Posted by: tgonzales | May 8, 2013

Dish Scrubbers, a Pom Pom Hat, and My Tomato Soup Recipe

1

As I stated in my last post I said I was on my 9th dish scrubber, well I’m happy to report that I completed it and made a 10th and 11th one.

2

My favorite is the pink, green, and turquoise one. I think these will work great scrubbing the shower walls, dishes, and you could even use them instead of those netted scrubbers in the shower. The nice thing about them is that they are wash and dryable. And yes Jill G. you can use them to clean your cat’s dish.  😉  Just saying!

3

Over the weekend I picked up this little pamphlet at one of the stores or restaurants we were in. I didn’t really care what it had in it; I only wanted it because I loved the hat on that baby.

4

So, on Tuesday I used one of my favorite base hat patterns from RepeatCrafterMe of just double crochets and then used my large Clover Pom Pom Maker to make the two pom poms. Can I say that I just love it? Never-mind I just did.  🙂 The baby doll is my doll from when I was about 9 or 10. She doesn’t look too bad for being 46, right?

5

My cousin Sue asked if I would share my tomato soup recipe. Sorry Sue I don’t have exact measurements, I just dump things in my soups and they usually come out alright.

So here goes:

1 Large Can of Campbell’s Tomato Soup (fill the can with vegetable or chicken broth swish it around with a spoon to clean out the can)

1 Jar of Spaghetti Sauce (Herb and Garlic) (Garlic and Cheese)

1 Regular size Can of Diced Tomatoes

Chopped Onions

Olive Oil (Tablespoon)

Garlic Cloves (chopped)

Italian Seasoning (dash)

Cumin (dash)

Curry (dash)

Salt and Pepper

Half and Half

Unsweetened Almond Milk or Whole Milk

Sugar (1/2 cup?)

Grated Mozzarella Cheese

Grated Cheddar Cheese

Grated Parmesan Cheese

 Sautee the onions in the olive oil on medium heat until they are translucent, add garlic cloves let cook until you can smell the garlic cooking. Add the diced tomatoes, salt and pepper to taste, add tomato soup, broth, spaghetti sauce (pour milk into jar, put lid back on and shake jar to clean it out) pour the milk from the jar into the pan, add Italian seasoning, cumin, curry, sugar, add milk until the soup is the consistency that you want. Let mixture simmer, stirring occasionally (about 30 minutes). Then you can either use a blender; transferring the tomato soup little bits at a time to blend or you can use an immersion blender (which I prefer). Then add the cheeses and cook on low until the cheese is melted. I hope you like making the tomato soup as much as I do. How’s you guys’ week going? Do you like to cook? And if so what do you like to cook?


Responses

  1. No man, that pompom hat just made my choke on my lunch!!! It is hysterical!!!!!!!
    By the way, in the UK, a scrubber is a prostitute or, to be politically correct, I should say a sex worker. Just saying. In case anyone else is too polite to mention it. hahaha
    That tomato soup sounds divine, but far too much like hard work for me.
    Love x

    • Hi Jill!

      Thanks so much for being such a good friend and pointing out my flub up on the word scrubber. I love you for your honesty my friend. Oh by the way I didn’t mean to choke you on your lunch. I think you should try making some of these pom pom hats for your booth or maybe Anne would like to? They are very easy and they look adorable on those little newborn heads. 🙂 As for the tomato soup it really isn’t that hard and it’s mostly dumping and stirring. If you like tomato soup you should just try it at least one time, since you are experiencing winter there it would warm you through and through. 😉 Just Sayin!

      Love and (((HUGS)))
      Tamara

  2. I love the little pom pom hat-it is just precious. Thanks for the soup recepie. You cook just like me-dump a little of this and a little of that, and heat it on the stove and you have something wonderful. Thanks agsin Tammy. Love you. sw

    • Hi Sue!

      I’m glad you love the pom pom hat and I hope you love making the tomato soup too. Thanks so much for stopping by to comment.

      Love you too!
      Tamara

  3. Not surprised at all that you’ve added to your stash of dish scrubbers. And your baby doll looks good. That hat is cute, so is that baby on the cover. Thanks for sharing your recipe. Lots of love in that soup, in addition to the ingredients, I’m sure.

