chair. 😉 Not much to style. I would love to see your pretty gray hair.


Leave a Reply

Categories

