Posted by: tgonzales | August 12, 2013

August 10-11, 2013 Weekend, More Minion Hats, Adult Size Crocodile Stitch Booties, and a Surprise in the Mail

My weekend started off with our monthly KS My Stitch officers meeting on Saturday. It was wonderful to see Donna and Susie again, but I was sad that Kaye and Lucy couldn’t make it. I made some yummy chicken vegetable soup for lunch and I meant to take pictures so that I could make everybody hungry but it slipped my mind so no pictures of the meeting or the food. Sorry, maybe next time. 🙂 I felt like we had a very productive meeting; visiting about the July monthly challenge, Kansas State Fair entries, and our guild retreat coming up on September 28th.

1

After the meeting Susie and I went to Twist to meet up with Jan to deliver the Minion hat that she had ordered for her 3 year old grandson. I hope he loves it as much as I loved making it. Thank you Jan for posing with the Minion hat and I look forward to seeing a photo of your grandson in it as well.

2

Since I needed another break from all the Minion hats and the color yellow, I decided to make the adult sized crocodile stitch booties that Shelly asked me to make for a shop model. The yarn is Berroco Vintage in the color pink and in my size since they will become mine after they are no longer needed at Twist.

3

I love how they turned out and I think I will be using covered buttons on them, along with snaps for easy fastening for this old lady. I tried reaching around back there to see if I could button them and it was a little bit impossible. I also think the booties look better on an actual foot instead of stuffed with a whole drawer full of socks, but have you ever tried to photograph your feet with slippers or socks on? Almost impossible as well, I know you are going to ask me where John was, right? Don’t tell anyone but he was out on another private investigation case in Missouri, trying to recover the GPS that he planted on the underside of someone’s car that he has been following due to a work comp case claim. He has been trying to get it off for the last two weekends and has not been successful. Maybe, Monday will be the right time. I am keeping my fingers crossed for him.

4

Sunday morning my Mom, Jackie, and I went to breakfast, again no pictures were taken. Mom wasn’t feeling herself and she didn’t put any makeup on so I didn’t want to take any photos of her. Sunday was spent cooking for my friend Tami’s birthday. Every year I always ask Tami what she wants for her birthday and she always says tacos, rice, and salsa. So I cooked tacos for her and will have enough for John and me for many days, plus I put some in the freezer. I also cooked a meat loaf and sweet potatoes to take to family to help with lots of family members being in town for the death of their Patriarch. I just had to share this photo of my Sunday dinner after cooking all that food all I wanted was a bowl of cottage cheese with fresh tomatoes cut up on top. (the tomato was from my garden) It seems like when I cook a lot like I did on Sunday, I feel like I absorb all the food that I cook and I don’t feel hungry for some reason.

5

Anyway, I wanted to share my little surprise package that came in the mail last week. My friend Kat from Idaho must have known that I needed some cheering up, because I found these sweet items in a package when I returned home from work on Wednesday. In the package was: a neck cooler thingy that you get wet and place in the freezer for those tropical vacations that my body goes to every now and then, the turquoise necklace (how did you know Kat?), a set of Mary Engelbreit note cards, a little gold swirly thing that I can use for embellishment, and the cute little card with all the kind words on and in it. I couldn’t resist adding my crocheted flower motif to the photo as well. Thank you so much Kat; your package couldn’t have come at a better time. I am so blessed to have so many sweet and caring friends and family here in Wichita and all over the world. I love you all! I hope all of you had a good weekend and as always I would love to hear all about it.


Responses

  1. I insist on a photo of your feet in those booties.

    • Oh I definitely will have John take a picture of the booties on my feet when I get the buttons made and put on. Thanks so much for stopping by to comment. Love and Hugs, Tamara

  2. I insist on a photo of you trying to take a picture of you putting on the booties. LOL Sorry I couldn’t resist. I do love the color you chose for the booties and I know they will look marvelous on your feet. The package you received from your friend in Idaho is cool. I made several of those neck coolers and sent to Afghanastan for soldiers and I’ve also worn several when I’m outside when I’m working in the yard. They really work. Today is my bread making class that I’m teaching, Should be a fun day with these 4 women. Have a great day little cousin and don’t forget that I love you. sue

    • Hi Sue!

