Posted by: tgonzales | August 16, 2013

Dinner with My Megan and Jenny, Reviewing a Crochet Pattern, more Minion Hats, and the Adult Crocodile Stitch Booties Photo Shoot

1

Monday I had dinner with my Megan and Jenny. Megan wanted to go to Panera Bread so that’s where we went.

2

It was funny as I sat down in the booth Jenny asked Megan if she wanted to sit with Gran Gran or her. I was rather glad that she sat across from me so that I could take pictures of her. Megan is growing up so fast and it all makes me sad and happy at the same time. 😦 🙂

3

I love Megan’s freckles across her nose, just like her Mommy’s were when she was this age. I can hardly believe that she will already be 11 years old in less than a month. Where does the time go?

4

I have written a few patterns in my life and I always find it very hard to do. I seem to be able to create a project but have the hardest time writing the instructions for the thing that I create. I know what I did, but do you think I could write it in words that someone else would understand?  Anyway, in telling you all that I don’t like writing patterns, my friend Jill from Nice Piece of Work asked me to review her Scarf pattern (that she plans on selling in a kit with the yarn) after I told her “yes”, I started having second thoughts. How could I review someone elses pattern when I have such a hard time writing my own? Although I was honored to be asked to review her crochet pattern I didn’t know if I could be able to tell Jill what needed to be added or subtracted from her written words. Well, I’m happy to report that I was able to start out making Jill’s scarf pattern and as I did I wrote down my thoughts and additions, then I went back over them typing them all up. I am now awaiting her updated version of her pattern so that I can start the project again. I can’t wait to show you the finished project and am so excited to work with the non-yellow yarn she sent to me. 😉

5

Of course I am still making Minion hats and here is another pile of them all stacked together.

6

One of my co-workers (Sarah) asked me to make a hat for her son Kevin who is 5 years old. Kevin did not want braids on his hat so I left them off. If you have seen the Despicable Me movie one of the Minions’ names is Kevin. That makes me smile! 🙂

7

Well some of you were interested in seeing the Adult Crocodile Stitch booties on my feet, so here we go with the self photographing.

8

9

10

I had a very hard time trying to get just the right angle and the right amount of the bootie in the picture. Not enough light, too much leg, not enough bootie and on and on. Oh by the way if you remember right I was wondering how I was going to button the booties; well I don’t even have to unbutton or button them. I just simply slip them on with the buttons all buttoned.  Yay!!! That makes me happy. It’s funny that such little things can make me happy. Anyway, I wanted to mention that I will be teaching the class on how to make these booties in 3 sessions; October 26 (soles), November 2 (body of bootie), and November 9 (cuff). Oh my gosh here it is Friday and I am looking forward to the weekend again. I will be teaching the first session of the August Crochet 101 class on Saturday afternoon. I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend, talk to you on the other side. 🙂


Responses

  1. 🙂 getting there 🙂

  2. Cute pics of both your girls!.. Loving the minion hats, though I haven’t yet seen the 2nd Despicable Me movie yet. I did just pick up Water for Elephants out of Walmarts 5-dollar bin, with Robert Pattinson, so I hope that’s a good one!… And I’m LOVING those slippers too, Tamara! Really CUTE, and I could imagine they might be fun to whip up for Christmas presents!!! Wish I could take the class… Have a great day, and an even better weekend! ((love -n- hugs))

  3. Great stuff busy girl!

  4. Lovin your crocheted alligator stitch booties. You are so talented girl. Megan is really growing up fast and so cute. Love you Tamara. sw

  5. Hey Tam! When I saw the first photo of Megan, my immediate thought was: “She sure is growing up!” I know about the ‘sad and happy at the same time’. Hey ~ I just realized — she is just a little younger than our Toyota Camry (named ‘Juliet’) whose 11th birthday is .. today! 😉

    Very lovely scarf pattern Jill created. I am glad she gave you the *opportunity* to review the pattern. It’s good for you! heh-heh!

    Your bootie photos sure cracked me up. (or maybe I ought to say ‘croc’d’ me up – LOL) Your final pic is great, of course — and I’m so happy you can just slip them on & off. Yaaayyy!! I very much *love* that color!

    So, tomorrow you get to ‘hook’ some more crocheters at your class. Enjoy!
    Ohhhh…… I know you will enjoy your … weekend!! 😀
    Love ‘n lotsa Hugs ~~
    :: Kat ::

  6. I think that you are being far, far too hard on yourself. I am sure that you could write a pattern. You have to write it down as you go. I would happily look over any pattern that you write to see if it makes sense if you like. You need confidence in your (amazing) abilities. 😉

  7. how can i place an order of the minion hat, for ages 6,4,2

  8. I love Megans fingers and hands. One of the few things she did not inherit from me, thank goodness!


Leave a Reply

Categories

