Posted by: tgonzales | July 31, 2013

The Minions and My Giant Squash and Tomato Plants

1

I just want to tell you all that I just knew that the Minion hats would be very popular and I was right. Let’s see Rex wants one for his daughter, but maybe make two since the other daughter will probably be jealous. Little Johnny V needs one. Katy wants two adult hats plus a newborn. Aimee wants an adult size hat. Michelle probably will have to have one, she will decide later. Pedro wants two, one for each of his daughters; the daughters want one for their Mother. Abbey has to have one. Linda needs one for her coworker. Twin boys may need one each. I know I’m forgetting someone but thank goodness I have them all written down on order forms.  🙂  John was such a good sport to pose with the Minions; don’t you think?

2

The weather here has been very un-July-like with all the rain and cooler temperatures. I don’t think that’s why my tomato plant fell over but it probably helped it along. Anyway John was kind enough to stake it up with a huge board so hopefully it will stay upright until fall? I would have tied it to the metal shed next to the tomatoes. 🙂

3

I can hardly believe how big this yellow squash plant is. I just love the little squashes that it has produced.

4

Here I am next to my giant tomato plant. I’m sure I’m not the only one with tall tomato plants but it makes me very proud to know that we were able to grow some of our own vegetables this summer. So do you have a garden and how tall are your tomato plants? I would love to hear all about them.


Responses

  1. Hi Tamara,

    I just LOVE these little minion hats! They seem to be a very popular item and John is such a good sport.

    As a child I remember the three gardens that my parents had. Each one was the size of a football field. One was for various vegetables such as tomatoes, cucumbers, onions, carrots, string beans and squash. One was devoted solely to potatoes, and the other to corn. We had fresh vegetables all summer long and in the fall we would have a big harvest. Each harvest brought with it days of canning vegetables and preparing for the long winter season. My parents never had to buy vegetables to feed their seven children. I don’t know which part of the canning process was more fun for me: cutting the corn off the cobb after it was cooked or using the hand grinder/strainer to make tomato sauce.

    As an adult I have never maintained a garden…..no green thumb here! But I do understand how satisfying it is to be able to eat what you have grown with your own two hands.

    Thanks for bringing back some great memories!

    • Hi Merri!

      Oh how I loved hearing about your garden memories. I have the same ones except our garden was never that large. But our neighbors garden was huge and we got to go over and pick vegetables for them and we got paid. I also enjoyed the canning and preparing of the vegetables process. I don’t think I really appreciated until I got older. I hope you have a wonderful day and thanks so much for stopping by to comment.

      Love and Hugs, Tamara

  2. The hats are adorable. No wonder you have so many orders. John is a good sport for sure! Your garden looks so full and lush. You are definitely doing something right. Enjoy the bounty!

    • Thanks so much Jeanne for liking the hats and for stopping by to let me know. John is so funny; he makes me laugh.

      Love and Hugs, Tamara

  3. John with that devilish little grin. He is such a good sport to model the minion hats. Your tomoto plants must like that Kansas weather-they are so tall. Hope you are getting lots of tomatoes. The squash plant is huge. We had a few squash off ours but the plant eventually died and we mowed it down. Were getting lots of peppers. Jerald picked a big dishpan full last night and we gave it all away. Have a great day Tammy. Love you sw

  4. Great post! Did you share where you got the hat pattern and I missed it? I would love to make a couple if you can direct me to find it. Your garden is looking fab 🙂

    • Hi Lisa!

      I linked the pattern that I used for the basic hat pattern in my last post and I also linked the video tutorial in the same post. I hope they help and you love making them as much as I do. 🙂

      Hugs, Tamara

      • Thank you – It’s been hit or miss with me lately on the internet because of all my gardening/canning/yardwork. You’re a peach 🙂

      • You are so welcome. I would love to see pictures of your canning and garden. You should definitely post about it. 🙂

  5. Minions are pretty big here right now, too. Anne has just ordered vast quantities of yellow wool, hahaha – I’m so glad I don’t do hats 🙂 🙂

    • HAHAHAHA! It’s great for business but sometimes I wish I didn’t do hats either, if you know what I mean? 🙂 🙂 Love you my friend!

  6. Soooo many Minion hat orders. Soooo wonderful. I just wish John would have modeled a single-eye hat — altho I really like the half-smile on the 2-eyed hat. LOL
    Such a lovely dress…I think “bubbles” when I look at it. You look ‘pretty in pink’. 🙂
    I always use large wire tomato cages for my plants. No falling down — unless, I suppose, the cage decided to come out of the ground. Your plants are so lush, I can see that happening. What type tomato do you grow? Mine are Early Girl. Oh – I picked 20 cherry-tomatoes yesterday. Also, I’ve trimmed up that plant and my 2 regular-sized plants (snipped off many of the leaf branches that don’t grow tomatoes, so the tomatoes get more sun and air). I’ll have to measure my cages, not sure how tall they are. One of the plants has gone above the cage now.
    I love those leaves on your squash plant. Even without any squash, I love the plant!!! 😉

    Thanks for ‘sharing your garden’ with us, Tamara.
    Hugs! ~ Kat

    • Hi Kat!

      I’m not sure what the names of the tomatoes we are growing. I didn’t keep track of that. All I know is that I have green tomatoes hanging all over them and no ripe ones yet. I knew we should have purchased the tallest wire cages, but next year I think I’ll try something else. I love hearing about your garden too.

      Love and Hugs, Tamara

      • I just stood next to my taller plant. I’d say it is about 5 ft. I am 5′ 5½”, so I am still taller .. tho I used to be 5′ 6″. LOL! I just picked our first one that is close to ripeness but I will let it fully ripen indoors bc thunderstorms are predicted for the next 2-3 days. We got only ½” rain all of July — and that total occurred in 2 days. Crazy dry!!
        ‘Loves’ sent your way,
        Kat

  7. Tamara, those minion hats are amazing! Who would’ve thought that crochet could and would be boosted by trends like these. BRILLIANT! Love that photo of you too xxxx

    • Hi Maryanne!

      You are so right about the trends. This really reminds me of the Cabbage Patch Dolls that I helped collect for my daughter and her friends, and then again with the Beanie Babies that I collected for my son. 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by to comment.

      Love and Hugs, Tamara

  8. You are so darn photogenic, dear Tamara! 🙂 (And I love those Minion hats!)

    • OH my gosh you are so kind Catherine and thanks for loving the Minion hats. I can’t wait to see you and hear all about the writing you’ve been doing. Hugs, Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

