Posted by: tgonzales | April 19, 2013

Thank Goodness it’s Friday! A Little Something for a Friend and another Pair of Crocodile Stitch Baby Booties

1

I am so glad that it’s Friday and looking forward to the weekend as usual. The second session of my April Crochet 101 class is tomorrow and I can hardly wait to see how my students have done throughout the week with practicing their crochet. I haven’t had much time to crochet myself but I did have time to start a little gift for a friend who loves these colors. I was inspired by the Simply Crochet magazine Issue #3 and made some washcloths. Then I got a little idea from my friend Jill at Nice Piece of Work to make my friend a pair of Oma Slippers. I have enjoyed seeing Jill’s version of the Oma Slippers and decided it was time to purchase the pattern and make a pair or two also. Thanks so much Jill for the inspiration.

2

Last Sunday I started another pair of Crocodile Stitch Baby Booties and will hopefully have time to finish those up this weekend. As I’m writing this post the temperature here in Wichita is supposed to dip down into the 20’s tonight. As I was covering the onions with a sheet I noticed that the potato plants are starting to poke their stems through the ground, so I covered them as well. The temperature is supposed to climb into the 60’s by today. As the old saying goes here in Kansas: if you don’t like the weather just stick around because it will change. How’s the weather in your part of the world?


Responses

  1. Thanks for the shout-out, Sis. I look forward to seeing your finished Omas in that lovely shade of blue. I don’t think I have the patience to do anything in crocodile stitch, although i really love it.
    Weather in Cape Town right now = blue skies, sun shining, slightly chill breeze, temperature nice and cool. The trees are turning copper. This is my FAVOURITE time of year.

  2. Looks like you have been busy stitching up some wonderful gifties, Tamara! The recipients will love the care and thoughtfulness you infuse in your projects. Have fun at your meeting. Stay warm and have a wonderful weekend!

    • Thanks Jeanne for stopping by to comment. It should be warming up today and it should be nice for the weekend. Love and Hugs, Tamara

  3. You inspire me. May need to try making some slippers myself.
    The booties will be cuties. Love to see the non-conventional “baby”
    colors your using. I Love the look of the yarn your using for washcloths. What is it, where can we get it?

    We have a 24 year old grandson, from Oregon, visiting and I plan
    to spend the next 2 days “neatening” and cleaning -then cooking
    for a family dinner on Sunday.

    Love this changing weather we’re having, and looking forward to more sunshine this weekend.

    Take care. See you soon.

    • Hi Linda!

      Thanks so much for sharing your activities with me and for liking what I make. The yarn that I’m making my washcloths from is from Cascade and it’s a pima cotton. The tan and cream colors are Red Heart Recycled cotton. I hope you had a wonderful visit with your family.

      Hugs, Tamara

  4. Happy Almost-Weekend, Tamara!

    Looking forward to seeing your completed Oma Slippers. Did you use hemp or twine for the sole? I’m thinking (tho we rarely have visitors) it would be nice to have a few of these in different sizes for visitors to wear instead of their shoes (or maybe dirty socks or feet) to keep our carpet clean and their feet comfy-cozy.

    This past week, we had a low of 30º, two nites of 28º!! Clouds came in last nite so the low was a whopping 44º. 😉 Today we are having a constant rain which is sure greening up the lawns. Can’t believe these super-chilly nite-time lows here and at your place!

    Love to you ~
    and prayers for those in Boston!!!

    HUG! ~ :: Kat ::

    • Hi Kat!

      Thanks so much for stopping by to comment. In answer to your question about what yarn I used for the Oma slippers. I used Hobby Lobby’s I Love this Yarn and for the uppers I used Vanna’s Choice yarn. I think you should make some slippers for your guests to slip on. Have fun making them. 🙂

      I hope the rain has let up and I hope the sun shone for you this weekend. Very sad about the Boston bombers.

      Love you, Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

