Posted by: tgonzales | August 23, 2013

August 17-18, 2013 Weekend and This Week

1

Wow, how time flies when you are having fun as the old saying goes. Or in my case how time flies when I’m crocheting my heart out. Last weekend I decided to jump into making a crochet cover for a market bag, since this is going to be one of the projects that our guild is going to offer at our yearly retreat at the end of September. I wanted to have it all made in time to share at the Monday meeting.

2

I got the idea here and I poked holes in my canvas market bag with a size 12 steel crochet hook and I used size 10 crochet thread. I just made singles with some chains in between and I used the chains to attach the heavier cotton and made chains with single crochets to create the rest of the bag.

3

When I got the bottom I knew I wanted my bag to be able to sit flat so I created a oval bottom all by itself and then crocheted the two pieces together. I managed to finish the bag on Saturday before heading off to teach the August Crochet 101 First Session. I loved making the bag and I loved teaching my 4 crochet students and before they left I asked them if I had hooked them; they all agreed that I had.  🙂

4

Saturday afternoon and evening are a blurr, I don’t remember what I did. Oh well, that’s what happens when I don’t write these things down and blog about them. I’m sure whatever it was, it involved yellow, navy blue, black, white, and gray yarn. 🙂 Here’s another happy little customer in his minion hat.

5

Sunday morning Jackie, Mom, and me went to breakfast. We went back to my house and Mom spent a while with us until she got tired of not having anything to do. Jackie spent the rest of the day with me and helped with cutting strips for the braids for the minion hats, while I crocheted. The cutting of the strips has helped out a lot; just stopping to cut all the strips is very time-consuming and I really appreciate Jackie taking the time to help me with that.

6

I had to share this cute picture that my niece Jessica sent to me of Syrus in his little pompom hat. Syrus is growing so quickly that he has almost outgrown the hat, but never fear I made him a puppy dog hat that should fit him by the time the snow flies in North Dakota.

7

Here’s the dirt cake that John and I prepared for our monthly KS My Stitch Guild meeting. Thanks to Katherine over at Pillows-a-la-Mode the dirt cake was a hit, you can go get the recipe here on her blog.

8

I started my week with crochet and ended it with delivering 4 more minion hats to one of my co-workers who ordered hats for his grandchildren; 3 girls and 1 boy. I can’t wait to see them in their hats and was promised that there would be pictures taken. Oh how I love to begin and end my week with crochet. So how has your week been going? Anything exciting happen in your part of the world, if so I would love to hear all about it. I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend and I’ll talk to you on the other side.


Responses

  1. I always love your weekly round-up, Tamara . . . and I’m glad your crochet guild enjoyed the dessert! Have a WONDERFUL weekend! 🙂

    • Thanks Katherine, I was beginning to think that everyone forgot me and thought I had dropped off the face of the earth since I haven’t been posting 3 times a week like I had been. 🙂 As always thank you for reading my blog. Love and Hugs, Tamara

  2. I’ve missed seeing you and your blog on fb. Love the crochet market bag and the colors you used were the colors I love. The co worker with all the minion hats for grandchildren is a hoot. As always I love the picture of your Mom and Jackie and you. Jeralds Mom is still in the hospital in Enid, so we have been going there about twice a week. We don’t know how much longer she will be there or if she will go home or to a nursing home. We have to make some tough decisions in the next week or so. Love you girl. sue

    • Hi Sue!

      Believe it or not I have missed posting too and hearing all your sweet comments. As always thanks for stopping by to comment it really means a lot. My thoughts and prayers are with you and Gerald as you go through this trying time in your lives. It’s very rough I know.

      Love you Too!
      Tamara

  3. Dirt cake? The mind boggles. You are one little machine with all those hats you churn out. Really amazing. xx

    • Thanks so much for thinking that my hands are flying. Sometimes I just can’t make them work anymore. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by to comment, I do appreciate them. Hugs, Tamara

      • You are more than welcome 🙂

  4. Ohhhhh, that cake looks delicious!!!… Love that beautiful tote! I was smiling as soon as I saw the picture of your coworker modeling one of your hats!!! His grandchildren are going to look so cute wearing their new hats!!.. As for my weekend? I wish I could say I’d be crocheting, but I’m not sure that’s gonna happen. I’ve got so much sewing to do…. Mending and altering pretty much. Hmph! What kind of fun is THAT?!! (0; I’m going to try a new fish recipe tonight… one of Sophia Loren’s recipes! Woo-hoo! I hope I do it justice! It sure looks good in the PICTURE!… Have a great weekend Tamara! ((hugs))

    • Hi Tina!

