Posted by: tgonzales | May 13, 2013

May 11-12, 2013 Weekend, a Few More Pom Pom Hats, and Spending Time with Mom and Family

1

My weekend started off with my Daughter surprising me with Mother’s Day cards.

2

First of all she picked out the most perfect card to give to me from Joshua.

3

I thought it was such a very sweet gesture from a big sister and I couldn’t help but share it with all of you.

4

Then I lost it on the beautiful card that she picked out to give to me from her and I couldn’t hold back the tears.

5

It was so sentimental and meant so much to me just knowing that she did notice all the little things that I have done for her over the years. Plus she secretly came by and picked up my ironing and did all of it for me. I can’t tell you how much that meant to me. Oh wait a minute; maybe I just did.  🙂

7

Now on to the crochet front; one of my co-workers asked me to make a pom pom hat for a baby girl. He and his girlfriend just found out that they are going to have a girl and he was so excited. This was his reaction when he first saw the hat.

8

He is going to be a good Daddy!

9

Then I made another pink and brown hat with the largest pom pom maker. Someone asked me how I make the pom poms so even; well I wouldn’t say that they are exactly even, but I have found if you count the times that you wrap the yarn around each time and do the same amount on the other one it works out pretty well.

10

Remember when I said that I was thinking about doing something with two of the pom poms that didn’t turn out so even? Well I thought they might look cute on an earflap hat with the braids and oh my gosh. I think this is my most favorite pom pom hat so far. I can’t hardly wait to make another one.

11

Saturday was filled with the KS My Stitch officers meeting; I made tacos, rice, and pico de gallo. Lucy had never had my tacos before and I’m so glad that she finally got to try them. After the meeting I was off to Twist to hang out until it was time for my Crochet 101 class. I was so excited to see that I had 4 people to teach and one was a man. I loved teaching all of my students and I can hardly wait until I see them again next Saturday. John and I finished off the day by having dinner with Jennifer to celebrate Mother’s Day.

12

Sunday started off by John and me meeting up with Mom for breakfast at the Egg Crate. After breakfast John and I stopped in at Stutzman’s which has a greenhouse set up in the Egg Crate parking lot.

12b

We got tomato plants, bell pepper plants, jalapeno plants, and a few flowers. My plans were to get them planted on Sunday but its funny how sometimes my plans get changed all around.

13

My sister-in-law Cathy called from Mom’s house and said that she and my brother were there to spend the day with her. She wondered if John and I would like to come up to have lunch with them. So I jumped up and cooked some brussel sprouts, turnips, and made a garlic salad. Mom made her wonderful homemade chicken and noodles, creamed asparagus, and cooked carrots.

14

15

16

I had a wonderful time visiting with my Mom, Cathy, Terry, Jarred, and of course Bub.

17

Cathy’s Mom even was able to stop by to visit. I loved spending time with part of my family and hope you all got to enjoy yours as well. Make it a good Monday!


Responses

  1. Love the hats and as usual I love the family pictures. The one of John with all the plants is so funny. He looks like a little boy that just got caught with his hand in the cookie jar. Love the ones of Cathy too. If I could have a second family it would be the Kingrery klan. Love you all. sw

    • Thanks Sue for loving the hats and the family photos. What are you talking about? We are your family! We love you too! Tamara

  2. Sweet cards, great hats and what sounds like a wonderful weekend. Thanks for sharing, Tamara!!

    • Hi Jeanne!

      Thanks so much for stopping by to read my ramblings and for liking what I do.

      Love, Tamara

  3. how funny……i have a Joshua Aaron too!

    • Hi Diane!

      That’s so cool that you have a Joshua Aaron too. 🙂

      Hugs, Tamara

  4. Hi Tamara! So glad to see what a great day you had! The photos all look great of everybody, and I particularly loved that you’ve got some goodies at the greenhouse to start your gardening this year! I can only imagine, from here, how wonderful your home cooking must be as it is, but made with all your own fresh, home grown vegetables too!… The plan is, I’m gonna be trying to make that homemade tomato soup recipe of yours very soon! I’ll let you know when I do!… Glad to hear you had a wonderful Mother’s Day! ((love -n- hugs)) ~tina

    • Hi Tina!

      Thanks so much for stopping by to comment and yes we got a few vegetables, now if we can keep them alive we will most likely be enjoying lots of fresh vegetables. 🙂 You will have to let me know how your tomato soup turns out; I’m sure it will be great.

      From the looks of your pictures you must have had a good Mother’s Day too.

      Love and Hugs, Tamara

  5. Hiya Tamara! ~ Golly, no wonder you had tears reading your card from Jennifer. And the one she got you ‘from Joshua’ truly was “too perfect!”
    Hey ~ you are becoming the pompom queen .. so how about a cheer???
    Yup, the hat with the poms at the end of braids is too cute!
    Such a sweet pic of you & your mom…
    John looks sooo happy with the plants. 😀
    Love the iris!!
    Love YOU!!
    ~ Kat ~

    • Hi Kat!

      Thanks so much for loving my life in pictures and for stopping by to comment. 🙂

      Love you, Tamara

  6. Boys do need their Mums ALWAYS! Super pom pom hats. And finally I gave you a mention last week on my blog celebrating my blog anniversary- crochet Owl hats of course!

    • Hi Cathy!

      Thanks so much for stopping by to comment and for mentioning me on your blog and happy anniversary. I’m going over there to read all about it right now.

      Hugs, Tamara

  7. Those pom pom hats are too divine for words. Glad you had a great mom day xxx

    • Hi Jill!

      Thanks so much for loving my pom pom hats and for stopping by to tell me so. 🙂

      Love, Tamara

  8. Oooooh so thrillled that you join the Made It challenge!!!!! Thank you so much, those Pom Poms are going to thrill many more people xxxxxxx

    • Hi Maryanne!

      I wasn’t for sure which one of my crocheted pieces to enter but I am having so much fun with pom poms right now that I couldn’t resist. Thanks so much for stopping by to comment.

      Hugs, Tamara

  9. […] Another newcomer to the Made It but no stranger to us crochet bloggers is the wonderful Tamara of Crochet with Tamara!!!! Tamara’s blog has got to be one of the most heartwarming one’s I’ve come across – so down-to-earth and generous. It’s truly an honour to be given such a glimpse into one’s everyday life. And can she crochet!!!!! Just check out these Pom Poms… […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

