Posted by: tgonzales | July 8, 2013

July 6-7, 2013 Weekend, Friends, Family, Nesting Bowls, and Crocheted Cowls

1

My weekend started off with spending time with my friend Susie. I love pulling into her drive where I am greeted with her lovely crocheted wheel cover. I know Susie is very proud of her wheel cover as well she should be. We hit the road at about 7:30 am to take in our local Farmer’s Market.

2

We had a good time looking at and of course purchasing some of the vegetables, (if you are from Kansas you probably know what Susie was purchasing; Gaeddart Corn)

3

we loved looking at the flowers,

4

5

6

and I couldn’t get enough of this man’s wares. He makes some of the coolest things with chains, propane tanks, wrenches, nuts, bolts, and scrap metal. I had never seen anything like it and could have stood there forever, but it was time to go.

7

We went back to Susie’s where we sat and crocheted and talked. I love having a friend like Susie where we can talk about family and all sorts of other things or we don’t have to say anything.

8

I am happy to report that I finished up the 5th nesting bowl along with the lid while I was at Susie’s. I am looking forward to helping Susie get ready for a sale that she is having on Saturday, July 13th from 8:00 am – 2:00 pm. She will be getting rid of a lot of her craft items and I would love if you are in the area of 10122 W. Pawnee, just east of Maize Road to stop by Susie’s Sale on Saturday. I won’t be able to attend but make sure you tell her that I sent you; then I’m sure she will make you a good deal.  🙂 Love you Susie!

9

After I left Susie’s I went home and made lunch. Then I went to Twist to drop off a crocheted cowl that I had finished up for a class that I will be teaching on July 27th from 1:30-4:00 pm. It’s one of her Christmas in July classes and I am looking forward to teaching it. The cowl was very easy to make and I am looking forward to welcoming beginners as well as more advanced students to my class. The cowl uses a stitch that makes the scarf look like it has been knitted. I loved using the variegated bulky yarn but I wanted to pick out some plain yarn so that people could see the stitches a little better, plus I wanted to make another one to show it in a longer version.

10

So I picked out some more yarn and this time I chose Berroco Comfort Chunky in an olive green. I went home right away and started on it.

11

Saturday evening Korey delivered the shed door all built and then John and Korey worked on making it fit plus put hinges on it.

12

Sunday morning I finished up the olive green cowl and scared John when I woke him looking like this. I love the way the cowl turned out and I am very excited about the class.

13

Most Sundays my Mom and I go to breakfast but this last Sunday she was expecting family from Illinois so I went to Mom’s to visit. When I arrived I found my brother Terry and Miss Ava.

14

So I knew that Jackie wasn’t far away. Of course when we get together I always try to have our picture taken together, I just wished my oldest brother Tom would have been there too. Oh well next time.

15

And I tried the photo of Mom and me again.  🙂 Too bad John wasn’t there to get up on the chair so I had to try and reach my arm up high enough.

15b

I just wanted to share this photo of the quilt that my Mom and Jackie are making together. I know it will be beautiful when they get it completed, don’t you think?

16

Our day ended with a movie (Despicable Me 2) with Susie and Korey and just relaxing. I had a wonderful weekend doing the things that I wanted to do. So how was your weekend? Did you get to do what you wanted to do? I would love to hear all about it.


Responses

  1. Glad your weekend was a goodie. Your friend’s crochet wheel cover is amazing, had to pin that! Plus the quilt that your mom and sister are making – it’s breathtaking. I’d love to sit in on one of your classes, maybe one day….

    • Hi Jill!

      I think you should definitely try your hand at making a crocheted wheel cover, I know it would amazing too. 🙂 I would love for you to sit in on one of my classes but believe me you would probably teach me more than I could ever teach you. 🙂 I hope you have a great Monday!

      Love you and Warm Hugs Sent Your Way,
      Tamara

  2. Susie looks like a very happy person and I can see why you are best friends. Plus she’s crafty-love her wheel cover. The yard art that the man made is awesome. If I was a good welder I might be able to do that. The quilt your Mom and Jackie is making is amazing. Can’t wait to see it after its finished. Terry is lookin good. Is his health doing better? I made a baby quilt for a great niece that is expecting and I need to get it in the quilting frames so I can get it quilted. Also have basket classes tonite and Wednesday night and my cleaning lady is coming tomorrow so I will clean today while I’m doing laundry. Thursday is my day that I go to the childrens shelter to volunteer-thats my favorite day of the week. Makes me want to cry when the children run up to me with a big hug saying “I missed you whats for lunch” Have a good week and I love you. sw

    • Hi Sue!