      Thanks for always loving the things that I make. I hope your weekend was wonderful and you will have to let me know how that fish recipe turned out. 🙂

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  5. Gosh, I enjoy your blog! I love love love how you did the bag! I’d get really, terribly bored with all the minion hats though. Aren’t you sick of the same colors and patterns? I’d still enjoy the crocheting bit, but my mind would wander to NewIdeaLand quickly. I learned how to knit yesterday! I’ll be blogging that later… but I got to see my dad this week (it’s been ages) AND I finally got to hear my mom’s voice again (it’s been months). My week went by super fast, but I think I enjoyed it! 😉 I hope our weekends are pleasureable.

    • Hi DreAna!

      Thank you so much for loving my blog and the things that I make. You are so right about getting tired of making the same thing over and over. My mind does wander all the time and I daydream about the colors that I will be using as soon as I finish all the minion hats. 🙂 I hope your week has gone well and will be back to blogging more regular when I finish up the minion hats.

      Hugs, Tamara

      • I’m so glad I’m not alone in needing a variety! 🙂 I look forward to your future posts.

  6. Your bag and all the hats look so pretty! You do such beautiful work and are so lucky to have so much hookey time 🙂 I’ve been trying to amp up my little blog and etsy store into a real business. Social media and marketing are time consuming to say the least. Somewhere in between I’ve been harvesting the garden and canning. Not a lot of excitement, but the best part was taking a 1/2 day off from work to have lunch with my parents. Have a great weekend!

    • Hi Lisa!

      Thank you so much for loving all my creations. I love that you are going to create a business of your own. I agree that it is very time consuming but at least you will be working for yourself and hopefully you love what you do. 🙂 The garden sounds wonderful and the time off. Have a great rest of the week.

      Hugs, Tamara

  7. Howdy, Tamara! That is a great bag cover-up!
    And you just keep on hookin’ new crocheters! 🙂
    Terrific photo of you 3 ladies. John sure knows how to get those smiles! 😀
    Too cute! –> the photo of Syrus. Love the color of that hat — and the fact that the pompom is about the same size as his head. haw-haw!!
    Tee-hee!! Your dirt cake looks … well …. umm…. *dirty*!! LOL

    I thought of you yesterday while at Wal-Mart. The school supply items caught my eye. I bought folders for my grandkids: Sarah gets a light pink Hello Kitty; Joe gets one with circles so he can Zentangle in them; Paul gets a one-eyed Minion!! .. Now ya know why I thought of you. haha!! .. Oh – and I bought myself a deep-pink Hello Kitty folder. 😉

    Happy Crocheting, my sweet friend!
    Love ‘n Hugs!! ~~ Kat

    • Hi Kat!

      Sorry this response is sooooo late. But I have been very busy and unable to be on the internet as much as I like to be. Thank you so much for always being here; I know I can always count on you. I love that you think of me when you see something that I would be interested in and thank you so much for sharing your little Joe and your grandchildren with me.

      Love you!
      Tamara

  8. the market bag is a brilliant idea, and thanks for the link to Annoo’s blog, I like the way she does her photo tutorials (NOTE TO SELF – IMPROVE!). i have Katherine’s dirt cake bookmarked, and one day I will rouse myself to make it and IT WILL BE MINE.
    xxxx

    • Hi Jill!

      Thanks for loving my bag and I can’t wait until you actually try the dirt cake. It’s very yummy!

      Love and Hugs, Tamara

  9. Hi Again! As for the fish-dinner update?.. It was o.k., but I really thought it was kind of bland! I kept adding salt, and I REALLY shouldn’t be doing that!.. Just recently I saw “No Salt”, a “salt alternative”, on a grocery store shelf, and am just wondering if that’s really any good for me either. I guess I’ll have to google it, to find out what I can… ((love -n- hugs))


Leave a Reply

Categories

