Posted by: tgonzales | March 15, 2013

More Drury Inn Photos, Spring Time in Wichita, my Baby Dahlia Afghan Found, Jackie Clark’s Sewing 101 Class, and our 21st Wedding Anniversary

1

I wanted to share a few more photos from our stay at the Drury Inn. Here we are after breakfast.

2

Here’s Debbie who was kind enough to stop and visit with us as we finished up our breakfast. She was the hostess with the mostest. 🙂

3

I can’t remember this man’s name but he was very kind also. He was the chef who greeted us for dinner the night before and was back in the morning to serve us breakfast. The three times that we saw this man he was always smiling and seemed to love everything about his job. I want to tell all of you how nice the people were at the hotel, from the check-in, to the free dinner and breakfast, the kind faces and smiles, and especially the night desk person who was quick to respond to my urgent call at 2:00 am as I asked him to bring me a regular Pepsi because my husband was experiencing a diabetic low.  He brought the Pepsi very quickly to the room and he didn’t charge us for it, and he called me a few minutes later to make sure everything was ok. We definitely will go again when we can.

4

This was the view from our room. I pass by this building every day on my way to work and have always loved looking at it. It used to be the Holiday Inn hotel and now someone has turned the rooms into apartments. Oh how I would love to go into one of the apartments. (maybe our next anniversary John can arrange that?) 🙂

4b

This view was out the window beside of the elevators. I see this building on my way to work too and from the first time I saw this building I loved it too. It would be nice to have a tour of it also. John said that he thinks it used to house Farmers Insurance.

5

This is the rooftop hot tub that we chose not to go in Saturday night. We did think about it for just a split second and then remembered that when we got out we would probably freeze to death. So we chose to wait until the indoor hot tub became available.

6

I thought maybe you might want to see a picture of my new camera. 😉 You may notice a little note underneath it; John said another funny thing so I had to write it down before I forgot. It’s in the jar with all the rest of the funny things we’ve said already this year.

7

Well spring has sprung in Wichita and my hyacinths are starting to bloom and I saw a few Robins in the yard. So I have a feeling that spring is on its way.

8

I was so happy to have found the baby Dahlia Afghan that I started on, back in August 2012. I can’t wait to show you some of the progress in my next post.

9

Tuesday evening I stopped by my sister Jackie’s Sewing 101 class to take a few photos while she was working with her students. I just loved this photo of her and her great-niece Kayla. I loved Kayla’s enthusiasm in wanting to learn how to sew. It reminded me of myself when I first learned to sew on a machine.

10

Jackie’s students are going to make notebook covers for their first projects, and here are a few examples Jackie brought along to share with her students. I bet you’ll never guess who made that little crocheted kitty? 😉

11

Yesterday was our real 21st wedding anniversary and since both of us worked, me during the day and him at night we decided to have lunch together.

12

I chose Picasso’s Pizza in the Delano district and oh my gosh it was amazing as usual. If you live in Wichita and you haven’t tried Picasso’s Pizza you really should. You won’t be disappointed.

13

Well, I made it through another week and here I am facing another weekend full of fun. Going to a birthday party for a dear friend who has been a good friend of John’s for many years. I can’t wait to see him and his family. Then I will be meeting up with my friend Linda at Twist before my Washcloth class that actually starts at 3:30 instead of 1:30 as I stated in my last post.

14

I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend and if you want to you can stop by and tell me what your plans are, because I would love to hear all about them.


Responses

  1. Glad you’re getting spring at last! We’re about to hit autumn and I can’t wait, but when it’s really wet and cold I know I’ll dream of spring again.
    You are always so enthusiastic about everything, I wish I had a tenth of your energy.
    Love, Jill x

    • Good Morning Jill!

      It’s nice to hear that you will have some relief from the heat. I know how hard that is. Our springs don’t last very long and I try to appreciate every moment of them. Oh by the way my secret to my enthusiasm is lots of naps. 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by to comment, you always make me smile! Now I’m off to get ready for work and crochet a tiny bit before heading out the door. Have a great weekend.