    • Hi Jeanne!

      Thanks so much for liking the hat and the dish scrubbers and for stopping by to tell me so. The soup is still good and I plan on having it for lunch today and tomorrow. 🙂 Yummy!

      Love and Hugs, Tamara

  4. Love the baby hat!!.. And you know, sometimes the crochet dishcloths can be too big and bulky for washing some dishes, so I’d really like to try making 2 or three dish scrubbers sometime soon… But even sooner, I’d really LOVE to try out your recipe!!! I LOVE tomato soup.. But two questions. 1) around how much of each cheese…. 1/2 cup? Whole Cup? Whole two-cup bag? Just to taste?…. I was NOT a natural born cook, and my mother never really taught us the ropes. She would just rather we get out of the kitchen, and let her be. But once in a while she would let us help her bake. So, NOW I don’t know whether to attribute THAT to my love for baking today, or because of the gargantuan-sized sweet tooth I’ve got; but maybe it’s a little of both! Today I like to cook, and love to try out new recipes, but one of my FAVORITE pastimes is, for sure, to BAKE! I’m loving the Spring season right now, but I’m almost sorry to see Summer on its way, because then my apartment gets terribly hot; no air conditioning. And then it will be too hot to bake. That’s where I begin to like the crock pot.. FOR EVERYTHING! I HAVE actually “baked” breads, cakes, or brownies of different sorts in the crock pot; and while I prefer the traditional method, from the oven, they really came out not too bad!… Gosh, I haven’t blogged in a good WHILE now. It’s been very busy ’round here.. Many birthdays, a baptism, and now Mother’s day is almost here. The next week is my mother’s birthday… Then the typical routine of home-schooling, housecleaning.. It’s not easy keep up, but I’m doing the best I know how! (0; Have a great day, Tamara!.. I’ll let you know when I’ve tried the soup!! ((hugs))

    • Hi Tina,

      Thanks so much for stopping by to tell me how much you love to bake. We should get together and you could bake to your hearts content and I could cook. 🙂 As for the answer to your question about how much cheese; I use about a 1/2 cup of each or you can use as much as you want.

      Happy Baking!
      Love and Hugs, Tamara

  5. OH FOR HEAVEN’S SAKE!!!! I forgot what my second question was! (0: LOL!!!… Oh well. ((hugs again!))

    • (((HUGS))) back at you! 🙂 Just let me know if you remember what your question was.

  6. Hi Tamara! ~ I really cannot get over how much crocheting you get done, even with a full-time job and everything else you do. I am such a slow crocheter and I can make *one* Bobble Stitch Sponge per day without having a job! You truly are Speedy Gonzales!!! 🙂

    Hey ~ What’s your baby doll’s name? She *has to* have a name, right? She sure looks cute in her adorable hat with the big pom-poms.

    Regarding your Tomato Bisque, I will probably never make it just becuz I do not cook. However, I saved your recipe and I have a question. Which milk do you use (Almond .. or the Half & Half??) where you say to “add milk until the soup is the consistency that you want”?

    Lovin’ Hugs!!
    Kat

    • Dear Kat!

      You are so funny about how you think I crochet so fast! In regards to my doll; I know I had a name for her when I was young but I don’t remember now. I think I may have changed her name a few times?

      Now about the soup. I use both almond milk and half and half. After you dump all the thick stuff (tomato soup, spaghetti sauce, and diced tomatoes) in you just add the two different kinds of milk in until it becomes as thin as you like to have your soup. If you like your soup a little more thick don’t add as much milk. I hope that makes sense?

      Love you, Tamara

      • Tam ~ Purrhaps your mom would remember at least one of the names of your baby doll? 😉
        Yes, I realized you use both milks – but you first have to pour milk into the spag. sauce jar (etc.) and later you say to add milk to get it to the right consistency. So I wasn’t sure when you use almond milk in the process, and when you use half-&-half. Doesn’t matter?
        Weekend is getting close…..
        HUG! ~ Kat

      • Hi Kat!

        The process of adding the different kinds of milk doesn’t make any difference at all. 🙂 Woohoo the weekend is almost here.

        Love and Hugs, Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

