Posted by: tgonzales | August 30, 2013

August 24-25, 2013 Weekend, a Pair of Crocodile Stitch Booties, More Minion Hats, Family, and a Scarf

1

My weekend started off with me making another pair of crocodile stitch baby booties. Shelly the owner of Twist Yarn Shop wanted me to make another pair out of the Mille Colori Baby yarn, and I was happy to do that for her. I still need to find just the right buttons to put on the booties and then they will be all done. I have actually purchased fabric to cover buttons, but it still remains to be seen whether I really will like the fabric covered buttons or not. But I will make sure I let you know which one I decide on. 🙂

2

After finishing up the booties I headed off to the yarn shop to teach the second session of Crochet 101. I was so happy that Debbie and Vanessa showed up, but at the same time I was sad that the other two ladies did not make it. Anyway I had a great time spending quality time with these two ladies.

3

Of course my weekend consisted of finishing up 4 or 5 more minion hats. Here are Joshua’s friends Josh and Amanda with one of the hats that Amanda ordered for her sister. Josh has been over to our house several times since Joshua moved to New York, but Amanda had not been here since their high school days. I loved watching her eyes wander around the room as she commented that she loved my house. I told her that it must be boring to see the same old things but she disagreed and said, “No, your house still feels so comfortable and homey to me.” I bet you can imagine how much that made me smile? 🙂

4

Here’s another minion hat that one of my co-workers ordered for his granddaughter, Julie. Some of you may remember that he ordered an owl hat last year for his granddaughter too. I love that some of my best customers are my co-workers.  😉  By the way if anyone wants to order minion hats, please email me at have_2_crochet@yahoo.com, I just want to warn you though, if you order any now I will not be able to start on them until after October 5th. Just saying! I have to get back on track to finish up things for the Kansas Barn Sale.

5

On Sunday my plans were to join my sister and Mom for breakfast and then head south to Oklahoma to drop her off at her sisters for the week. But when I woke I had a text message on my cell phone from my sister-in-law that she had put my brother Terry in the hospital. So we re-routed our trip to Emporia to see Terry. We arrived just in time to meet both of Terry’s doctors and Mom got to share some of Terry’s childhood history with one of them. I have mentioned this before but for anyone reading that’s new here my brother Terry has Crohn’s disease, you can read all about it here. The doctor who diagnosed Terry with Crohn’s stopped to see Terry first. I had met Doctor Hicks when I stayed with Terry in the hospital in January. He seemed to think that Terry’s problem this time was caused more from diverticulitis and from eating too many fresh tomatoes and fruit rather than his Crohn’s. Anyway, Terry remained in the hospital until Wednesday afternoon and is now back at home recovering. Of course all of us were glad that we re-routed our trip on Sunday and were able to love up on Terry for a short time before heading down to Oklahoma. As most of you know when one of us hurts all of us hurt and it was no different on Sunday.

6

6b

The short amount of time that Jackie and I got to spend in Oklahoma of course centered around the kitchen as most of our get-togethers do, to prepare a meal. Sunday was no different and I always love my Aunt Marthie’s cooking.

7

Here I am with my cousin Jeanie. I loved that our colors blended so well together and not to mention that I have her name as my middle name. (Jean) I always liked to think that Mom named me after her. 🙂

8

I think you may remember that I mentioned that I was testing a pattern for my friend Jill? After she made some minor corrections to her instructions and sent them back to me, I finished it up with no problem.

9

I thought it would be fun if I tried modeling the scarf like some of the pictures that I see on other people’s patterns. You know like the models that you see skipping along with the scarf or shawl flying behind them?

10

Oh by the way, the wind was not blowing in my back yard and “this model” was not going to do any skipping,

11

so this is all you get from me. I hope everyone’s week was wonderful and I hope your weekend is too.


Responses

  1. I love your kitchen photos.
    Sorry to hear about Terry, I’m glad he’s home now. Such a close family you all are 🙂
    You are a perfect model for the scarf, and anything else. You don’t even need to skip.
    xxx

    • Hi Jill!

      Thanks so much for stopping by and for loving the things that I do. You are so kind to say that I’m the perfect model for your scarf. I’m going downstairs right now to wind some more yarn to make another one. I can’t wait to get started on it and a few more revisions will be sent very soon. Here I go skipping downstairs. 🙂 I hope you have a wonderful weekend. Love and Hugs, Tamara

  2. Sorry to hear about the illness in your family. Glad to hear he is on the mend. Loving the scarf. Great model 😉 Have you ever thought of covering buttons with crochet (in all your spare time ;). xx

    • Hi Alice!

      Thank you so much for loving the scarf and the model 😉 In answer to your question about covering buttons with crochet I have done that many times. I actually crocheted right over the buttons on a manufactured sweater while they were still attached. 🙂 I really like the way crocheted buttons look on fabric or knitted items the best. This morning I used some batik fabric to cover buttons and I love the way they look on the booties. I can hardly wait to show everyone. Anyway, thanks so much for stopping by to read my blog and especially to comment. It means a lot. Have a great weekend. Love and Hugs, Tamara

      • I should have known ;). Put a picture up – I now can’t wait. Hope you have a fab weekend too (bet it will be busy as always.)

  3. Good morning to you Tammy, Lovin the crocodile booties-how about satin covered buttons on the booties. I’m thinking purple or blue covered buttons out of satin fabric. Glad that Terry is doing better. I have diverticulitus and it can get very uncomfortable. I feel for him. Love the family pictures at Aunt Marthies house. Love both of my aunts so very much. We are going to Enid today to see Jerald’s Mom. We hope things start to get better soon so she can go home. Love you cousin. sw

    • Thanks so much Sue for always being here to comment. I’m praying that you will be able to get to move your Mother-in-Law back home too. Love you, Tamara

  4. Hiya Tammy! Love those croc-booties, including the colors!
    I know how ‘boring’ (yellow-yellow!!) it is making so many minion hats — and I also know you are loving the cash-in-hand from them. HaHa!!
    Your Mom & Aunt Marthie sure do look like twins! Even the same hairstyle!
    Turned out to be good timing to take your mom to visit her sis … becuz of your needed side-trip to see Terry. I was very glad to read that he is now back home. (Take it easy on those yummy garden tomatoes, Terry! 😉 )

    Jill’s scarf design is so lovely. As surely is the model!! 🙂 I especially love the photo of you looking sideways. You have the cutest darned little-girl smile. Makes me just want to wrap my arms around ya and give you a love-cuddle!!
    Did any spiders jump onto your web-dress? Haw-haw-haw!!! 😀

    What fun for you to write about last weekend … and now *this* weekend has almost arrived! Enjoy yourself as usual.

    Lotsa Love & Cuddly Thoughts ~
    :: Kat ::

    • Hi Kat!

      As always you make me smile and I’m so glad that you are here to read what I have to ramble on about. Love you my friend.

      Tamara

  5. I love your outfit!

    • Thanks Cathy for loving my outfit. 🙂 Love and Hugs, Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

