Posted by: tgonzales | August 9, 2013

A Quick Update, a Lion Hat and Cocoon, More Minion Hats, a Pair of Crocodile Booties, and the River is Up

1

1b

2

3

4

5

6

I only have a few minutes to share a few photos of what has been happening around my part of the world. First of all a friend asked if I could make a newborn lion hat and a cocoon to match before August 10th, so I did. She was very pleased with the finished product and so was I. Next I delivered two more minion hats to sisters; Summer on the left and Jasmine on the right. I think they look adorable in their hats, don’t you? Here is a stack of more minion hats, I think I have made a total of 12 so far. Actually, I’ve lost count and don’t want to count them because then I hyperventilate just thinking about how many more I still have to make. I have sent off 5 to Oklahoma and another one to Missouri. Then my favorite yarn shop owner, Shelly asked me if I wanted to make a few shop models for her store. Of course, how could I say no to her? Besides that I needed a break from yellow yarn. I loved making the little baby crocodile stitch booties and am looking forward to another break when I will make another pair of baby crocodile stitch booties and an adult pair as well. As for the weather in Wichita and the surrounding areas, we are getting lots of rain. John and I ventured down by the river on Tuesday night to check it out. As you can probably see the river has risen above the sidewalk along this stretch of the river. Oh my gosh where has the week gone? Here it is the weekend again, and as usual I’m looking forward to it; how about you?


Responses

  1. Wow, you’ve sure been busy, Tamara. Hopefully, your hands are holding up well. Your projects look terrific as usual. Yikes on how high the water has risen. Hopefully, things will settle down so the water level doesn’t get any higher. Enjoy your weekend!

    • Hi Jeanne!

      Thanks for stopping by to comment and my hands seem to be doing a little better. I just have to stop a lot and shake them awake. 😉 As for the weather it rained this morning again and is supposed to rain most of the day today. More sidewalks are going to be covered. Good news they say it is going to be sunny and no rain tomorrow. Anyway, I hope you have a great weekend as well. Love you, Tamara

  2. Hey Tamara! I am so happy you are feeling better and back! I check your blog late at night for inspiration when all kiddos are in bed. I was wondering though what row did you start the darker color on the minion hat?

    • Hi Amanda!

      It depends on the size of the hat. On the adult hat I start it on the 8th round, youth size on the 7th. Oh by the way I use the RepeatCrafterMe’s penguin hat pattern for the base of the hat. It seems to have worked. Her patterns are free on her blog, google the name and you will find her. Thanks so much for keeping up with my blog, it makes me smile to know that you are still crocheting after I helped you learn to crochet. 🙂

      Hugs, Tamara

      • I am addicted!!!! I have made 3 blankets and working on my 4th, about 8 or 9 hats, 2 round scarfs and 3 hook cases! Plus I have a whole 3 ring binder full of future patterns I plan to do! See I told you ADDICTED!!!! LOL!

  3. Amanda!

    That makes me smile even bigger! I seem to always call it hooked but addicted is a good word for it too. I love that you seem to love crocheting as much as I do. 🙂 Thanks for letting me know.

    Hugs, Tamara

  4. Your work is so very neat. xx You have been very busy and that is why the week has flown by. Hope you have a fab weekend. xx

    • Oh my gosh lady thank you so much for thinking that my work is so neat. Good thing you can’t see it up close. 🙂 I have had a most relaxing weekend and thank you so much for stopping by to comment. Hugs, Tamara

      • You are welcome. I am sure we are all critical of our own work.

  5. I’m so glad your hands are better. You know I empathize. I got cortisone, in my right thumb/wrist 2 weeks ago. It was the most painful, and took over a week (with No crocheting) to really feel better. Yesterday I got it in the left wrist. I am happy to report I have been able to begin crocheting earlier this week and I’m working on the pillow challenge. I have been told to take it easy and to not crochet for long periods of time without resting my hands.
    I am obeying as best I can.

    • Hi Linda!

      I know you understand about how my hands hurt and I’m glad to hear that yours are better. Thanks so much for stopping by to comment.

      Hugs, Tamara

  6. Hi Tamara, I knew you must have been busy since there hasn’t been any new posts for a few days. Love your minion hats. John Mark has told us about the water and how high its been. We are above our average too. Last week has been a bummer for us. Jerald’s Mom fell last Sunday and has multiple fractures in her pelvic bone. She was in the hospital 3 days and then was sent to skilled nursing where she will be for several weeks. We’ve been to Enid twice so far and I’m sure we will be there many times before she is well enough to go home. We took an out of town trip to Arkansas yesterday and came back today. Was lots of fun. On Monday I will be teaching a bread class. Can you imagine that? Me teaching a class on how to make bread. I thought everybody knew how. Love you cuz. sue

    • Hi Sue!

      I’m so sorry to hear about Jerald’s Mom. It’s so hard to see this stage of their lives. I’m glad you were able to break away for a day. And yes I could see you teaching a class on making bread or anything that you know how to do. By the way I have baked bread but I don’t remember how any more. Love you too! Tamara

  7. Hi Tamara ~ I can’t wait to see the lion hat-&-cocoon on some cute little baby.
    I hope your area dries up soon!
    I taught little Joe to double crochet and he loves it. He likes the ripple design and is working at making a little blanket for their doggies (Rat Terriers) to lie on. Hard part for him is to continuously focus on counting stitches & paying attention to when to decrease & increase. He’s used to doing just sc. This will be good for him. He is so thankful to me for teaching him. Awww…..
    We stopped in our little library today so he could look at crochet books. We checked out 2. He just wants to browse thru them. 🙂
    Kat’cha later!!! xoooooo

    • Hi Kat!

      I’m with you about seeing a little babies face in that hat! The young lady who bought it promised me that she would get a picture of the little baby in the hat. I will share it with all of you when I get it. I love that your little Joe is doing so well with his crocheting and he’s so young. I can’t wait to see what he does in the future with his crochet. You are such a good Grandma to help him learn and giving him the tools to be inspired.

      Love you my Friend,
      Tamara

  8. Hi Tamara, love those hats, and those two sisters still manage to look glamorous wearing them! And I love the lion cocoon, too. Nice pic of River Man John. Hope you had a good weekend, and have a GREAT week ahead 🙂 xx

    • Hi Jill!

      Thanks so much for loving the hats and the cocoon. As for John, he is such a poser. I really think he should do modeling all the time. (Senior of course) 😉

      Love and Hugs, Tamara

  9. Those booties are just gorgeous, but what has John got sticking out the top of his head?

    • Hi Cathy!

      Thanks so much for liking the booties and as for the thing sticking out of Johns head; it’s a light pole. HAHAHAHAHA

      Hugs, Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

