Posted by: tgonzales | February 3, 2014

February 1-2, 2014 Weekend, Opa Slippers, Oma Slippers, and More Galilee Booties

My weekend started off with waking at my normal early time of 3:26 am. I was eager to get a few of my WIP projects completed. S-o-o-o-o-o-o……..

1

I managed to put the finishing touches of covered buttons on one of the pairs of crocodile stitch booties that I had been pushing to the back of my WIPs.

1b

These are the crocodile stitch booties that I made during my second crocodile stitch class two weeks ago.

2

Then I finished up 3 pairs of Opa Slippers, in boys’ size 1-3 before heading out to meet my friend Terry at Twist,

3

who asked me to make her a shawl just like mine, pictured above. (as you can see it is very difficult to get a good photo of yourself from the back, Ha! Ha!)

4

I was so happy that Terry chose some yarn that Shelly had in less than 30 minutes. The yarn is from Universal Yarns and it is called Poems Sock and oh my gosh it is beautiful. (do you think John needs my attention?)

Anyway I just love the way the yarn is looking made into the pattern from Leisure Arts Crochet Prayer Shawls book. I can hardly wait to see each new row as I hook it. 😉

6

I ended my Saturday with the first session of my Crochet 101 class. I had five lovely ladies who were so eager and are looking forward to more classes with me. I am looking forward to seeing all of their future projects. Next week I will take a group picture with them and post it.

7

Sunday morning I wanted to make a scarf project that I had had in my head for a while; so I did. I love how the gray and pink go so well together and who doesn’t love the easiness of a double crochet back and forth? I also love the curly cue fringe that I added to both edges.

8

I also started another set of Galiliee booties. I love how they are turning out and I also plan on making a hat to go with the little booties.

9

We ended the day by visiting my dear friend Gina who has been in the hospital since Thursday. I took her a pair of Oma slippers, because I know how cold she usually is. Gina loved the slippers as much as I loved making them for her. I hope you all had a good weekend and I would love to hear all about it.


Responses

  1. Love seeing you post stuff again. I love the shawl. Can’t wait to see you again soon.

    • Hi Donna!

      Thanks so much for stopping by to let me know you missed me. 🙂 Our officers meeting is this Saturday. Hope you can make it, I have the bag and some cool contents.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

      • Can’t wait.

  2. Hi Tamara,

    Wow, it’s so fun to see what you’ve been working on. You seem as busy as ever and your hook must be smoking going so fast to complete all these great projects! The color choices are wonderful. I’m always amazed at how quickly you are able to complete projects. Congrats on hooking a few more to crochet. Thank you for the sweet comments you left me about the giraffe. I appreciate them! Hope you have a great week!

    • Thanks so much Jeanne for loving the colors I choose and for thinking that I am so fast. You make me smile. 🙂 Some of these items I have already had made for a while and just have not posted them, so you will be seeing a lot more of those. As always it is so nice to see what you have been working on as well. Love everything you do. Hugs, Tamara

  3. Like everybody else, I am glad you are blogging again. I’ve missed you. Love all of your crochet stuff but I am especially fond of the crodile booties and the scarf with the curly fringe on it. When my girls were young and still wearing pig tails, my mil made ties that were curly to wear on their pigtails. Love you girl and I have missed you. sw

    • Hi Sue!

      Thank you so much for always finding the time to stop by and comment. I appreciate your comments more than you will ever know. I remember your girls’ hair always looked so cute and I bet the little curly ribbons looked adorable. Love you too! Your Cuz!!!!

  4. The booties are too much!!! But mainly I’m a sucker for a shawl, and the yarn you used for that one is just heavenly. Lucky Terry. Have a great week, lots of love xxx

    • Thanks Jill! You are so sweet and if you came to Wichita I would make you one as well. 😉 That would be so much fun, please. please come to Wichita so we can hang out and crochet together. Love and Hugs, Tamara

      • Okay.

      • Make sure you let me know when you will be arriving so that I can have your shawl done and so I can meet you at the airport. 🙂

      • Okay.

  5. As always, I too, love your color choices and seeing your WIP, completed or still in progress. I Love the Oma slippers you made for me. I wear them much more then I thought I would. Looking forward to Feb Crochet Guild.

  6. Thanks so much Linda! Looking forward to the guild meeting too and giving away the bag with all its goodies in it. 🙂

  7. OM Gosh I am loving it!! Now I am more excited and can’t wait to see it!! I hope the slouch hat can be the purple that is in the shawl, You amaze me!!!

    • Ok Terry, I will see what I can do. 🙂

  8. Hi Tamara!
    Those crocodile booties are very special. And your covered buttons are so lovely.
    I see ya did not bother with the tongue/flap for the boys’ Opa slippers. heh-heh! … Very lovely shawl — and HAHAHA about the way you took your pic!! And then John photo-bombed you!! 😀
    I like your curlicue’d scarf. And the Galilee booties. And how did you know what size to make Gina’s Oma slippers??
    Soooo GREAT to see your crochet work again, Tam!! Now I have to get myself back into reading my rss feeds more diligently. I am so behind in even checking them out .. as you can tell by my not commenting on this until 3 days after it posted!!!
    Love ya!!
    :: Kat ::

    • Oh Kat! You can comment 3 days late and it will still be ok. Regarding the Opa slippers, yes I decided to leave off the strap and I just guessed on Gina’s slipper size. I knew she had a small foot and I just happened to have a pair of small Oma slippers already made. Thanks so much for stopping by to comment. Love you too, Tamara

      • 🙂
        xxoooooooo

      • BTW, did you get your hair highlighted with gray all over the back??? 😉

      • You are sooo funny! 😉 I tell everyone that my hairdresser highlights my hair in the back and the purple is natural. HAHAHAHAHA!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