      Love and Hugs,
      Tamara

  2. Isn’t it interesting that all that snow you got recently is gone already and your flowers are blooming? I’ll bet the earth just soaked in all that moisture and is breathing a collective AHhhhhh. Thanks for sharing, Tamara. I appreciate your enthusiasm for all the aspects of your life, including what some may perceive as simple things. They all stitch together to become a wonderful life! Enjoy your weekend. Glad your hubby is okay, too!

    • Oh Jeanne, you are so right about the ground soaking all that snow in and yes I even heard the plants and trees sigh; along with the birds singing a little louder as the snow melted into water. The temperature is supposed to be in the 80’s today and oh how I wished I could be out in it. I’m thankful I have a job and I’m thankful that I get off at a decent time; most of the time. 🙂 Thanks so much for liking what I write about and continue to follow along with this life that I lead. My wish for you is a great weekend too; filled with lots of memories of spending time with your children and maybe even fitting in a little you time. Love and Hugs, Tamara

  3. Hi Tamara ~ LOVING your photos! 🙂
    Wow – free dinner, free breakfast, & a speedy guy delivering Pepsi for John at 2 a.m. Yup, definitely a great place for a return stay-over. So glad John was helped out of his too-low BG once again!!

    Your new camera is a bit larger than your older one, right? Better buy a larger purse to keep it in. 😉 [What funny thing was said about ‘hips’? 😉 ]

    Mmmm…. I can almost smell those glorious hyacinths. We’ve had robins showing up for awhile now .. but no hyacinths yet.
    Hey ~ where did you find your dahlia baby afghan hiding???
    How great for those young people (or anyone!) to be taught sewing by Jackie. .. LOVE your little turquoise kitty!!!!! (and its collar & tag – LOL)
    Love those real dahlias!!
    And love YOU!!
    Hugs ~ Kat

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes I was very impressed with the hotel and I was so glad that the young man was very quick on his feet. 🙂 The funny/sad thing was that we had brought some glucose liquid with us but John didn’t remember where he put it. We found it later when we were packing up to leave.

      Yes my new camera is quite a bit larger and it has another lens to go with it so yes I need to make a different bag to carry it in or I may have to settle for the black and bright yellow one that came with the camera. The silly thing that John said.
      Me: My hips don’t work anymore.
      John: Your hips did what to the floor? It’s funny in a way and in another it’s sad because I know he’s losing his hearing and he won’t do anything about it. 😦

      I found my dahlia baby afghan in a wardrobe closet that I keep in my craft room. It was just sitting there, like it was waiting for me to find it. 🙂

      I knew you would love that little turquoise kitty.

      Love you,
      Tamara

      • Oh Tamara, I had thought John surely would have had ‘something’ to help his glucose if needed. I guess that is something you will be keeping track of in the future, eh?
        As for the hips thing — yah, funny yet sad at the same time. You could remind him how he wears his Bluetooth all the time, so a hearing aid would not be much of an addition (except in cost). heh-heh!

        Sounds like you had stored that dahlia baby afghan in the purr-fect spot. All you had to do was seek it. LOL!

        Grrreat weekend to ya!
        Love ‘n Hugs ~ Kat

  4. It’s true…you always have such an upbeat and positive attitude. We could all learn from you. Those notebook covers are so cute! Have a great weekend!

    • Hi Cathy!

      Thanks so much for stopping by to read my ramblings and for commenting too. It makes my day knowing that you read my words and look at my photos. 🙂 I hope you have a wonderful weekend as well.

      Hugs,
      Tamara

  5. I’m curious about the jar that you put all of your little funny notes in. How big is it? I’m thinking you need a bigger jar because John is so funny. lol Nice to see the flowers blooming again and to finally to get enough rain to soak in that dry parched soil that we’ve had. Your flowers are beautiful. Nice to see Jackie’s little niece learning to sew. I can’t remember not sewing. We surely need to teach more young people to do more things like sewing, quilting, canning, and cooking. Have a good weekend girl. Love you. sw

    • Hi Sue,

      The jar that I put all of the funny things we say is in one of those gallon pickle jars. I hope I don’t need a bigger one, but just in case I have another one that I can use too. I’m with you about sewing; it seems like we’ve always known. Of course we were always around it too. Thanks so much for stopping by Sue and I love you too. Tamara


Leave a Reply

Categories

