Posted by: tgonzales | June 14, 2013

My Weekend Continued….a Baby Dove, Crochet Edging, 3 Yellow Crocheted Flowers, and a Memorial Service

1

Ok, now…. Where was I? Oh yeah! When Kaye and I arrived home from Newton I glanced over on top of John’s car and saw a baby dove sitting right there between the windshield and the hood of his car.

2

It looked like he had been practicing flying and dropped right there to rest. I got fairly close and he never moved; he just looked at me. Too bad John didn’t get to see the baby dove in person, but he’s glad that I took pictures to show him.

3

Oh by the way in my last post I forgot to mention that my sister-in-law Ricci gave me a linen towel all pink and turquoisey when I saw her at Picasso’s on Saturday.

3b

And I also forgot to mention that Lucy, Kaye, and me dropped by Twist to check out the Lizbeth yarn.

3c

It just so happened that I fell in love with the pink and turquoise yarn and knew I would have to crochet a little trim on the linen towel.

4

I do love how it turned out.

5

Then of course I had to make a mandala to go with the linen towel, because I could.

6

John and I relaxed in the back yard for a while on Saturday evening; we knew it would be short lived as the weather man reported that Wichita was in for some really hot temps. We are having fun watching our vegetable garden grow and I can hardly wait to pick that first ripe tomato off of the vine, although we only have blooms. 🙂

On Saturday morning my Mom called and asked if I wanted to go with her to a memorial service on Sunday for one of my childhood friends, Vici, who’s Mother (June) had passed away. Of course I told her that I would love to go. Mom mentioned to me that the obituary in the newspaper asked that everyone wear yellow or green in celebration of June’s life. I knew that I didn’t have anything yellow or green to wear and I knew that neither did my Mom or sister. Then I started thinking of a pendant and then I thought of crocheted flowers.

7

Since we all wanted to wear something yellow I needed to make 3, AND, I just happened to purchase a skein of bright yellow yarn from Creation Station that I didn’t know what I was going to do with. So I used the pattern that I used for the flower face scrubber from my last post, then I decided that each one needed a fabric back (I used the round lid in the picture to trace around for the fabric backing) and 2 leaves on each made from a wool felted sweater.

7b

I spent most of Sunday morning making the flowers. I had so much fun making them and loved how they turned out.

8

My plan was to give my flower to my friend Vici so that she could have something to remember the memorial service and a celebration of her Mother’s life. Then after the service Mom decided to give her yellow flower to Vici’s daughter and then,

8b

Jackie gave hers to Vici’s daughter-in-law. I can’t believe that I didn’t get a picture of all of them in their new yellow flower corsages. Vici; maybe you can take a picture of all three of you wearing your yellow flowers and send it to me. 😉

9

It was nice to see some of my dear friends at the service. Oh my gosh, I just got to thinking; all 6 of us went through all 12 grades together.

10

I couldn’t go without taking a picture with my friend Marla who shares my birthday with me and of course Jackie the little sister wanted to be in the picture too. I remember when we were younger and I had my friends over she was always the little tag-along. Sometimes I didn’t want her to tag-along and I would get a little mad, but now I don’t mind at all. I’m so glad that I have a sister who I love so much and couldn’t imagine my life without her. We even laugh and smile so much that our eyes disappear. I hope everyone has had a good week and I’m looking forward to the weekend, how about you?


Responses

  1. Your blog always manages to touch my heart and my creative side! Thanks for sharing, Tamara! ~sMiLeS~

    • Thank you so much Tammy for letting me know that I touched your heart and creativity. It’s good to know. Hugs, Tamara

  2. Love the yellow flowers, and especially the linen towel 🙂 You guys look like a mean bunch of cougars…..!!!!! ❤

    • Hi Jill!

      Thanks so much for loving the flowers and my linen towel. As for the 6 cougars; we are a mean bunch! 🙂 LOL

      Love,
      Tamara

  3. Your Flowers are so cute. Thanks for the idea of using felted wool for the leaves. How nice they were shared with your friends. I am inspired to make something for my “little sister”, Sheryl. (born when I was 16 years old) Wish I could see her more often. Have a great weekend. See you at Guild, Monday.

    • Hi Linda!

      Thanks so much for stopping by to comment and let me know that you like my ideas. You should definitely make your little sis something special. See you in a few days.

      Hugs, Tamara

  4. Awww…. I just love the photos of the baby dove, Tamara.
    I also L-O-V-E the edging you crocheted on the linen towel. B-you-T-full!!
    Did you crochet on both edges – or just the one?
    And it was nice seeing you crocheting outside on your bench .. with your purrty pink basketweave tote.

    I love the idea of the yellow corsages for the memorial. They are lovely!!
    And their getting passed on from each of you … is so loving & meaningful.

    *Golly, I am loving a lot today, aren’t I?* 😀

    How awesome that you got to see a bunch of your grammar-school friends! I love it!! LOL!

    Now .. get ready .. to have …..
    … a super-duper FUNtastic WEEKEND!!!
    Huggies & eye-erasing Smiles ~~
    :: Kat ::

    • Hi Kat!

      I thought you might love the baby dove and the towel edging. Yes I edged both ends but it was hard to photograph both and still be able to show the stitch pattern. Thanks also for loving the yellow corsage idea. Some of my best ideas have been on the fly and at the last minute. We are a lot alike in that we love a lot. 🙂

      Smiles, Hugs, and Love sent your way!
      Tamara

      • Rumbling Purrrrs…………….
        ^,,^ Kat

  5. Love the crochet edging on the vintage towels and I also love the yellow flowers. What an awesome idea to give them to your friends. Were still doing tornado relief at the church and I’m probably going to quit after another week or two. This 63 year old body is getting tired. lol . Love you girl. sw

    • Hi Sue!

      Thanks for loving the things that I do. I’m always amazed at all the things that you do too, plus all the lovely volunteer work.

      Love you too!
      Tamara

  6. Sweet baby dove, sweet & pretty edging on the towel, sweet idea to create, wear and share the flowers. Sweet post!

    • Thank you sweet lady!

      Love and Hugs, Tamara

  7. I love your linen towel! It is absolutely beautiful with the crochet trim! Very nice. 🙂

    • Thanks Cheryl! I appreciate you stopping by to tell me. Hugs, Tamara

  8. Oh Tammy, you brought a tear to my eyes when I read your blog. Thank you so much for your thoughtfulness. The pics came out great. I’ll keep the flower pin or ever as a memento of mom’s memorial. Thanks so much for coming and your mom and Jackie, too.

    • Hi Vici!

      Thanks so much for stopping by to let me know that I touched your heart. I know how important friends and a friendly face are when you lose someone so close to you. I felt the same way when my Brother and Dad passed away. It’s a nice feeling to know that so many people really cared.

      Love, Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

