Posted by: tgonzales | March 20, 2013

A Few Words and More Pictures

1

I hope you all could read the words through my pictures in the last post? 🙂 First of all I want to explain the photos with John chopping away at the Mulberry tree trunk.

2

When out shopping with my Mom on Sunday I found some seed potatoes and some onion sets and knew that John and I had wanted to start a garden this year.

3

So I picked out 5 potatoes and a bag of onion sets and I found out from Mom that St. Patrick’s Day is a good day to plant both of these. So when John got home from work I told him that I wanted to plant so he got on his work clothes and headed outdoors. Later I looked out and saw him swinging the axe and knew what he was doing.

4

Now let’s back up several years (probably 5 or more) I asked John to please pull up the Mulberry trees that were starting to grow in the flower beds. I knew from prior experience at my Mom’s house if you don’t pull the trees up when they are very young they grow very fast and have very big roots.

5

I finally stopped asking after a few years and so thus lead to him trying to destroy the roots of more than one Mulberry tree on Sunday so that he could plant potatoes and onions for me. And you all would be very proud of me; I never once mentioned to him that if he would have pulled these trees all those years ago that he wouldn’t have to be doing this now. 😉

6

I just couldn’t believe how well he could still swing an axe even at the tender young age of 68 and I couldn’t help but notice again that he would do anything for me. I will make sure I keep you up to date on how well the plants and vegetables grow. That spider that he found was pretty scary and I later found out that it was a black widow spider.

7

Monday was our monthly KS My Stitch guild meeting and I asked a few people to smile for the camera and here’s what I got.

8

9

Kaye and Susie I think you went a little overboard with your smiles and I couldn’t help but share them with everyone here. Thanks Sharon, Susan, Susie, Mary, and Kaye for making me smile with your adorable smiles.

10

11

I always have a lovely time with my crochet friends.

12

I found these little chicks in my cabinet the other day and wanted to share them with all of you. These little chicks are made out of felt and have wooden spools for the bases. They were made with love by my sister and my son when she took care of him so many years ago. I love them so much and they make me think about how much I miss Joshua and how I can’t wait to see him again in May.

13

Also I have to share these cute little ceramic pieces that my friend Susie gave me. (I hope she’s still my friend after showing the very smiley pictures earlier) She said that she couldn’t help herself and thought of me when she saw them. I’m not sure where their home will be so I tried them in my bathroom first. They may live there for a while and then move on to the kitchen, I’m not sure yet. You may be thinking where is the crochet? Well, that’s what I’m thinking too. Hopefully I will have more to show you on what I’ve been up to on Friday. Have a wonderful Wednesday!


Responses

  1. Loved your story about the tree and roots 🙂 I think all of us could probably benefit from following advice straight away, rather than having a bigger mess to deal with further down the road! And well done for not saying ‘I told you so’ – I don’t think I could’ve held my tongue!!

    • Laura,

      You know I could learn from my own words on just that sort of thing also. To tell you the truth I was having a very, very hard time holding my tongue on this one. An hour job turned in to a 3 hour job. But he just keeps on working just to please me. No wonder I love him so much. 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by to comment.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. Having said that, it was very sweet of him to go to so much effort to please you 🙂

  3. Does John ever read your posts? 🙂

    • Jill,

      I don’t know why this made me laugh so much, but it did. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

      For the record; no, John doesn’t read my posts unless I sit him down in front of my computer and make him read them. 🙂 🙂 🙂 Thanks so much for making me laugh so early in the morning.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  4. Good for you in not saying I told you so! I’m proud of you. Looking forward to hearing about the lovely garden in the coming months. Sweet ladies at your meeting…guess some girls don’t outgrow the cheesy grin. LOL

    • Hi Jeanne!

      Yes, I’ve learned from past experience that you get more things done with kind words rather than mean. My crochet ladies are so adorable and fun to be around. I know you would just love them too. Thanks so much for stopping by to comment.

      Hugs, Tamara

  5. Love love love your blog. It always makes me feel like I’m living right next door to you. Gardening is hard work and I know you appreciate all the hard work John did to get that mulberry tree out for you. Jerald does a lot in the garden every year but he also does much of the canning. And we do alot of it together. I love how you enjoy your friends at the guild meeting. It’s good girl time and we all deserve that girl time. I’m actually very envious of that girl time. The little chickens that Joshua and Jackie made are precious. I want to finish my rug today so I can start on my next project (a basket). Have a good day. Love you much. sw

    • Hi Sue!

      I can tell that Jerald does a lot around your house from just the time that we’ve spent with you. He was always right in the kitchen helping you and I loved eating his canned food and seeing his greenhouse of seedlings growing. It sounds like you have a very nice group of ladies that you hang out with too. By the way I love your rug and can’t wait to see the finished project.

      Love you Too,
      Tamara

  6. Oh that John… He’s a good man, he is!!.. Love the little felt chicks on spools!! So CUTE, I may have to try to make a couple myself, if I can find some spools to work with. I’ll take a look around, and if not, I’ll improvise somehow…. Have a great day Tamara! ((hugs)) ~tina

    • Hi Tina!

      Yes you definitely should make some of these cute little chicks and I know you will come up with something for the base of the chicks if you can’t find wooden spools. You are so resourceful and have a wonderful eye for all things upcycled. Thanks so much for stopping by to comment. Love and Hugs, Tamara

  7. Hi Tamara ~ Wow .. what a post! 🙂
    I take it John does not read your blog? [If he does, he will see “he ought to have chopped out those roots years ago – LOL!] Just think: If you would have wanted potatoes & onions planted yrs ago, he would have gotten right to axing those roots just as quickly as he did now. He’s a trooper, right? Hey ~ I like his flexible knee guards.

    Such a sweet memory for you, bringing out those cute felt chicks.

    Even tho you did not show any of your recent crochet items, there is plenty of yarn and beautiful crochet in your pics at KS meeting … plus behind your cute new ceramics from Smilin’ Susie. 😀

    A wonderful Wednesday to you too!
    Hugs from Kat

    • Hi Kat!

      In answer to your question; John does not read my posts unless I sit him down in front of the computer and make him read them. He has looked over my shoulder many times while I’ve written the blog and notices that I have included pictures of him; he just rolls his eyes and says no one wants to hear about what I’m doing. 😉 Thanks so much for reminding me about the nice crocheted pieces in some of my pictures. I’m glad that I still managed to squeeze some of those in along with the pictures. 🙂

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

