Posted by: tgonzales | June 21, 2013

Lunch with Debbie, Waiting on the Weekend and My New Great Nephew, Mom’s House, Chickens, and a Market Bag

1

Wednesday Debbie and I met for lunch at Tanya’s Soup Kitchen. I love that we have decided to get together more often than just twice a year (for our birthdays); we now get together every 3 months. It’s always nice catching up with what’s going on in her life and I always seem to feel better after our visit. Debbie and I have been friends since we were 10 and I still remember how much she cheered me up when I had been sick for a day. After she arrived home from school she would give me a call and my Mom always said that she somehow always cured me of my illnesses. That’s just the kind of friend she is and that’s only one of the reasons I love her so much. Thanks Debbie for always being there to cheer me up even when you didn’t know you did.

2

I got a message from my sister on Wednesday that our Nephew Zach and Niece Jessica were going to be coming into Wichita with their new baby Syrus AND they were going to stay with Mom. So Jackie set out to organize the meals for all the days they would be here. My Mom used to be able to pull together meals very easily but the older she gets the harder it is for her to accomplish this. And the best way to take care of that is to have all the meals planned and written down.

3

Zach, Jessica, and Syrus were to arrive on Thursday evening. So I made a crockpot full of ham and scalloped potatoes and Mom made a chicken casserole, yellow squash, creamed carrots, corn, green beans, pea salad, and Angel Food cake. Mom and I went ahead and ate when we realized that her company wouldn’t be there for a couple of hours; then she said she hadn’t gathered the eggs from the chickens yet.

4

I decided that I would stay a while so that Mom wouldn’t be so lonely waiting, besides that I hadn’t had a chance to see Jarred’s chickens and rooster yet.

5

It’s so cute how Jarred’s dog Bub sits and guards over my Mom.

6

I loved taking pictures of the Rooster; he was just strutting his stuff and crowing.

7

Watching Mom with the chickens reminded me of her Mother, my Grandma Casteel.

8

Of course when we would visit her home she would have to gather the eggs. When it was time for her to go into the chicken pen and henhouse she always made us stay outside the fence and I don’t ever remember her allowing us to go in. (I think we snuck in there a few times when she wasn’t looking)

9

As I was taking the pictures of Mom inside the pen it reminded me of my younger days watching my Grandma feed the chickens as I watched through the fence. Sweet memories!

10

Mom still hasn’t figured out which Hen lays which egg.  🙂

DSC_0147

I waited until 6:30 pm to see the new baby and then headed home after a very long day of being up at 1:30 am to call 911 for Johns’ diabetic low, working all day, and I just felt beat up, can’t you see it in my eyes?  😉  So I headed for home to rest my body so I could start the same thing all over again on Friday.

11

Oh by the way I did finish something this week. It’s a market bag! I found the pattern on RedHeart’s website. You can find it here. I loved making the bag and I used scraps of the recycled cotton yarn that I had leftover from other projects. Well here it is almost the weekend and I hope I’ll get some really good pictures of that new baby to share with all of you on Monday. Have a great one!


Responses

  1. love the market bag, also love the scarf on the hook next to it. Don’t get beat up, it makes me CROSS. x

    • HAHAHAHA! You make me laugh. Have a great weekend Jill. Love, Tamara

  2. Sorry you had such a rough night the other night. Hope your husband is feeling better. I enjoyed the photos very much. I enjoyed the photos of your mom. She seems like a sweet lady, much like her daughter. *Ü* The food looks yummy as does the market bag. Congrats on your lifelong friendship, too. Those are a treasure!

    • Hi Jeanne!!!

      We are all fine now and that’s just the way it goes. I’ve been taking care of him like this for over 18 years and usually can get his blood sugar to rise without the assistance of 911 but when I took his reading the second time it had gone down. Then it was time to call the experts in; before the ambulance got there he started coming around and the dispatcher said that the paramedics would still come and check him out. By the time they left there was only an hour before my alarm went off and I was just getting relaxed about that time. John went to sleep within 2 minutes, then I wanted to knock him out, Ha! Ha! Just kidding. Thanks so much for stopping by to read and to comment. I’m glad you like the pictures of my Mom; so do I. She’s an amazing 81 year old and I love her soooo much. Have a great weekend with your lovely family.

      Love and Hugs, Tamara

  3. I just figured out from reading Jill’s latest post that you and I both live in Wichita!!! We should meet at Panera for dinner or coffee some evening! My email is k_scraper@hotmail.com. Hope to hear from you when you get a chance, Tamara! 🙂

    • Hi Katherine!

      That’s so cool that you live in Wichita too and yes definitely we will have to get together. I’ll send you a message by email.

      Hugs, Tamara

  4. Sorry I haven’t been available to post any comments lately. I have still been working at the church helping tornado victims. Not sure I will do that much any more-I have to get some stuff done here at home. Love the pictures of your Mom gathering eggs. I have some of the same memories of Grandma Casteel, only she let me go inside the hen house to gather the eggs. Glad John is doing better after his diabetic episode. That diabetis is a terrible disease. Love you both. sw

    • Hi Sue!

      You really don’t have to apologize to me for not commenting. I know that you are very busy with your charity work and that’s only one reason why I love you. Thanks for going down memory lane with me with my Mom gathering eggs, and Grandma Casteel must have really trusted you to allow you to go in with her chickens. Thanks again for taking the time to comment.

      Love you, Tamara

  5. “Look at that rooster strut his stuff!” is exactly what went thru my mind when I saw that prize-winning photo … and then I read your exact words. HaHa!!
    So many great “memory photos” of your mom again. 🙂
    Tamara, I *love* the pic of you .. and did not notice your “tired eyes” until you mentioned that. It really is a great photo.
    John is so very, very blest to have you there to help him thru his diabetic lows. Whether it is literally *you* helping him .. or *you* calling for help for him .. you are always successful. Thank God.
    Great use of your recycled cotton yarn.
    Catch up on your rest this WEEKEND. 🙂
    Love }} ~
    :: Kat ::

    • Hi Kat!

      I thought maybe you would like that rooster. I couldn’t get a good picture when he was flapping his wings as he was strutting. OH well, I’m sure you can imagine it, right?

      Thank you for always being here to comment. I know I’ve told you this before, but I just want to let you know that I appreciate all your comments and the time that you take out of your day to do so makes it even more special.

      Love you, Tamara

      • Love you, {{{{{Tamara}}}}}!!!
        xOoO :: Kat ::

  6. What a pretty rooster. I was a lucky girl who got to spend a lot of time with both sets of grandparents. Your pictures bring back fond memories of gathering eggs with grandmothers. It was fun until one of the hens decided to peck me, but that didn’t stop me from wanting to “help” again next time.

    I Like your market bag -a good way to use leftover yarn. Hope you were able to Keep cool, and had a great weekend.

    • Hi Linda!

      Thanks so much for stopping by to reminisce with me. Yes, I was able to stay out of the heat this weekend and I’m now ready to start my week back at work.

      Hugs, Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

