Posted by: tgonzales | September 6, 2013

Megan’s 11th Birthday Dinner, another Jill Scarf, my Completed Crochet Flower Trivet, and a Hummingbird

1

2

Here are some photos of my Megan’s 11th birthday dinner. My daughter asked her where she wanted to go and she said Buffet City. Megan loves cocktail shrimp and crab meat so this was the perfect place for her to get both of those. Although I think next time we will go to Red Lobster.

3

As I have mentioned before Megan really doesn’t like for me to take pictures of her and as you can see from my blog posts I love to take pictures. So Megan is pretty much mad at me the whole time I’m with her unless I don’t take pictures. 😉 She doesn’t mind so much posing with her Poppy though and when I went to take this picture she was looking down and not smiling. I asked her to look up and this is what both of them did. In the last year we have noticed that Megan is becoming a little comedian. When Jennifer helped fill her plate on Monday she accidentally placed a fried frog leg on Megan’s plate. When Megan asked her what it was Jennifer told her that it was a crab leg. I looked at it and knew that it was a frog leg and so did John. Anyway, John asked Megan if she was going to eat it and Megan quickly picked it up and placed it on John’s plate. Then as John was taking a bite of his pork-on-a-stick; Megan asked him, “What are you eating, squirrel?” I thought I was going to die laughing.

4

As we were leaving Megan wanted to stop and see the fish and as I think back I think this was the real reason she wanted to go there to eat; so she could see and feed the fish and

5

the turtles. We were wondering if there were two turtles and now I can see from the picture that I took that there clearly are two of them.

6

Now on to the crochet front; I finished another Jill scarf and of course I could have stopped at taking a picture of it this way.

7

But as you could guess I wanted to do something totally different and again I decided to climb up on this cute little bench that was sitting along-side John’s very green pond. I just knew that I was going to make one false move and land in that green murky water.

8

This photo is the look that I was going for; it’s too bad that John can’t always understand what look I’m trying for,

9

again, thank goodness for my editing software so that I can crop the things out that I don’t want in the picture.

10

I am happy to report that I did not fall in the green water and I can’t help but giggle when I think about what the neighbors must think when they look into our back yard as I’m standing up on top of something holding a random crochet item as John is taking my picture.

11

12

I also finished up the Crocheted flower motif trivet and wanted to see if I could take a better picture of it outside. John is so sweet and is always willing to stop what he is doing to help me out. It’s too bad that I could not get my camera set to capture the colors of the trivet outside after all of his hard work to pin it up on the pieces of wood.

13

Anyway I think this picture captures the colors a little bit better, but my camera does not do the colors of the trivet justice.

14

I guess you will just have to come to the Kansas Barn Sale on October 5th, and get a look at it in person. 😉

15

Oh by the way my friend Donna and I went to Hutchinson on Tuesday evening after work to drop off our Kansas State Fair creations to be judged. Donna and I were both nervous; it sure is hard to hand those things over after putting so many hours into a piece and then hope that the other person on the other side of the table appreciates your creations enough to take good care of them. Anyway, as I arrived home from Hutch John stopped me to show me some hummingbirds flitting about on my 4 o’clock flowers.

16

It’s very hard to capture such tiny and fast little things. Oh how they love the sweet nectar of my flowers. Oh my gosh, here it is Friday again and I have decided to take a vacation day today so that I can go to Hutch with John and our good friends Susie and Korey. I can’t wait to see all the entries hanging in the Domestic Arts building at the fair. Do you have anything fun planned for the weekend? My hope for you is that even if you don’t have anything fun planned you will still make the most of it. Love you all and I’ll talk to you on the flip-side.


Responses

  1. your flower trivet is too divine, I would NEVER use in my kitchen or dining room, I would sew a pin behind it and wear it AS MY BIG FAT BROOCH ❤
    Megan is growing up! When the two of you are photographed together, I can see a strong resemblance, she looks just like you. I'm sure she's the sweetest thing!

    • BWAHAHAHAHA Jill you make me laugh, because that would be the biggest darn brooch ever. Oh thanks for thinking that Megan looks like me. Neither one of my children look like me; they only inherited parts of my personality. (of course only the good parts, tee hee) And yes of course my Megan is very sweet except when she doesn’t want me to take pictures of her. 🙂 I hope you have a wonderful day and weekend. Love, Tamara

  2. Love your post Tamara! so lovely to see your smiling face, your gorgeous family and your beautiful crochet!!!

    • Aww Maryanne! You are so kind and thanks so much for stopping by to comment. Love and Hugs, Tamara

  3. Oh, the fair? That sounds like so much fun!.. Love the Birthday pictures, and that little fish pond reminds me very much of one we have in a restaurant we go to HERE, but I never saw any turtles in it! I LOVE turtles! I think I may have to complain! (0; Love the scarf and trivet you made! I’m in the middle of making two Minion hats, and will post them when I’m done. They are so much FUN to make! I’m debating between owl hats and/or Hello Kitty hats next! All I know is that I’m in the mood to make MORE hats! Besides my excitement for the cooler weather just starting to set in, I think YOU’RE to blame for this! ha! ha! You’ve done gone and inspired me here!.. Have a great weekend Tamara! ((love -n- hugs)) ~tina

    • Hi Tina!

