Posted by: tgonzales | October 11, 2013

TGIF-My Little T Book and Beanie Babies

Here it is Friday again and I for one am very glad. Even though I had a very short work week I’m still looking forward to the weekend. Anyway I have been meaning to tell you about my Little T Book that I purchased from Sparrowdown. The designer of this little journal is the daughter of one of my blogging friends, Merri. Merri has been following my blog back when I wrote for Leisure Arts crochet website called “Crochet Soiree”. When Merri told me about her daughters beautiful artwork and how she lives in New York and how she is trying to make a living doing what she loves to do.

1

I knew I had to have one of her little miniature journals and especially when she showed me the one with the “T” on it I knew this one had to be mine.

2

I love that she has used recycled paper for her journals and I love that you could even write on the pages if you wanted to. Of course I would have to be totally desperate to write on those cute little pages. Anyway you can see all her other journals here and she takes custom orders as well. Like her on Facebook so you can keep up to date with any new items she comes up with and go see her other creations on Etsy at Bits and Books. Wouldn’t they make the most perfect Christmas stocking stuffer? Thank you so much Merri for directing me to your daughters’ beautiful artwork. Now when she becomes famous I will say that I purchased one of her very first miniature books.  🙂

3

The other day John was cleaning out one of his sheds and he found this red Disney duffle bag. He hollered at me and said that he had found a bag that had lots of Beanie Babies in it and wondered if I wanted to look at them. I told him “no” not right then. So yesterday I decided to open it up and look in the bag. I get so emotional over such stupid things and looking at and in this bag was no different.

4

This is what I found; it was cram-packed full of some of Joshua’s first Beanie Babies in his collection. It was also packed with the miniatures that McDonald’s came out with to go in their Happy Meals. I remember leaving early to go to work so that I could stop by McDonald’s just to pick up the latest Teenie Beanie Babies. I also went on my lunch break, after work, on the weekends. You name it if there was a new Teenie Beanie Baby at McDonald’s I was there, no matter what time of the day it was. If you ask Jennifer she would tell you that Joshua was more spoiled than she was; but I beg to differ because she was just as spoiled as he was. I remember waking in the wee hours of the morning to get to Target as the store was receiving their fresh new shipment of Cabbage Patch Dolls, pushing past all of those other crazy Mothers wanting to get just the right one for their daughters. Jennifer had one or more of each style of Cabbage Patch Doll and I’m proud to say that she still has every one of them. Anyway, I’m not sure whether any of you helped your children collect certain things but I would love to hear all about it if you did. Have a great weekend and keep on collecting. 😉


Responses

  1. It’s a really beautiful little book, but I think you should write in it. Every evening you could write down one happy thing from the day. 🙂

    • Great suggestion. Maybe I will have to write down something happy from my day on each page. This will make a great keepsake for my Granddaughter when I’m gone. 🙂 I hope you have a great day and weekend my friend. Love and Hugs, Tamara

  2. Good Morning, Tamara. Thank you for sharing my daughter’s one of a kind miniatures. She has many unique designs and uses a variety of materials to create them. I am always excited to see what she comes up with and am amazed at her talent, dedication (from the very start to the finished item) and artistry that goes into making each one. Her most recent miniatures are made of paper that SHE personally made using recycled materials!

    I think you should write in your miniature as well, and agree that writing one happy thing from each day would be a positive way of remembering those who have touched our lives.

    • Ok. It’s official I will be writing happy thoughts in my little T Book. Thanks so much for stopping by to comment. Love and Hugs, Tamara

  3. Hey Tamara!
    Since you plan on leaving your mini-journal to Megan, why not make your happy thoughts about HER? Maybe some things she says or does that just make you smile…. like how she hates having you take her pic but will truly treasure those when she is much older. 😉

    Oh how I want the leopard-kitty Beanie Baby!!
    For many years, I collected koalas. Finally donated all but a couple.
    Now, of course, I collected kitty objects!!
    My younger daughter has her collection of pandas .. and dolphins.
    My older daughter loved penguins but did not really have a collection.
    Those are my stories and I’m stickin’ to them. LOL!

    Smiles for your happy weekend!!
    Hug! ~ Kat

    • Hi Kat!

      Thanks for letting me know that I’m not the only one who collects things. Apparently you and I are the only ones. 🙂 Love you my friend.

      Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