      Ok, that would be funny to see me trying to take a picture of my booties and thanks for putting that picture in my head. 🙂 HAHAHAHAHAHA You are such a charitable person to donate the neck coolers to the soldiers. I’m sure they appreciated them, much more than you will ever know. Next time I’m out in the yard working I will most definitely have this around my neck. Have a great time teaching your bread class. I can’t wait to hear all about it.

      Love you too! Tamara

  3. Thanks for cooking for Donna and I the soup that was so yummy. Then you made your great tacos and your meatloaf that same weekend? I bet the neighbors could smell those good smells all weekend coming from your house? Looming forward to try my hook at those cute booties. I will spread the word once you have a date.
    Okay, I want to know did John get his device?
    I have a very sore right thumb and forearm. I crocheted all day yesterday on the lime, blue, pink and orange cotton bag. Today, I just need to attach the handles and sc around them. That is if my hand will work today. I might have to work on my knitted baby blanket for a rest day, hah!

    • Susie,

      It was my pleasure to cook for you and Donna. And I enjoyed cooking on Sunday as well. It always feels good to do something nice for someone who is either grieving or for my friends birthday. I can’t wait to hear if everyone liked my meatloaf. Oh my gosh don’t wear your thumb out! I can’t wait to see your little cotton granny square bag and your knitted blanket. Hopefully you can bring it to next weeks guild meeting. Love you! Tamara

  4. Hello, my dear friend!
    My grandson Joe sure got a kick out of your bunch of Minion hats on your previous post.
    Your crocodile slippers turned out great, and I know how much you will love wearing them in Autumn & Winter. Love the color! Hey ~ maybe (future) it would work for you to have buttons on the inner part of the slipper. I’m thinking of myself here, putting a foot up on the opposite knee & buttoning in that position. 😉
    Cottage cheese: Either you love it or you hate it. I am opposite of you. LOL!

    Awww…. Nice to see all your goodies together, and your lovely crocheted flower motif “makes” the photo. 🙂 BTW, do NOT put the neck cooler in the freezer .. only in the ‘fridge. I don’t even do that, tho. I keep mine handy — at room temp — and it stays cold a long time. Can’t wait to hear about your first time trying it; you will be amazed and a Happy Hot Flasher. 😀

    Joe is playing a game on my iPod Touch now. We crocheted together for almost 1½ hours this morning! He has now progressed with his way of crocheting. No longer using his left hand to pull stitches off the hook .. but doing it “the right way”. And he likes it!! Oh my – he is *such* a natural.

    With love & smiles ~
    :: Kat :: xoooooooo

    • Hi Kat!

      It sounds like you are having a fun time with little Joe. I’m so glad that you are getting to enjoy him and his crochet skills. As he gets older he will always remember his Grandma’s help. I can just hear him when he wins grand champion at some art competition and they ask. “I learned all I know from my Grandma Kat!” Thanks so much again for all the cool things you sent to me. I will make sure I get a good picture of the necklace on me and send it to you. 🙂

      Love and Hugs, Tamara

      • Hi Tamara! ~ I just read your comment to Joe. You gave him a BIG SMILE! 😀

        Love you!! ~ Kat (& Emma .. and Joe)

      • 🙂

  5. P.S. I forgot to comment on John’s job…. That makes me nervous for him — *and* you!!!

    • Oh you are sweet. He is fine and so am I. Thanks for worrying. Love you!

  6. Hi Tamara!.. I am having a TERRIBLE time trying to make these slippers. Did you have trouble following the pattern? I consider myself pretty capable of following instructions but my slippers are just not coming out like yours look in the photos. I finished the right slipper, and was content (but not thrilled. The front of my slippers are coming out bumpier looking than yours, from the decreased stitching); and THEN, now I’m trying to do the left slipper, and nothing is working out as the pattern is saying. These are SUPPOSED to be Christmas presents, and I spent money on this pattern, AND all the yarns, for this purpose, and I’m getting very discouraged, not even able to finish one pair, when I hoped to do at LEAST THREE pairs. (sigh) I’m going to walk away from it for a couple moments, take the dog out, and then TRY to work on it again. I just thought I’d ask you, if you can confirm, “yes, there was/were mistake(s) in this pattern”, or must I just messing up somewhere, and had I better start frogging??? If I have some idea, then I won’t be AS frustrated, and just try to do what I can to fix it all. (am leaving you a note on FB too, as I don’t know which message you’ll find, or find first)… ~tina


Leave a Reply

Categories