      Thank you so much for loving the things that I make and talk about here on my blog. I’m so glad that you are enjoying making the minion hats. I have started on Owl hats again for the Kansas Barn Sale and I want to make some sock monkey and Hello Kitty hats as well. But we’ll see what happens between now and then. Especially since I got off-track with the pull tab projects that I’m into making now. I hope your weekend was good?

      Love and Hugs, Tamara

  4. Love that trivet! I’ve had one on my to do list for way too long ~ thanks for the inspiration 🙂
    PS ~ I’d enjoy seeing Jill use it as a brooch, in fact I double dog dare her to do it 😉

    • I’m with you Lisa. I would love to see Jill wear the trivet as a brooch! I may just have to send her one so she wouldn’t have any excuses not to wear it. Thanks so much for stopping by to comment. Love and Hugs, Tamara

  5. Love your pictures of Megans birthday party. She is growing up too fast. The trivet is very pretty. And maybe it would make a pretty brooch. The close up picture looks like your Mom. Love you girl. sw

    • Hi Sue!

      Thanks so much for loving the trivet and for thinking that I look like my Mom. I have never been told that! Everyone usually says that I look more like the Kingery family, anyway thanks so much for always being here to comment. It makes me smile. Love you Cuz!

  6. “Look UP, John & Megan.” 😀
    You are just TOO CUTE with your modeling. I SO love your sweet smile, Tamara. 🙂
    Looking at your photos first (before reading), I wondered how come you were going to have your flower motif beautifying your outdoor wood. LOL!
    Yah, I can imagine how difficult it is to leave your crocheted art ‘with strangers’. I am sure they will take good care of it — and I am sure you will WIN!!
    Are you sure that is a hummingbird? It looks to me to be a Hummingbird Moth. They are really kewl, aren’t they? They come out at nite — and sometimes close to sunset. We saw one the last nite (as it was getting dark) when our grandsons were here. They were thrilled!!
    Golly, you had only a 3-day work week since ya took off yesterday. Nice!
    Enjoy what’s left of your wonderful weekend, sweet lady.
    HUGS ~~
    :: Kat ::

    • Hi Kat!

      Thanks so much for loving my pictures and yes I think you are right about the hummingbirds. I couldn’t figure out why my hummingbirds looked so much different than my sisters and sister-in-laws. That’s what I love about you Kat; is your keen eye and intelligence. I had a wonderful long weekend and can’t wait to share it with you, later.

      Love and Hugs, Tamara

      • Hi Tam! ~~ Keen eye, yes. Intelligence? Not so sure about that one. LOL! The only reason I know about Hummingbird Moths is ‘cuz I was baffled by what I saw many yrs ago in our back yard at nite. Sure looked like a hummingbird — but not. I was so amazed at this creature that I even video-taped it (on my old video camera .. that’s how loooong ago it was!) for a long time. Was nice to see it zoomed in on also. Anyway, after that I searched online and finally found it. I’d be lost without the Internet’s knowledge. RITCMOL!! 😉
        I’m cracking up about your being baffled as to why your ‘hummingbirds’ looked so much different than Jackie’s and your sisters-in-law’s. HaHaHa!!! 😀
        Looking forward to reading about your looong weekend.
        Kisses! ~ Kat

  7. I see that you are taking your spartan training seriously with a different obstacle this week, 😉 Your crochet looks amazing as always. That trivet in particular is stunning. It is a shame I cannot see it in real life but I shall use my imagination :). To me hummingbirds are truly amazing!

    • Hi Alice!

      Yes my Spartan training is coming right along. 😉 I so wish you could come to the Barn Sale; that would be so much fun to meet you and for you to see all the cool stuff people have made. As Kat tells me my hummingbirds are actually moths, but I’m ok with that. I love them just the same. 🙂 Thanks so much for taking the time to stop and comment. I appreciate it.

      Love and Hugs, Tamara

      • Is that really true? What about the beak? Is it just a pretend?

  8. Hi Alice! It is true there is a hummingbird moth and the face and beak look like a hummingbird but the back looks like a moth. I googled it and found this: http://www.worldofhummingbirds.com/moth.php The beak is where it sucks up the nectar just like a hummingbird does. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