      Thanks so much for loving the things that I write about and for sharing your week with me. It sounds like you have a good busy ahead of you too. I especially love the Children’s shelter story; I think I would be a bawling idiot leaving them every week, as you probably are too. I love that you have to clean before your cleaning lady comes to your house; it makes me laugh every time. 😉 But I know what you mean; if I had a cleaning lady I would have to do the same thing.

      Love you too! Tamara

      • yes sometimes I leave the shelter crying. And sometimes I cry before I get out the door. Just knowing some of their stories about their home life makes me cry. I try to tell myself that maybe I can make a difference just by giving a hug or maybe “I love you”

  3. Hi Tamara,
    I’m glad Susie is back to having fun. I made the tire mandala too but I quit toward the end to make it a table centerpiece. I,am going to give it to Lucy.
    I think the movies are a wonderful way to escape the rigors of the real world for a couple hours. Movies at home do not suffice, it has to be a movie in the theatre – I love to go to the movies. Well, can’t wait for guild day. I hope we all see Susie then.
    Kaye

    • Thanks Kaye for stopping by to comment. I was so glad that I could take Susie to the Market and spend a little bit of time with her. I hope we can do more together. I’m looking forward to guild too.

      Love, Tamara

  4. Meowza!!! I thought Susie’s wheel color was just one humonguous mandela!! It matches her bright smiling face. 🙂
    Wowie! That man’s iron crafting is out-of-this-world. I want the ladybug — and the turtle who is reading. My grandsons would want one of each item. HaHa!!
    I love your nesting bowls’ hat (cover).
    HaHaHa!! That’s funny about your scaring John by being all wrapped up in your new cowl. Hey ~ How’s your “funny things said and done” jar looking?

    Golly, Ava’s eyes make her face GLOW. Or is it those fluorescent letters?? .. Nope, the EYES have it! Beautiful!!
    You took a really cute pic of you & your mom.
    Sooo nice .. your mom & sis making a quilt together! So many tiny squares!!

    Well, sweet lady, it was wonderful to read all about your fun-filled weekend. I am simply enjoying “the dog days of Summer” … or purrhaps I should say “the cat days”. Sunday, after all, was my darling Emma’s 3rd birthday already! I posted some pics on Instagram. She had some treats, lots of time out in our — as my sister refers to it — park-like back yard, and yummy kitty food. Plenty of kisses too, of course! {{smooch!!}}

    Love ya out of this world!
    Hugs ~~ Kat (& Emma too)

    • Hi Kat!

      Thanks so much for stopping by to comment. I always get such a kick out of what you have to say about each and every thing. You make me smile! The funny things jar needs another one added to it, I wrote it down on a small piece of paper and I have it in my purse. And yes Miss Ava’s eyes are very pretty; she has both her Momma and Daddy’
      s eyes. She is such a grown up little 4 year old. Just the other day I was roaming through my pictures and ran onto the photos of the crochehted cat that I made for you and the duck toy that I made for Miss Emma. I was wondering when her birthday was. Happy Belated Birthday to Miss Emma.

      Love you too!
      Tamara

      • Ooohhh, Tamara … You just missed Emma’s 3rd birthday. It was on Sunday: 7-7. See? Lucky #7’s, her birth date. 😉 She had a wonderful day. Started out with a few treats, then venison/green-pea canned cat food for brkfst .. lots of kisses .. her turkey for lunch .. lots of kisses .. her chicken for dinner…. LOTS of kisses … and plenty of outdoor time in our beautiful back yard. And plenty of goodnite kisses. HaHa!!
        The orange crocheted kitty is in my living room, so I see it daily. The darling duck toy is in my bedroom. So cute! She rolled around with it a bit recently. 🙂
        xooooo ~~ Kat & Emma

  5. Tamara,

    Are you going to show us how to do that stitch in the Guild? It looks neat! I’ll have to go see Susie’s wheel. I hadn’t thought of something like that outside. We have people come to buy veggies and two years ago it was so hot, we didn’t have many, so I got a veggie quilt wall hanging done. But I’d rather crochet something! thanks for sharing a fun day with Susie. Sounds like she’s getting back into things. Sue

  6. Oh Tamara, I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the wheel that Susie made! I’m sorry I don’t remember if you’ve shown this before??.. But is this done on a bicycle wheel? Whatever the case, it’s gorgeous!!.. Love how very pretty your cowl, and nesting bowls, came out too!.. And the quilt? Beautiful work!.. I have a friend who quilts, and she’s always trying to get me to jump on the bandwagon! There is some kind of summer quilting shop hop going on now through September, where you go to different shops to collect various patterns, that when all sewn and pieced together, should make for a good-sized, but very unique quilt to call your own! Looks like she may have talked me into this one. It DOES look like fun!.. Oh, and hey! Not to forget John and Korey here! The shed’s looking AWESOME boys!!! (0;


Leave a Reply

Categories

